We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and View”

The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Point Arena
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Sun Lakes Az
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and View”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A great place to eat and watch the fishing boats come in. Service we excellent and so was the food! It is fun to walk out on the pier/wharf and see the fish that were caught.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    115
    64
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Gr8 View, Clamless Chowder!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was almost noon on a Sunday after touring the Lighthouse (which was fabulous), and given the name, we thought a bowl of hot chowder sounded wonderful as there were no other options that looked decent in town.

The view of the harbor was GR8, but that is about it. Service was very slow with two servers and two tables (10 people total) when we arrived. We were seated and decided to share crabcakes and have one New England & one Manhattan Chowder. Both servers walked by our table several times without even looking at us.

Finally, the girl took our order. Crabcakes arrived soon and were covered in salsa, which was a first for me. They were tasty, but salsa on the side would have been ideal. The chowder was mostly chunks of potatoes and very few clams in either bowl. It was also flavorless and very disappointing. Next time, we'll drive north to Elk which had much better restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant on all accounts”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Reasonably priced and with great service, we enjoyed a return trip to the Chowder House. I had a Ceasar salad with crab cakes, and my husband the Cobb salad. Both were well prepared, tasted fresh and were delivered in a timely fashion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“They were very accommodating and the food was good”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We wanted to have pasta for dinner so we could put our fresh sea urchin on it. Pier Chowder House (790 Port Rd., Point Arena, CA, tel. 707-8822400) was accommodating. They made us linguine with garlic and olive oil and we tossed our sea urchin into it. It was delicious. With that we ordered the grilled salmon ($24) which was good and a Caesar salad ($5) which was also good (but too much food). We had a bottle of Zellerbach Sauvignon Blanc ($13.87) which was pretty good with food and an amazingly low price. We spent $59.33 plus tip and were happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Car Club Adventure”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Twenty of us adults & one child experienced great service both prior to our meal and during. Half of our group arrived early by enjoying the patio area overlooking the pier then the rest of us upon our arrival were immediately asked if beverages were in order prior to our meal. We were all able to catch up after our day of visiting the Pt. Arena lighthouse. Then our meal came and as each one received there selection it was within seconds after the first bit's the comments never stopped about how great the food was. The waitress Lasie was outstanding catering to each one of us as if we were VIP's the great views, excellent service and a very caring staff made this visit the best I just wished we lived closer. The beginning of this reservation to the end was all but caring and handled professionally. The owner Tracy deserves a A+ for making this a wonderful experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWilliams2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 
Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Pier Chowder House & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing