We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Master's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden away surprise”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My work travels recently took me to Point Arena. A Cal Fire Station told me of this hotel down the road. Pleasant surprise, Took the wife on two different trips and between the two, spent 5 days with this fine establishment.

New Inn keepers Pat and Brenda are probably the best personal hosts I have encountered in my 25+ years on the road in my own business. The lobby stocks wines and dvd's. Rooms have jacuzzi tubes to take the road knots out, fireplaces to relax, nice modern flat screen TV's. A good mid-week get away (if you can) will find you a room. Books full on the weekends.

There is not much going on in town. Has an overpriced lighthouse museum, and a casino just outside of town. Just a great get off the web, off the grid, hide a way for a couple of days to read, relax and spend time together.

Room Tip: If available, ask for an ocean view room, gets better WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    110
    40
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
203
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Wharf Master's Inn is located in the small town of Point Arena, but away from the main street and fairly near the water. We could hear the roar of the waves from our hotel room. The rooms are nicely decorated and have a nice atmosphere.

We arrived late which is not a good thing to do here. The office closes at 9 pm, and there is no one available. So it's good to make sure you arrive before they close. Our room did not have a room number on it which made it especially difficult to find (especially in the dark).

Breakfast was nothing special. We noticed some guests who walked in, took a look at the meager breakfast offerings, and then walked out without eating anything.

Each hotel room was probably a little different. Ours had a shower. Some had jacuzzis. So it is challenging to state much about the room that would apply to everyone. But our bed was comfortable.

The place was amazingly quiet when we arrived. It seemed like everyone had gone to bed early. This was in stark contrast to the main street where there was loud partying going on, even late at night.

So if you want a good night's sleep in a place that is different from the hotel chains and a place that is very quiet at night, but near the sea, you may want to check out The Wharf Master's Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorJehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beware when you deal with these people. They say and promise one thing but do another. Better more modern rooms in nearby motels and B&B's. The hotel is undergoing renovations and construction. They fail to mention this. Like tho hear the waves? Forget about it. You will hear hammers. Promised a discount for your trouble? They will say you already agreed online to the rate...

Room Tip: They will promise one rate and then you get the shocker bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoBeinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wharfmastersinn, Manager at The Wharf Master's Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Wharfmasters Inn is a very honest company. It's a shame that someone who has never even been to the Wharfmasters Inn can make dishonest comments about it. The previous Innkeepers relationship with this person in Miami Flordia has caused him to spread lies about the Inn. We are in the process of renovations but construction starts after 10:30 am and ends by 5pm. Our new deck overlooking the ocean is finished and the new breakfast room will be finished soon. Room rates don't change they are still very affordable with lots of specials. We greatly appreciate our customers and challange everyone to come visit and stay at the Wharfmasters Inn in Point Arena California and hear the waves. You won't be disapointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County CA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked online the evening before our stay as we were on our way back from a getaway up the coast. The booking site we used listed the property as 'pet friendly' but when we arrived we were told that 'the site should have told you to call us' and that 'we don't take dogs over 30 lbs' and that 'we're thinking of not taking pets at all anymore.' All this from the desk clerk in a faintly accusing tone, and amplified by an older woman (who I was later told is the owner) who never made eye contact as she kvetched about my beloved dog. I don't remember ever feeling so unwelcomed at check-in anywhere I've stayed! I just kept smiling and repeating that the booking site had simply said pet-friendly, while wondering if our reservation would even be honored. Eventually we were shown to a very attractive though small room and had a pleasant enough stay though there was a faint smell of sewage in the room. The internet connection didn't work and again, the desk clerk was off-hand about it to the point of rudeness. The location above the harbor and pier is spectacular and the little town of Point Arena is a nice stop, but the hotelier could use an attitude adjustment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bordercollie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for just one night on a motorcycle trip down the coast. This was by far the best bed of the trip. I sunk into the feather bed and slept like a baby. The Innkeepers were very friendly, one of them even walked us to our room, unheard of! They were in the process of building a new deck that will offer a fantastic view when finished.
I think this Inn is in need of some exterior updating. New paint would be an improvement. I feel like we visited at the beginning of some updating that has just begun. It looks promising but just isn't there yet.
One immediate improvement could be the breakfast, it was ok, but really had no standout feature, there was nothing that stood out, good or bad.
Overall it was a pleasant quiet stay with friendly Innkeepers.
Oh one more thing I read a review of this Inn before our trip that mentioned the pizza place just below the Inn. The reviewer mentioned how good the pizza was......I don,t know where the reviewer was used to ordering their pizza, but this place was horrible!! We heard way to much personal conversation between the employees while we waited for our pizza, and once it came it was some of the worst pizza we have ever had. We went upstairs to the restaurant above for a drink and some fries. The waitress there was very friendly and the service was great, we really wished we had eaten there. It seemed like they wanted our business complete opposite from the downstairs establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Looking for a place near the ocean? Searching for some peace and quiet along the rugged and romantic north coast of California? Do you yearn for a walk along the beach or a hike in the redwoods? THIS IS IT! The Wharfmaster is a secluded spot with a beautiful view of the ocean. With the fog rolling in, you can enjoy a view from your cozy room overlooking the cove. The rooms were beautiful, with a spa tub, fireplace, and a feather bed. Near the historic lighthouse (the tallest lighthouse on the coast), the Wharfmaster has easy access to some of the nicest restaurants in the area. The staff is very helpful, and the continental breakfast is just right. We saw many bicycle riders staying there as they prepared to ride along historic highway 1. I heartily recommend this place as a lovely and INEXPENSIVE place to stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to in an excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I recently spent one weekday night during our motorcycle ride up the coast. We stayed in one of the reasonably priced suites with a view of the ocean. Very charming room with soothing sounds of the ocean. Satellite TV and Internet but we didn't mind. Owners were new and updating was in progress. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
769 reviews
14.0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
235 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
22.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
617 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Master's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Master's Inn

Property: The Wharf Master's Inn
Address: 785 Port Rd, Point Arena, CA 95468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wharf Master's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff over looking a secluded cove sits the historic Wharf Master's Inn hotel. Stunning ocean views and luxurious accommodations await all who venture to this hidden location on California's magical Mendocino Coast. Most of our rooms feature a two person in room jacuzzi.electric fireplace, one queen size bed, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. What separates our room types is the view they have. We have three different types of views. Courtyard view - Grand Room Partial ocean view - Luxury Room Full ocean view - Executive Room Panoramic ocean view - Deluxe Room Whether you are looking for a private romantic getaway, are traveling with your family, interested in great fishing, golf or hiking along miles of pristine beaches, the Wharf Masters Inn is without question one of Northern California's premiere boutique hotels. We invite you to be our guests at the historic Wharf Masters Inn, a treasure to be shared by all ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wharf Master's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Master`s Hotel Point Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing