We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here after seeing this site in the movie "Forever Young." It is on a point that extends several miles into the ocean and is surrounded by sandstone cliffs where the waves crash into small coves. You can walk to the cliff edges in about 30 seconds from the rooms and watch birds and other wildlife. We saw lots of harbor seals in the coves when we were there. The room rate includes a complimentary tour of the lighthouse museum and lighthouse. During our tour of the lighthouse we saw some gray whales migrating south. The peace of the place is hard to describe. If it is clear, you can see thousands of stars. You can hear the surf crashing into the cliffs and birds calling. Sunsets are magnificent. I recommend the Keeper's Room. It faces the lighthouse and if you pull the blind up, you can sit in your room and watch the light rotate at night about 100 yards from your door. We absolutely hope to come back here again sometime.

Room Tip: The Keeper's Room is small, but feels cozy, not cramped. It is the only room that faces directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very comfortable cabins near the coast. We loved just lounging about in our very modern cabin. The weather was crisp, so the gas fireplace was a real treat.

We watched wildlife come to the door to check for food - there wasn't any, but the animals were just making the rounds.

We went on several excursions to several of the small towns in the area and ate several meals at the small café at the resort. We both like to eat out and except for the café right there on the property it was a bit of a drive to go out for meals.

We'd like to return sometime in the spring or summer to see how the area is then.

Room Tip: Each cabin is separate, so I don't think one is better than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kneal97347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. We stayed in the apartment and we were delighted by the bright, clean, and modern accommodations. The lighthouse was awesome. The grounds were gorgeous. Wifi good. You can view the ocean from all windows. Beautiful. Fun!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChulaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful little place to stay! I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere more peaceful than here! And was so neat to sleep all night with the windows open and be able to listen to the waves crashing against the cliffs. We stayed in the Head Keeper's Quarters #1-was way larger than what the two of us needed but no complaints here-we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would do it again! If you are looking for something very peaceful and relaxing & have a large family-look no further! Great room choice :)

Room Tip: Not many "rooms" for rent here so really and truly I would assume all units are quite peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyodak05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have spent the last 14 New Years at the Point Arena Lighthouse with our son, daughter in law and two granddaughters. The girls were 8 and 5 the first year and now the oldest is a college grad and in the Peace Corps and the younger a junior in college. We love the lighthouse and the area and it is one of the highlights or our year. In 2012 we went to the crab feed at the Garcia grange - great fun. We love Franny and the bakery in Point Arena, wonderful sweets. The wood stove keeps the house cozy and it's a place to kick back and relax. 2013 will be our 15th year and think we'll keep putting it on our calendars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was wonderful. We stayed in the Lighthouse Keeper's apartment. It was a very large 1 BR with a fully equipped kitchen. It was well maintained, nicely furnished, and extremely quiet. My wife mentioned the mattress was soft, but it didn't bother me. Be sure to bring your groceries so you don't have to leave the property. Shopping nearly is limited. There was no 4G, but good wi-fi. A fantastic place, especially if you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle. Just step outside your door and it's you, the ocean, the stars, and the lighthouse. And since there are only a handful of units, it's never "crowded". Iwish we had stayed for more than 1 night. Note: town of Point Arena seemed a bit quirky ... seemed like grown up hippies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kk572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night in the Keepers Room. The place is so peaceful you hear only the noise of the sea. In the night all the stars can be seen and in the day the view of the coast is beautiful. Regarding the room it has everything you need!!! We loved this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiyanouD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
316 reviews
20 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
688 reviews
22.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range: $185 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing