We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Viewsfrom Point Arena”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Haven, Fl
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Spectacular Viewsfrom Point Arena”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I recently drove up Highway #1 to see the spectacular views of the California shoreline and to see the Point Arena Lighthouse. The location of the lighthouse was absolutely breathtaking. The surrounding area is majestic with the Lighthouse in the background. The lighthouse and gift shop were very impressive. We chose not to actually take the tour to the top of the lighthouse because we came for the scenery and to learn a little about the lighthouse and surrounding area. The staff at the museum and gift shop were very friendly and informative. We would highly recommend coming to this lighthouse for the magnificent views. We love the California shoreline.

Room Tip: Take the drive up the Pacific Coast Highway for superb views and to see the lighthouse. It is truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We drove down the coast after our weekend getaway in Mendocino this January. We stopped at the Point Arena Lighthouse to check it out. We ended up walking around the pasture just before you get to the lighthouse. It was freezing cold with the January wind, and we started to turn around and walk back to the car when we spied a white spout in the water near the rocks. It was a grey whale!! Then, as if by magic we saw a few different pods if you will of whales making their way down the coast. This was a terrific area to go whale watching. It's further out from Hwy 1 making it a great viewing area.

Tip: bring binoculars!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadG1RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I wanted to surprise my wife with a special 'getaway weekend'. I had heard about this lighthouse and the ability to rent rooms on a cable travel channel and after reading many online reviews thought it sounded like something we would enjoy as a couple.

I booked the 'Keeper's Room' directly through the lighthouse website which was really fast and easy. I chose the Keeper's Room for two reasons. The first is that its the only room you can rent there for just one night. The other available rentals are actual houses and they require a minimum 2 night stay. The second reason was financial. The Keepers room is obviously the smallest so it's also the most affordable. At $129 for one night it was perfect. The other house rentals were around $250 and required a 2 night stay.

Check in is a bit confusing. Just go to the end of the road and check in with the cashier at the museum. It was quite simple and fast but no where on their website or in the information sent via email to confirm your reservation did it say this. So we spun our wheels a bit trying to figure out where to go to get the key.

The room was small but no different from a 1 room hotel rental. It had a queen size bed with a Tempurpedic mattress (yes you read that right) that was very comfortable, private full bathroom, gas fireplace, microwave, mini fridge, DVD player, cable TV, and free wireless wifi that worked flawlesslyi!! The houses that are rented are the houses that the lighthouse staff and their families lived in when the lighthouse was functioning so they are well over 80 years old but to their credit, they don't feel or look that old. The house rentals have full kitchens and wood burning fireplaces. Cell phone reception was horrible if not non-existent.

As paying guests, you have full access to the museum and the lighthouse during business hours at no additional cost. The lighthouse climb is about 90 steps, equivalent of 5 flights of stairs. It wasn't a hard climb at all but it did make us short of breath. The staircase is NARROW but there are landings about every 20 steps for you to rest at or allow the people going the opposite way to pass you. The view from the top was amazing!! We were lucky enough to have clear blue skies and were not disappointed. There was a very nice museum docent (employee) staged at the top of the lighthouse who was there to answer all of the questions of the history of the lighthouse and surrounding area. He had no problem taking a picture of my wife and I while we were up there. The museum located 20 yards form the lighthouse is small but VERY informative and included the history of the roughly 130 year existence of the lighthouse and how it operated back in the day. The original fresnel lense has been moved out of the top of the lighthouse and into the museum. I have never seen a lighthouse lense up close before so this was really cool to be able to see. It is extremely large and actually quite pretty. It was handmade and the craftsmanship is impressive.

Finally, the rental houses are located on quite a large bit of acreage which is closed to the public after business hours but remains open and available to explore around the clock for house guests. A short 100 yard walk takes you to the edge of the cliffs where you can sit on any number of benches and watch the waves crash and the birds fly around. We also saw about 10 harbor seals down below just swimming around.

You wanna hear my one complaint? The keeper's room only had one single window and it DID NOT HAVE A SCREEN ON IT.... Are you kidding me? We wanted to open the window at night and listen to the waves, but bugs kept flying in. VERY DISAPPOINTING! How difficult or costly can it be to install a screen on the only window in the place? The next morning we walked around the other rental houses and 90% of their windows were also missing screens. I think I counted only 3 or 4 windows on all of the houses combined that had a screen on it. Whatever, it wasn't a deal breaker but seems so easy to fix so that people could enjoy the fresh air and the sounds of the ocean.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay at an affordable rate and we couldn't have been happier. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing time away or a romantic getaway then you got to give this a try. I know we will be back! And I'm bringing my screen building kit with me.... LOL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ShawnKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My 2 sons took me to the Lighthouse for my 60th birthday. This was a 2nd visit for 2 of us. We all enjoyed the remote feeling you get, especially at night. Having a fire at night, playing cards, listening to good music and cooking together was a delightful cozy way to spend my birthday. We drove up the coast to Mendocino and also enjoyed a sunny lunch at the Point Arena Cove Pier. Great place to relax with comfortable, clean accommodations. We all want a thermapedic mattress now.

Room Tip: We stayed in house 4. Nice views and loved the fireplace in the master. It is controlled by a thermo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed AT the lighthouse, not IN the lighthouse, but it was a GREAT experience! Get the feeling of weather, ocean, topography, ocean, wind, fog, rain, whatever, as it must have felt to live as a lighthouse keeper, but with the comforts of modern day conveniences. We stayed in the Keepers Cottage, which was very comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. We kept the window open at night to hear the ocean and winds surrounding us on all three sides. We walked around at night, and saw thousands of stars, a "private" sunset, along with the few other people staying at the lighthouse, and loved the free lighthouse tour that accompanied our stay. The price was reasonable, yet it was beautiful, picturesque, and unique! Bring warm clothes in the summer, since it is often warmer in October and November!

Room Tip: Reserve your room early! Best time of year to come is October and November according to locals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Keepers Cottage was comfortable, but what really makes this a special place to stay is the location - surrounded on 3 sides by the wild sea with mists rolling and a spectacular sunset. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadstthoufled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
428 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the Keeper's Cabin and loved it. It was basically a full sized house with two bedrooms and a wood burning stove in the living room. Overall the cabin was a little dated but clean and the beds were all Posturpedic foam beds and very comfortable. What makes staying here really cool is that once the lighthouse and museum close (4:30 when we went), only the people staying in the few cabins are allowed on the grounds, so it gives it a very quiet and sequestered feel.

The views were amazing and the grounds had a large area to explore and several benches to soak it all in from. Lots of wildlife to see - seagulls, pelicans, raccoons and seals. Just a mile down the road is an area you can go hiking along the cliffs for more amazing views with basically no one around.

At night it gets cold and windy, but the room came with all the firewood we needed, which was nice as everywhere else it was extra.

So while it was a little pricey to stay here (paid the same rate as a hotel on Fishermans Wharf in San Francisco), it was well worth it for the views, for the quiet and for the unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
3.3 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
20.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing