We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service but small portions”
Review of Taste

Taste
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mineral
Description: Taste is dedicated to providing our guests with the highest quality service, food, beverage and ambiance. We strive to be innovative, leaders in our field and to make a difference in our community. Taste was the first restaurant in the Sacramento region to be invited to cook at the prestigious James Beard House in over twenty-five years. Taste is rated by ZAGAT as one of the Top Restaurants in America. The food is reflective of the seasons and utilizing local producers. The service is fun and knowledgeable. Dinner: Thursday - Tuesday Lunch: Friday, Saturday and Sunday. thirteen dollar thursday at the wine bar - every thursday enjoy an appetizer and beverage pairing for just thirteen dollars. monday supper - every monday a three-course prix fixe menu is served for thirty dollars, in addition to regular menu. Two-course meal for twenty-two dollars every tuesday in addition to the regular menu. corkage free the second thursday of the month. wine bar offers bar menu and dinner menu. menus for vegan, vegetarian and gluten intolerant diets always available.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we arrived the bar was crowded and very noisy. It was hard to have a conversation at our table during dinner. The louder the people at bar got, the louder the people at the surrounding tables talked. We had the filet and sturgeon, both were excellent. But the portion of the filet $39 and fish $32 was fine but there were hardly anything else on plate. I think I counted 4 fava beans and one cut up fingerling potato on my plate. The entree and small plate prices are high for the portions size you get. The prix fixe dinner was $29 for pork loin, salad and dessert of churros and tiny scoop of ice cream on the night we visited. We chose to order off menu instead. None of the desserts looked very interesting. The service was very good once we were seated. We must of stood at door for 5 minutes before anyone even noticed us when we walked in. There is no host/hostess station to check in. So we stood there and waited for someone to come up to us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jswinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you so very much for your candid comments. It is our intention ot have a staff member to grett and accommodate all of our guests when they arrive. I apologize we did not achieve that goal for you. Knowing that we missed the mark can only make us more aware and work harder to ensure complete satisfaction. Thank you for your comments. They are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 348 of 496 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

While in the wine country of the Shenendoan Valley around Sutter Creek, have a great meal at Taste. Great menu to go with great wines of the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We frequent the Union Pub in Volcano; therefore, decided to try out their sister restaurant, “Taste” in Plymouth for lunch. Obviously, our expectations were high due to all of the accolades and high reviews. We walked in, were seated at a fairly private table. Our server, Joy was excellent. Between her and the other servers, our water glasses were always full. As we ordered our initial glass of wine (very solid selection), we let Joy know it was out first time there and asked if it would be OK if we just ordered items in courses. Needless to say, she enthusiastically welcomed the idea, but ended up splitting almost every order (I believe we ordered 5 items) without us asking….not expecting. It is also important to mention that our utensils were replaced between every course. We started with the phyllo wrapped “cigarettes.” They were delivered in a beautiful presentation with an incredibly full flavored, and slightly tangy dipping sauce. Without going into heavy details, the flavors of all of the items were just better and more flavorful than anticipated. For out last course, we had the Rosemary Gnocchi. It was perfectly prepared and the flavors blended, probably better and more uniquely than the ingredients would suggest. To summarize, the meal ranks up there with a very top meal in Manhattan or SF. The quality, value and service were absolutely as good as anyone could hope for. Of course, we will be back in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Manager at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. So glad to hear that we hit the mark for you! Looking forward to having you join us again.
Cheers!
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great restaurant from the appetizer through dessert and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pkislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to having you join us again.
Cheers,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From appetizers to entrees, wonderful tastes to please all! A real plus for our wonderful wine area.
Owners are hands on and work to make it the best in the area for dining!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

Amador City, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Plymouth, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Sutter Creek, Amador County
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing