We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific View, Enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrific View, Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just got back from Labor Day weekend at Point Arena Lighthouse. We really enjoyed the stay, the view, and the location. Our accomodations were spacious, beds were comfortable, woodstove worked great, cheery fire and plenty of firewood. Water pressure was great and everything was clean, only thing I would improve was that the Master bath needed new tile in bath surround.

We got some staples at the Point Arena General Store, including Thanksgiving Coffee along with helpful, happy service. Aftter checking in we had dinner around 8PM at the Rollerville Cafe. Everything was fresh & delicious, service was attentive and friendly. The next morning we had breakfast at The Record. Good smoothies for the kids and caffiene hit for the grownups.

  • Liked — Great Location, Views
  • Disliked — Bathrooms nneded updating/maintenance, should be re-tiled, but were clean and functional.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nkmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I were traveling along the coast for our honeymoon. We stayed at the Pt Cabrillo Lighthouse and truly enjoyed ourselves. We were so looking forward to our stay at Pt Arena, a little further south on the coast off of Hwy 1.
As a day trip, the Pt Arena is probably great. Although, currently the lighthouse is closed for renovations. They need to renovate the four "cottages" as well. OUr "assistant lightkeeper's cottage" was a foul-smelling, sparcely decorated, room that was adjacent to the book keepers office. The queen bed had a "cheap" feel with a thin and faded bedspread to match. A used travel pillow would have been an upgrade for a pillow. No way my head was hitting that pillow. But the smell was the worst offender. Smelled like urine or barf or both.
I asked for my money back and the bookkeeper quickly complied. That is the best thing I can say about the accomodations. That said, go there for a day trip only. The view is incredible but then there are so many incredible views along the coast. Don't have to go to Point Arena for incredulous ocean views.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetpeaRoseville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a housekeeping place which is very clean, very very well equipped, comfortable, homey...and basic. We loved it. Woodburning stove was much appreciated in the early morning at the tip of Point Arena which is the closest point to Hawaii in the contiguous USA! This is NOT the place for those loving luxury and hair dryers and a restaurant on-site. But you can't beat the harbor sea lions and the sound of the surf on three sides! Cell phone service is "iffy" but internet wireless is present. No phones in units. We stayed three nights but would come back for at least a week. We would bring our own books but the unit comes equipped with books, magazines, games, puzzles and good dish tv.

  • Liked — The isolation while still providing wireless and dish tv
  • Disliked — A queen bed in a small room...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My husband and I selected this lighthouse to have our marriage ceremony and we can't imagine a more perfect place! It has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. The people there were absolutely so wonderful and accomodating. As one other person said previously, the views you have from your cottage are breathtaking and second to none. We stayed at the head keepers cottage (no#1). It does get cold and windy so bring warm clothes. There are wonderful restaurants in driving distance. We visited St. Orres and were very impressed with both the food and the service.
I can highly recommend it to anyone wanted to really get away for a weekend!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We just came back from an anniversary trip and loved it. We stayed in House #1. This is a two bedroom one bath home, not a motel unit, and was sparkling clean. Satellite TV, DVD/VCR, a wood burning stove with plenty of firewood, flannel sheets, cute quilts, and lots of "lighthouse" touches. The bathroom had great shower pressure and was spotless. It looks like the interior had been painted fairly recently. If you like privacy, peace, quiet, and the ocean, this provides it. I went outside several times at night to see the surf glow blue and hear the ocean. There are nice beaches nearby, and gasoline and some groceries are available in Pt. Arena, just a few minutes away. No daily "maid" service so if you are there for a few days, bring some extra towels. We had a Great Time. It can be quite cold and windy. You can also see the Lighthouse, day and night, from the second bedroom.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank matildaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This is one of my favorite places in the world. It is breath taking. The views are amazing. It is a wonderful place to go to get away with your family and have quiet time together. We love it here.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Valdez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

You have magnificent ocean views from both the front and back of your cottage. The views literally take my breath away and give me a glimpse of what heaven must look like. There were seals playing in the cove by the gazeebo, racoons playing by the front gate, and we actually saw a lynx in a field on the lighthouse road! The cabins need work. They are well worn and not maintained as well as they could be. But hey, you're only paying about $200 per night for a house on the ocean! Kitchen is well equipped, but bring your own linens and towels. There is a small museum and gift shop worth checking out. Also, please consider that the lighthouse is funded mostly by donations.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank calif4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
17.4 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing