We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An out of the way bit of heven”
Review of Taste

Taste
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mineral
Description: Taste is dedicated to providing our guests with the highest quality service, food, beverage and ambiance. We strive to be innovative, leaders in our field and to make a difference in our community. Taste was the first restaurant in the Sacramento region to be invited to cook at the prestigious James Beard House in over twenty-five years. Taste is rated by ZAGAT as one of the Top Restaurants in America. The food is reflective of the seasons and utilizing local producers. The service is fun and knowledgeable. Dinner: Thursday - Tuesday Lunch: Friday, Saturday and Sunday. thirteen dollar thursday at the wine bar - every thursday enjoy an appetizer and beverage pairing for just thirteen dollars. monday supper - every monday a three-course prix fixe menu is served for thirty dollars, in addition to regular menu. Two-course meal for twenty-two dollars every tuesday in addition to the regular menu. corkage free the second thursday of the month. wine bar offers bar menu and dinner menu. menus for vegan, vegetarian and gluten intolerant diets always available.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An out of the way bit of heven”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Intimate and charming, this is a family friendly foodie restaurant. well worth the journey through the bucolic countryside

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csimmamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    65
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eads, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Best meal of my life!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have visited Taste twice in my life and would eat there daily for the rest of my life!! The mushroom cigars should never be missed. We ordered 2 orders and I could have had 3 more orders! Mike our server was fantastic as he was the last time we were there (and he remembered us- with facts!). Mike recommended some of the best glasses of wine to compliment the divine lamb!! I would drive 2 hours for this meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BookerT365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Who knew that such a wonderful restaurant would be tucked away in a 2 block town called Plymouth? Taste lives up to it's name, as there is nothing on the menu that we didn't love. The mushroom cigars as an appetizer is an absolute must. One of the things that we all loved was how you could take a side from one menu item and match it to whatever you were ordering. Simply a genius idea and everyone in our group of 8 did the mix and match. So, when wine tasting in the Shennandoah Valley, this stop for dinner is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldCountry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Taste is a great restaurant but the drive there is a bit challenging. For us it is a half an hour away down a very windy, 2 lane highway - and the road is populated with some who have been wine tasting all day.

That being said, it always seems worth the effort and nerves to get there because the food is so delicious and the atmosphere so congenial. Our server this visit was Michael. As others have said, he is knowledgeable and very engaging.

This visit our group of 4 enjoyed the mushroom cigars (of course), the beet salad, the gnocchi, lamb chops, scallops and the cod special. And a couple of different desserts. Everything was excellent.

We never look forward to the drive there (especially in the dark hours of winter), but once we get there we are happy we came!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Many Years!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On a trip to celebrate our 40th anniversary, we had heard of this fantastic restaurant in Plymouth. We tried thier fixed prix dinner which is held every Monday. Suggest reservations because the place was full with very smart and happy patrons. This dinner took us back to Napa in the 70s and 80s before it became an crowed tourrist destination with overpriced restaurants. Wonderfully presented, interesting taste combinations and attentive service for a reasonable price. It is well earned #1 Zagat rated restaurant in the Sacramento area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cflauricella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

Amador City, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing