We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blew Away High Expectations”
Review of Taste

Taste
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mineral
Description: Taste is dedicated to providing our guests with the highest quality service, food, beverage and ambiance. We strive to be innovative, leaders in our field and to make a difference in our community. Taste was the first restaurant in the Sacramento region to be invited to cook at the prestigious James Beard House in over twenty-five years. Taste is rated by ZAGAT as one of the Top Restaurants in America. The food is reflective of the seasons and utilizing local producers. The service is fun and knowledgeable. Dinner: Thursday - Tuesday Lunch: Friday, Saturday and Sunday. thirteen dollar thursday at the wine bar - every thursday enjoy an appetizer and beverage pairing for just thirteen dollars. monday supper - every monday a three-course prix fixe menu is served for thirty dollars, in addition to regular menu. Two-course meal for twenty-two dollars every tuesday in addition to the regular menu. corkage free the second thursday of the month. wine bar offers bar menu and dinner menu. menus for vegan, vegetarian and gluten intolerant diets always available.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We frequent the Union Pub in Volcano; therefore, decided to try out their sister restaurant, “Taste” in Plymouth for lunch. Obviously, our expectations were high due to all of the accolades and high reviews. We walked in, were seated at a fairly private table. Our server, Joy was excellent. Between her and the other servers, our water glasses were always full. As we ordered our initial glass of wine (very solid selection), we let Joy know it was out first time there and asked if it would be OK if we just ordered items in courses. Needless to say, she enthusiastically welcomed the idea, but ended up splitting almost every order (I believe we ordered 5 items) without us asking….not expecting. It is also important to mention that our utensils were replaced between every course. We started with the phyllo wrapped “cigarettes.” They were delivered in a beautiful presentation with an incredibly full flavored, and slightly tangy dipping sauce. Without going into heavy details, the flavors of all of the items were just better and more flavorful than anticipated. For out last course, we had the Rosemary Gnocchi. It was perfectly prepared and the flavors blended, probably better and more uniquely than the ingredients would suggest. To summarize, the meal ranks up there with a very top meal in Manhattan or SF. The quality, value and service were absolutely as good as anyone could hope for. Of course, we will be back in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Manager at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. So glad to hear that we hit the mark for you! Looking forward to having you join us again.
Cheers!
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great restaurant from the appetizer through dessert and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pkislas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to having you join us again.
Cheers,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From appetizers to entrees, wonderful tastes to please all! A real plus for our wonderful wine area.
Owners are hands on and work to make it the best in the area for dining!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a huge eater by any means, and I normally have a container when I leave a restaurant. I had the rosemary gnocchi with braised beef. The gnocchi was tasty. I think I only had three TINY pieces of beef and honestly couldn't describe the favor as it was not enough to get a good sense of the flavor. Another in my party had soup for lunch which was literally about 1/4 cup. The menu is not extensive, presentation was nice. For Plymouth, it's a nice restaurant. I don't really think it was worth the money we paid for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank businesstraveler155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for dining with us and for your candid feedback. It is by no means our intentions for your to leave our restaurant hungry. Please know that our staff will gladly FIX anything that may not seem right to you. We would love to have you back and show you that our guests do leave satisfied! Please let us know how to contact you via email or snail mail.
Thank you,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Taste has excellent entrees and appetizers. Our large party had a wide variety of dishes and drinks and nobody was disappointed.

Server recommendations were right on for food and wine. The filet Mingon was outstanding. The gnocchi were incredible, the wine parings were perfect.

Service was top notch and extremely attentive.

Food and wine ran about $60/person for dinner, a bit if an increase since our last visit.

Taste is excellent for a special night out. Ask to sit in the back room, the main dining room can be a bit loud on a busy evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B, Owner at Taste, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for dining with us. So glad you enjoyed the meal. We purposely do not charge a split plate fee. and encourage guests to share. That way you can try more "tastes'!
Try our Monday Suppers where three-courses are just $30.
Cheers,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

Amador City, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Plymouth, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Sutter Creek, Amador County
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing