We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly unique and fun”

Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Point Arena Lighthouse stands as an iconic figure on the landscape of the American Pacific Coast. No other lighthouse offers such a fully interactive experience in the exchange between history, science and natural beauty. Sometimes brilliantly sunny, other times fog-shrouded and mysterious, always ruggedly beautiful, the lighthouse is a place to find something different, a place where the romance is real and the experience is profound. Surrounded by water on three sides, and shouldered adjacent to the Point Arena/Stornetta Public Lands, the Point Arena Lighthouse is the premiere visitor destination in Mendocino County. It is also one of the best whale watching spots on the North Coast, with the annual Gray Whale migration from late November through May, Humpbacks throughout the year, the occasional pod of transient Killer Whales and even Blue Whales. Watch for the spouts, tails and breaches from the top of the Tower and from the trails and gazebo. With nightly lodging and tours of the lighthouse offered daily, what will you discover on your next visit?
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly unique and fun”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband wanted to stop at every lighthouse along the PCH. This one was very special. Great gift shop, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    94
    19
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“unexpectedly good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband wanted to go here and I was thinking "ah, its just a lighthouse" but the tour and the guide up to the top of the lighthouse was very interesting. The views from up top were magnificient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrangel6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome views and History”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I took a guided tour of the Point Arena Lighthouse this month. It was a fun 90 steps up to the top of the lighthouse. Once there, the docent shared some interesting historical facts regarding the lighthouse, it's workers, and the area. We really enjoyed the tour and the crystal clear views of the coastline and seas.

After the tour of the lighthouse, we toured the museum and gift shop. We happen to be very interested in lighthouses, so we really enjoyed the experience. We took numerous pictures from and of the lighthouse.

If you will be in the area, we highly recommend visiting and taking the lighthouse tour. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“do go and see the original beautiful glass lens”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

fantastic attraction, visiting the lighthouse itself, yes there are a lot of steps but worth it for the views. highlight for me was the wonderful display of the beautiful glass lens which was taken down from the top a few years ago. it is polished to perfection every quarter and the prisms and the angles of light really are gorgeous. if you are on the coast road touring do stop here for 30 mins - 1 hour. very interesting talk in the museum and also loads to see and read about the original lighthouse keepers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this lighthouse!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We so enjoyed our visit to this lighthouse! We have been to many lighthouses on our travels and this will be one of our favorites. I am always so happy to be able to climb to the top of a lighthouse, and so many will not allow visitors to do so. It was beautiful and the giftshop had some nice items. I also enjoyed the people who worked here, they were all so friendly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing