We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight”
Review of Plymouth House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plymouth House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our stay at Plymouth House Inn was a delight. Sandy is very warm and welcoming and clearly cares about making her guests comfortable. As a coffee drinker, the highlight was the fresh coffee outside my door every morning. Also, the breakfast was very good and very elaborate. The Inn is also very conveniently located in Plymouth - there are restaurants right up the street.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Plymouth House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Sandy does such an amazing job making you feel like you're 'home' but without the chores. Every time we stay at the Plymouth House, we always meet interesting people. For an exceptional B&B experience within the Foothills wine country, the Plymouth House Inn is a MUST.

Room Tip: Either the Carousel Suite or Garden Suite. Both are good size and have a fireplace or woodstove. A...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a wonderful getaway from a very busy business trip to California. Very small town but with enough amenities for a visitor.

The Plymouth House Inn feels like you are visiting with your favorite Aunt, Aunt Sharon. Rooms are small but remember this is an old house and the rooms were not huge back then and they are en suite. The shower is cozy but good hot water and plenty of water presser.

Stayed in the Dr. Tiffany room up front. Lovely room full of treasures from a time past. You can just pretend that the top hat on top of the armoire was worn to the opera in San Francisco. If you are a late sleeper you might want to consider a room in the back of the house. High windows and no blinds at the top level of windows let the day in early. Sharon deposits a pot of coffee to your door so quietly that you would believe it just appeared there on its own.

I am not a breakfast person but the spread we enjoyed almost convinced me. I think it was the eggs with cheddar cheese and slices of avocado that was simply wonderful. Be sure to let her know on arrival if you have any food allergies and she will work around those. THANK YOU for that.

Wine and cheese is served at 5 in the parlor. Check out the stereoscope on the table with the cards. 3d before we had movies

There are televisions in the room but we never turned it on.

Be sure to ask about the tunnel under the inn to the hotel that used to be across the street.

Arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend.

Room Tip: Only saw the rooms on the ground floor. All were en suite. If you want a little quieter choose a ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol232b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Plymouth House Inn has been a local favorite for quite a while now, and if you are ever lucky enough to have stayed there, you could attest to why that's true. I'm a manager of a local business that brings in a lot of out-of-town clientele, and am always relieved when I ask where they'll stay and they reply, "The Plymouth House Inn", I know for certain that they'll be well taken care of and will be likely to return to our humble little Northern California haven. Their website is excellent and an honest source of information in regards to amenities.
The history of the Plymouth House Inn is amazing as well, and there is plenty to keep you busy as the Inn is right on Main St. Excellent restaurants are very close-by... and the wineries. If you're planning a trip to the Shenandoah wineries, the Plymouth House Inn is a great place to stay as well. No more worrying about driving after all that wine tasting. You'll be much better off relaxing in style there at the Inn... So even for practicality's sake (putting aside all of the other aesthetic reasons to stay) it's B&B, not DUI!

Room Tip: Look at all the vacant rooms, as all are unique!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We can’t remember what we did for our 25th wedding anniversary, but we will always remember our 40th, as we stayed at the charming Plymouth House Inn. It was like visiting Grandma’s House many decades ago. We rented two rooms, Toys in the Attic and the Country Queen. The beds were very comfortable, and there were lots of old pictures, toys, dolls and furnishings that evoked fond memories from the past. The breakfast was beyond our expectations, (described in detail by a previous guest, April 29, 2013). The elegant presentation of breakfast reminded us of our wonderful experience at High Tea in the Empress Hotel in Victoria, B.C. Sandra, the proprietor, is a friendly and gracious hostess. The Plymouth House is a great ‘base camp” for touring the nearby wineries and historical towns.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENNIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I came to this B&B for our anniversary, just to go somewhere new. We loved it, as well as Sandra, the friendly and gracious hostess who made us feel like the most special and welcomed guests!
Shortly after arriving (and each evening at 5:00), Sandra had local wine and yummy snacks out for us to enjoy in the front sitting area, which is full of interesting antique items. We enjoyed staying in the spacious Garden Suite, with a cozy king bed and french doors that opened to the back patio. We received our 7am doorside coffee, and sat drinking it in our room's wing chairs, bundled in the provided robes, while a fire crackled in the fireplace. Fabulous! The chilly September early morning turned into a warm day, and later we were able to sit in the sunshine on the patio.
Breakfast was a variety of delicious foods -- most excellent!
If you haven't been there before, Plymouth is a tiny town, but has more to offer than immediately meets the eye. For wine lovers, the house sits at the crossroads leading to the Shenendoah Valley with winery after winery (at first I thought it would be a noisy location, so close to the highway, but it was very quiet in the house and the traffic was minimal). The historic towns of Amador and Sutter Creek are within close driving distance, with lots of shopping and more wine tasting.
Anyone staying in turn of the century b&bs should realize that these restored buildings are unique and may have some "special" features that aren't quite so modern (like tiny bathrooms or narrow spaces), but that just adds to the charm of staying in a historic inn!
I highly recommend the Plymouth House Inn as a destination in itself, with the area's sites an added bonus!

Room Tip: The Garden suite is great if you want to upgrade for more space in the room, the fireplace and frenc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just spent a night at Plymouth House Inn in historic Plymouth, Ca. This charming B&B is only outshined by the gracious hostess, Sandra. She is thoroughly welcoming and provides an excellent breakfast each morning at 9:00 a.m. We enjoyed citrus fruits, tomatoes with salsa, an egg casserole, bacon wrapped hashbrowns, homemade coffee cake,cinnamon rolls and peach cobbler, as well as fresh squeezed juice and coffee. The home is beautifully decorated witih antique pieces and other historic accrouterments. There is also an antique store, The Mine Shaft, which was not opened during the time we visited. It was great fun sitting around in the evening with other guests listening to stories of wine tasting in Amador County and hearing about each person's favorite choice.

Room Tip: We chose the Victoria Room, which was beautifully decorated, but is small. If you want more space...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
72 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
583 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shenandoah Inn
Shenandoah Inn
#2 of 7 in Plymouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plymouth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plymouth House Inn

Address: 9525 Main Street, Pob 1031, Plymouth, CA 95669
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $154 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plymouth House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy Victorian Home with seven bedrooms stuffed with antiques. Enjoy the Wine Hour in the evening, smell the fresh ground coffee left at your bedroom door in the morning and a big candlelight breakfast awaits you in the dining room after that. Celebrate a fabulous dinner at Taste Restaurant just a block away from the inn after visiting over 40 wonderful wineries producing lots of Italian Varietals, especially Amador Zinfandel Wine. This is a short getaway from most areas in California and an hour drive from Sacramento Airport and two hours from SFO. We welcome you here in Amador County. It's a place where you can relax and enjoy yourself away from the city lights. Free Wifi. Cable TV too. Come and Stay. It's not that far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Plymouth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing