We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay in Partial Ocean View Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I purchased a Travel Zoo deal for the Wharf Master's Inn in Point Arena recently, and scheduled our weekend visit. I booked room A117 - which was a partial ocean view room for two weekend nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the new inn staff. As we checked in, they provided some local information.

We went to our room and discovered a nice and clean room, with a jacuzzi tub, and a balcony with a great view of the ocean. After taking our luggage to the room, we enjoyed some wine, cheese, salami, and crackers. We decided not to drive this eve, so walked down to the local pizza place, just down the hill. After dinner, we climbed into the jacuzzi tub and relaxed for a while. We faded off to sleep.

After the first night, we visited the Point Arena Lighthouse and spent the day sight seeing. That evening, we ate some dinner and enjoyed our evening with a cigar and some great libations. Walking on the pier and around the area was quite relaxing.

We must say, If you are looking to relax on the coast, with great views for a weekend, then stay at the Wharf Master's Inn. The room, staff, and location are very nice and relaxing. We hope your stay is as nice as our's was.

Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for The Wharf Master's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Wharf Master. From the check-in to the nicely presented "continental breakfast" both Dee-Dee and Greg were most accomodating. They go above and beyond what is expected and that sure was appreciated. View was beautiful; room was large with a wonderful balcony. All and all we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beck530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great Travelzoo deal 2 nites in upgrade King room with very nice view of ocean from our private balcony. Double glass doors with view of ocean from our king bed. Room was very large with vaulted ceiling. Jetted tub with separate shower. Seemed newley painted and carpet. Two comfy chairs and a writing desk. Electric fireplace not as nice as wood or gas but nice. Continental breakfast o.k. nothing great cereal,sweet rolls,toast,english muffins, juice and coffee. Pretty basic.

Room Tip: Top floor room 115 corner room very nice. Note 3rd floor outside stairs no elevators.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We got a Groupon for here and it was not disappointing. The scenery was amazing. We were upgraded to a partial view of the ocean that was definitely a bonus. The tubs were great, outdated fixtures, but clean and working. The bed was very soft with a down topper, I did not mind, my husband would have preferred it firmer. The rooms are very large and spacious. The area is nice and quaint, we enjoyed getting coffee at Cove Coffee and watching the surfers. I would be interested in going back even without a Groupon.

Room Tip: Cypress 117 had a partial view of the ocean for I believe less money.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a treat to discover this inn down at the Point Arena cove!

We stayed just one night and did not have reservations, but because it was the off-season and a week-day the staff upgraded us to a room with a view at no additional cost. We enjoyed a gas fireplace, a comfortable bed and a beautiful view for a little over a hundred dollars. In the morning I brewed a cup of coffee and watched the ocean. It felt very luxurious. I'd recommend this place to anyone. Also, part of the building is the original wharf master's house, which makes it a cool historical landmark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place was a joke ,the hot tub they advertise does not work,the mattress was so uncomfortable we were booked for four nights & only stayed two thats how bad the bed was.No stopper for the sink so they made one out of a bottle lid. Not the cleanest place ,so all in all we were very disappointed as we drove there from a distance away.Also the food at the resturants was just OK & no beach to walk on, it is all rocky. You would think they would have offered a refund but very sad to say they did not !!!!

Room Tip: Just don't book a room here it is not a good place to go.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cydni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found this property on Travelzoo with deal for a two night stay for $149 for my wife and myself. The hotel itself is likely a 3 star based on its facilities and decor, but the room was very large and clean with a very nice two-person jacuzzi and was overall more than adequate. My wife thought the bed was a bit soft, but I thought it was very comfortable. It could use some updating in the next year or two. What bumped my rating up to 4 stars, however, was the view from our balcony and/or balcony window, which was spectacular. It overlooked a cove and from the comfort of our bed we would see an amazing sunset over the ocean, as well as surfers in the cove, and, if one looked carefully, whales spouting in the distance. It appeared that every room in the property likely had similar views. About 50 yards away, was a pier which jutted out into the cove. While on both of our days at the property we could easily see whales spouting in the distance, on our first day there was actually a juvenile humpback whale which swam right up to the pier and played with the buoy adjacent to the pier. The magnificent creature was just immediately below one's feet, now more than 15 feet away. You couldn't pay to see this anywhere else. Though I realize that this may not be something that occurs everyday, the potential is there! Regardless, even without the local whale watching, the view from the pier was magnificent. One cannot find lodging this close to the water for this price. The continental breakfast was basic but adequate. Nothing fancy but a generous supply of your basic continental breakfast foods, which were constantly being re-supplied. The hotel staff were friendly enough, and pleasantly gave suggestions for other things to do in the vicinity. There was a restaurant, I believe called the "Chowder House," nearly adjacent to the hotel and the pier. The food was much better than I had expected for the location. The fish and chips were excellent with some of the freshest cod that I have ever had, and with good sweet potato fries. The clam chowder was decent but not exceptional. Overall, we had a great time with the location of the property being the main draw. For the price, one could not beat the deal.

Room Tip: The top floor, south side rooms will likely be the quietest rooms with the best views. Try to get a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsmjwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
774 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
243 reviews
10.3 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
9.9 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range: $128 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi, electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing