We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Arena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Arena Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Carson City, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been staying at Point Arena for several years. The houses are modern 3 bedroom homes. You are surrounded on 3 sides by the ocean and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. It feels like coming home when we are there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orgnizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Sea Ranch, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Six of us recently stayed in one of the three-bedroom keeper houses (unit #4, furthest from the lighthouse). The place was large with a master bedroom with attached bath and wood stove, and two other bedroom and another full bath in the hallway. Plenty of seating and a large, and fully equipped kitchen, made it easy to make meals and dine in. The kitchen had all supplies we needed, including coffee and sugar. Just bring your food and you are set. All bedding and towels were provided. The homes are older and some of the furnishing and carpet areas show wear, but the incredible location by the lighthouse on a isolated point is amazing. The beds were so comfortable and were a memory foam mattress. I slept like a log! Also adjancent to the Stornetta public lands for hiking and roaming. We saw seals, lots of birds, and frogs during our stay. Your visit includes the musueum and accessing the lighthouse during their regularly scheduled tours. This is a great location for a family getaway and making some great family memories. Depending where you are coming from, Highway 1 can be a bit of a drive to navigate, but take it slow and you will be fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CailTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the lighthouse in October. The lighthouse is at the end of the point with the keepers houses not far down the road. Our unit was the farthest from the lighthouse and sleeps six. That unit has a queen bed in two bedrooms, two twin beds in the third, and a very comfy couch in the living room that my son used for his bed. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a nice big dining table with room for everyone. All you need for the kitchen is your food!

The stay includes a tour of the lighthouse during tour hours. After hours, you can wander down the road and near the cliff sides (bring sturdy shoes and flashlights) and watch the waves and listen to the ocean. The waves are carving the earth in interesting formations. It is eerie in the fog and moonlight. You can warm up by the fireplace.

The town and the restaurants are miles away, so don't wait to long if you want to go out to eat. There isn't much selection in the evening. There is no beachfront at the lighthouse, but you can see a state beach just to the north, a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanita_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Quiet location; remote; not much to do except site seeing cliffs, ocean, and windy roads; property very clean and individual units have all the comforts of home. Outstanding property!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAU-Conroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester,sc
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were apprehensive about "Lighthouse traffic"visiting the point on Fri,Sat,Sun as the road to gift shop/lighthouse tours goes right in front of all units.Not to worry-winter hours are from10-3:30 every day. Sunrises & Sunsets all to registered guests since gate is closed on off hours. Only 6 families rentals available.We stayed in Head Keeper's Quarters#1. A two bedroom,one bath setup with full kitchen and 6 chair dining table with awesome unobstructed views to crashing waves behind unit-these are by far the best view direction. Our unit had the only view of lighthouse from inside a unit @2 twin bedroom.Kitchen utensils,dishes,coffee,salt&pepper,microwave,coffemaker,large refrigerator,vented stove were all in top order. Wood stove was a romantic requirement as the two electric could not "keep up" without the supplement of roaring wood stove. Point Arena provided the best mix of kindling,small logs,split/dried wood,newspapers I have ever seen in a rental unit.The sheltered wood supply lasted us three days of virtual non-stop burning. We almost by-passed this property due to two night minimum on week-ends. With per night @$200 plus $50.cleaninf plus 11% tax=$$494. However a special was in effect through March 31.(later extended through April 15.)Buy 2 nights,get one free. So 3 nights for $494.= @$165. per night.The property is tranquil,quiet,remote,no cell phone service,no internet service(received e-mail from Point Arena @two weeks before our reservations re:a snafu with internet provider. It was in local papers.That being said-The good. Now for some concerns. Our unit had been "cut up" to make three separate accomodations. From the lighthouse view window in twin bedroom you could hear guests as well from the 1 bathroom,could hear guests from hall leading to back door.Could hear 2nd set of guests from dinina and g table. Could see this 2nd set of guests leaving their back door right in front of our dining picture window which did NOT have any curtains or rods. We attached a blanket in front of every night.The check-in office also bordered our unit on two sides. The walls were thin.Heat capacity was marginal. Initial smell and appearance was of "old state parks" from the 60's and 70's.The sofa and sitting chair were covered by inadequate slipcovers. The advertised "dish" tv was not working upon arrival.We arrived@5pm. Not a human being from property on site at all. Once again 10am-3:30 PM.I was able to get "dish"to work after some reconnecting of wires. Remote was held together via large rubber band. Hot water in kitchen sink takes a very long time to get warm/hot as does the bathroom sink. The bath/shower does ok.. This is a unique place. The units deserve some updating and better upkeep.Uniqueness and location can only carry a po

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmettosojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We started staying at the lighthouse when looking for a retreat for three couples. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to get such a great place for only $75 each couple each night. The homes are spacious and comfortable, the views are outstanding and the privacy is unparalleled. The adjoining BLM land provides miles and miles of hiking and exploring opportunities, as well as tide pooling and seal watching at the lighthouse. We come back every year, sometimes twice a year because it is a great place to visit. In the summer we ride our motorcycles, and in the winter we bring the dog in the car. A few years ago, our friend got married at the gazebo, and the whole wedding party rented all the keeper's homes. Such a memorable and fun time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

At Point Arena Lighthouse you have the opportunity to stay in one of the circa 1960 (built by the Coastguard) lightkeeper houses. This is a perfect way to relive history and let your imagination run away with you! Three of the homes have three bedrooms and two baths, a full kitchen, dining area and living room with wood burning stove. One of the homes is two bedrooms with one bath, and there is an assistant lightkeepers apartment with one bedroom and bath. These are not luxury accomidations, but they are clean, well stocked and well kept. All linens and kitchen needs are supplied, but there is no daily maid service. All of that being out of the way, these homes are on the point of Point Arena, with ocean views all around. There is magnificent whale watching and seals on the rocks surrounding the point. When you stay at the lighthouse, you can climb the 143 steps to the top as many times as you want, no charge. There is plenty of space to fly kites, ride bikes and just sit back, relax and watch the sunset. Beaches are a close drive away, the town of Point Arena is quaint and Mendicino is about an hours drive away. The grocery store in Manchester is about a 10 minute drive away and open till 7. The entire time I am there all I can imagine is what life was like living and working as a lightkeeper. A true piece of history that you can enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelsbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
24.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
17.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
13.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
17.4 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Arena Lighthouse

Property: Point Arena Lighthouse
Address: 45500 Lighthouse Road, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Arena Lighthouse accommodations feature four Keeper's homes, one Keeper's apartment & one Keeper's room for your vacation pleasure. Whether you stay one night or one week, your experience here in our vacation rentals and incredible location will leave you feeling rejuvenated and inspired. Fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves against the cliffs, or be serenaded by the howling wind as it rushes across the Point. Perhaps you will hear the faint barking of sea lions or the call of a black cormorant or two, your closest neighbors at this remote location. We offer the luxurious Assistant Keeper's House 4 as our showplace cottage. It is a a fully renovated and re-imagined 3 bedroom, 2 bath home with gourmet chef’s kitchen, beautifully furnished living and dining rooms, custom tile baths, designer furniture and linens in all bedrooms, unique art and decorative features and more! Like all of our Assistant Keeper's Houses it includes a a wood burning fireplace (we provide the wood and kindling), full kitchen, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and the most incredible views along the California coast, as the Point is surrounded by water on three sides. Our other two Assistant Keeper's homes offer more rustic accommodations, but still offer full 3 bedroom, 2 bath houses with fully stocked kitchens, comfortably furnished living and dining rooms, unique art and decorative features, satellite television, CD/DVD player, gas fireplace in the master bedroom and more! These units are also pet friendly, and share the same incredible views that all of our cottages offer. The Head Keeper's House is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath full home with a fully stocked kitchen, dining room, sleeper sofa in the nicely appointed living room and of course the wood burning stove with all the wood and kindling provided, satellite television, CD/DVD player, books, games and more. The Keeper's Apartment is great for a couple looking to have a romantic cottage on the ocean that allows them all the comforts and amenities of home. This cottage has a queen bedroom, living room, dining room and fully stocked kitchen, and bathroom with shower. It is beautifully furnished and offers a gas fireplace in the living room to keep you warm and cozy on those cool coastal nights. Our most intimate and romantic option is the Keeper's Room. This small but fully featured room boasts a queen bed, sitting area with table and chairs, gas fireplace, microwave and mini-fridge and a full bathroom. This is our only cottage that does not offer a kitchen, but you can find many fine restaurants in the area. All of our rentals include unlimited Lighthouse Museum & Tower tours and full access to our 23 acres of grounds for all guests during their stay. You will also find a welcome gift of a bottle of Husch Vineyards wine and chocolates from Mendocino Chocolate Company waiting for you in the dining room of your Assistant Keeper’s home. Finally, you will sleep deeply and awake refreshed because of the sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep on our super comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Renting an historic Keeper's Home is a great way to have fun and support the ongoing preservation of the Point Arena Light Station at the same time. We offer seasonal specials. Reservations are required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Arena Lighthouse Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing