We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Salida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This is one of my favorite places in the world. It is breath taking. The views are amazing. It is a wonderful place to go to get away with your family and have quiet time together. We love it here.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Valdez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

You have magnificent ocean views from both the front and back of your cottage. The views literally take my breath away and give me a glimpse of what heaven must look like. There were seals playing in the cove by the gazeebo, racoons playing by the front gate, and we actually saw a lynx in a field on the lighthouse road! The cabins need work. They are well worn and not maintained as well as they could be. But hey, you're only paying about $200 per night for a house on the ocean! Kitchen is well equipped, but bring your own linens and towels. There is a small museum and gift shop worth checking out. Also, please consider that the lighthouse is funded mostly by donations.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank calif4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
300 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

My husband and I checked into our Point Arena "Asst. Lighthouse Keeper's Room" 5/20/07 only to discover the bed UNMADE and used bath towels in the bathroom! We checked with a lady who lives on the premises and she discovered that housekeeping had not been notified when the guest in that room had checked out 5/17/07!!!! We chose that room because it was the least expensive at $125 per night. We were given a free upgrade to a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, living room, huge kitchen/dining area suite. A bit of an overkill for just the two of us, but it was nice of them. The houses were built in the 1960's and are in dire need of some updating. The "en suite" bathroom........well, I would not shower the next morning because the tiled area around the shower was horrible; sloppy patch work. Yuk. There is no heating; just a 'stove' in the living room with lots of wood for building a fire. However, you are responsible for cleaning the ashes out the next a.m.! Also, you are responsible for vacuuming; no problem, but I am on vacation! We left the unit clean and don't think we will return. The positive: When the weather is pretty, you have second to none views there! The waves constantly crashing against the rocks, the seals on the rocks below, the fresh air!!!! Great guided tours about the lighthouse and its history.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Serious need of updating
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed in the Assistant Lighthouse Keeper's suite with my aunt and we absolutely loved our stay. Although this is not a 5-star facility (for which it makes no such claim), you'll *love* your stay here.

Three bedrooms, two full bathrooms (with amazing water pressure), a living room with very efficient wood-burning stove, a kitchen & dining room. The wood is provided for the stove. This would be an ideal place to stay for a couple of very private nights.

Located on a remote finger of land extending into the Pacific Ocean, waves crash around these rustic cabins incessantly. Needless to say, natural beauty abounds in these parts. The lighthouse is well worth the climb, offering an interesting perspective on the point below.

Be sure to say hello to Rocky the Raccoon who will surely greet you upon arrival.

Also, be sure to drive into Point Arena and eat at Franny's Cup & Saucer Bakery - it is the best bakery on Earth. I know that's a bold statement - prove me wrong!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank ceeuawlsune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We stayed in the Assistant Lighthouse Keepers Home. It had 3 bedrooms; 2 full bathrooms; a living room; and a kitchen. There was a wood burning heater in the living room and a gas fireplace in the master bedroom. The beds were very comfortable. As for the condition of the house I would say "o.k." at best. Everything was in decent shape but rather dated.

The best feature about this place is the location. It is on a lonely point right next door to a lighthouse on private property. No other hotels or homes anywhere close by. After the sun set it was rather erie being on the point all alone on a stormy evening with the lighthouse beam shining out into the darkness. We definately felt isolated!

During the daylight hours the sights were fantastic. We were not able to go up in the lighthouse (I believe it was open from 10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.) but saw whales off the point and watched several seals on the rocks just a short walk out the back door of the house.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ThreePuttPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

My wife and I had an absolutely amazing and enjoyable stay at the Point Arena Lighthouse. The views from the rooms were most stunning: ocean to the north, to the south, AND to the west! Crashing waves all around us! We learned that this remote point that sticks far out into the wild, blue Pacific is the closest land-point to Hawaii (Aloha!).

Our 3 bedroom 2 bath house-accomodation was simple, but very comfortable and clean sleeping most comfortably to the sound of the wind and sea. Although the walls of our home had a few scuff marks, we noticed that the older rooms are being refurbished with new carpeting and paint. What delighted us the most was that the lighthouse manager, Silvia Simpson, was most gracious and was kind enough to take us on a personal tour of the historic tower (115 feet high!)-best vantage-point to view the coast!

This is definitely the place to stop if you are travelling up or down Hwy 1!

Helpful?
19 Thank Scott-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
292 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
17.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
233 reviews
13.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing