We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Arena Lighthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Wharf Master's Inn(Point Arena)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Lodge(The Sea Ranch)
$314
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
$186
$169
The Heritage House
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Little River Inn(Little River)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Ukiah)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
96
27
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
27
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight housefull kitchenworth the climbbring your own shampoobedroom housesea birdsday hikingcalifornia coastpounding surfdvd playerwhale watchinggreat photosgreat hikinggas fireplacecoastal viewsfavorite placesfirst order fresnel lens
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 130 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We visited here on our way down the pacific coast in October. It was a nice stopping point because there aren't a lot of places to stop or stay in this area. We took some beautiful pictures and saw seals. The views are spectacular. But we got the best pics on our drive to the lighthouse. We also ate at a small cafe on the road to the lighthouse which was really good.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank SanibelBeachBum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Executive Director at Point Arena Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

You got one of our classic Fall days out here, with blue skies and big surf! Glad you like the Rollerville Cafe, our neighbor at the start of Lighthouse Road. Hope you can stay with us in one of our six guest houses the next time you come through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

If your looking to stay at a light house with great accommodations look no further. Mark and his team have just renovated one of the 4 cottages at point arena. #4 is complete and we stayed in it and it was wonderful. Everything you though of was there! We were also celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and they included a great bottle of wine and a very nice card. The decor is to die for. GORGEOUS!! they did a great job with the remodeling. Great sunsets, great hiking, great accommodations. I highly recommend it!! We will stay here again!

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ironman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Executive Director at Point Arena Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Thanks for the great review, Jim and Joy, and so glad you chose to spend your 40th anniversary in our showplace Assistant Keeper's House 4! It was wonderful getting to know you and share in your enthusiasm for the house, the Lighthouse, our grounds and the rest of the rugged and beautiful Mendocino Coast. Can't wait to have you and your family visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

The light house is in a very scenic location. It is $7.50 EA to climb to the top of the light house which gives a very spectacular view. The museum area is also very interesting. There is also a gift shop. Plan to spend about an hour there. There are rooms next to the lighthouse you can stay at if you are interested.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank JoeyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Executive Director at Point Arena Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Thanks for visiting, and I agree that guests should plan to spend at least an hour during your visit. The Museum has multiple exhibits that talk to the history and technology of the Light Station over its 146 year existence here on the point. The Whale Watch Room has displays of the history of the Point Arena area, local Pomo tribe artifacts, abalone shell exhibit, several marine mammal skulls, teeth and vertebrae, and an interactive touchscreen program that features the species and sounds of the ocean outside the Museum. Our 23 acres of grounds offer beautiful hiking and great vistas of Manchester State Beach, p'da hau river (aka Garcia River), the Point Arena - Stornetta unit of the California Coastal National Monument and, of course, the Lighthouse Tower. Hope to see you again the next time you visit the scenic and wild Mendocino coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at PA Lighthouse in the Head Keepers Quarters. Such an amazing experience. We arrived after hours, but everything was left exactly as instructed for a smooth check in. Our Queen one bedroom room was large and spacious..with beautiful views of the cliffs and ocean...though we couldn't see the lighthouse from our rooms, we just had to step out the door, look to the right and it was right there, a short distance away. The lighthouse sits on a peninsula, away from the stresses of traffic and noise..surrounded by protected lands which you can stroll on. There is a gazebo (the only remaining proof that some scenes from "Forever Young" was filmed here). It looked like it was painted recently, so we couldn't get into it..we did however sit on a nearby bench, all bundled up in blankets, and watched the sun set behind the lighthouse..the sound of the ocean is all around..just a fantastic memory..There is a large kitchen/dining area with magnificent views of the ocean, a woodburning fireplace, with wood provided, and a split of red Husch Wine and chocolates..the next day we did the museum tour and climbed to the top of the lighthouse for some fantastic views and photo ops..I would strongly suggest a stay at the lighthouse, if timing permits..you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: if you want a room where you can see the lighthouse choose the "keepers room" ..it's a small room, but nice for a couple
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Executive Director at Point Arena Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Thanks for the great review! You definitely got great weather for your stay, September and October are Indian Summer with sunny days and cool, crisp nights that make the stars and Milky Way shine even brighter. The gazebo has nearing its restoration while you were here and it is now back to being available for guests to sit in and use. Next time you visit, bring another couple and try our newly remodeled Assistant Keeper's House 4 - it is a showcase with an interior that complements the rugged beauty of the grounds outside its doors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

We spent some time in the gift shop and museum. I love to look at the old photos and they had plenty. The docents were friendly and informative. We aren't in great shape and were able to make it to the top without much effort. Would be a great place for whale watching.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Executive Director at Point Arena Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

So glad you enjoyed your visit, and climbed the 145 steps to the top of the tallest lighthouse on the West Coast! You are so right about whale watching, particularly from October through May when the gray whales are migrating between Alaska and Baja.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews