We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Historic House Full of Antiques and Memories”
Review of Plymouth House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plymouth House Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Plymouth B&B and Inns
QUINCY, CA
1 review
“Charming Historic House Full of Antiques and Memories”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We can’t remember what we did for our 25th wedding anniversary, but we will always remember our 40th, as we stayed at the charming Plymouth House Inn. It was like visiting Grandma’s House many decades ago. We rented two rooms, Toys in the Attic and the Country Queen. The beds were very comfortable, and there were lots of old pictures, toys, dolls and furnishings that evoked fond memories from the past. The breakfast was beyond our expectations, (described in detail by a previous guest, April 29, 2013). The elegant presentation of breakfast reminded us of our wonderful experience at High Tea in the Empress Hotel in Victoria, B.C. Sandra, the proprietor, is a friendly and gracious hostess. The Plymouth House is a great ‘base camp” for touring the nearby wineries and historical towns.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    30
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I came to this B&B for our anniversary, just to go somewhere new. We loved it, as well as Sandra, the friendly and gracious hostess who made us feel like the most special and welcomed guests!
Shortly after arriving (and each evening at 5:00), Sandra had local wine and yummy snacks out for us to enjoy in the front sitting area, which is full of interesting antique items. We enjoyed staying in the spacious Garden Suite, with a cozy king bed and french doors that opened to the back patio. We received our 7am doorside coffee, and sat drinking it in our room's wing chairs, bundled in the provided robes, while a fire crackled in the fireplace. Fabulous! The chilly September early morning turned into a warm day, and later we were able to sit in the sunshine on the patio.
Breakfast was a variety of delicious foods -- most excellent!
If you haven't been there before, Plymouth is a tiny town, but has more to offer than immediately meets the eye. For wine lovers, the house sits at the crossroads leading to the Shenendoah Valley with winery after winery (at first I thought it would be a noisy location, so close to the highway, but it was very quiet in the house and the traffic was minimal). The historic towns of Amador and Sutter Creek are within close driving distance, with lots of shopping and more wine tasting.
Anyone staying in turn of the century b&bs should realize that these restored buildings are unique and may have some "special" features that aren't quite so modern (like tiny bathrooms or narrow spaces), but that just adds to the charm of staying in a historic inn!
I highly recommend the Plymouth House Inn as a destination in itself, with the area's sites an added bonus!

Room Tip: The Garden suite is great if you want to upgrade for more space in the room, the fireplace and frenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just spent a night at Plymouth House Inn in historic Plymouth, Ca. This charming B&B is only outshined by the gracious hostess, Sandra. She is thoroughly welcoming and provides an excellent breakfast each morning at 9:00 a.m. We enjoyed citrus fruits, tomatoes with salsa, an egg casserole, bacon wrapped hashbrowns, homemade coffee cake,cinnamon rolls and peach cobbler, as well as fresh squeezed juice and coffee. The home is beautifully decorated witih antique pieces and other historic accrouterments. There is also an antique store, The Mine Shaft, which was not opened during the time we visited. It was great fun sitting around in the evening with other guests listening to stories of wine tasting in Amador County and hearing about each person's favorite choice.

Room Tip: We chose the Victoria Room, which was beautifully decorated, but is small. If you want more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lathrop ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A historic victorian bed and breakfast. Very clean and comfortable with a delicious freshly prepared breakfast served in the dining room in the a.m. There is so much to see and do in the area. The sweet owner Sandra will inform you of the best places to check out.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danalathrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Last summer, I came back to the Plymouth House Inn for the third time and like the last time, it met my high expectations. The property is very quaint, the rooms are cozy, and the beds are quite comfortable. If you get a chance, have the amiable proprietor, Sandra, take you down to the Mine Shaft which has all sorts of antiques, many of which are for sale. The complimentary wine hour is a fun way to chat with other guests and try some of the area's great wine. It's a superb location if your aim is wine tasting, as it is a 2 minute drive from several wineries. But the icing on the cake for me is the outstanding breakfast both in selection and quality. My only regret is not asking for some recipes. I will continue coming back to this place because at a reasonable price, you get everything you would want from a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to book far in advanced as this place seems to be getting more and more popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a wonderful birthday celebration with my husband and our friends. We enjoyed our rooms as well as the porch in the afternoon. We had great breakfasts both of the mornings of our stayed. We could walk to the restaurant TASTE, where we had a wonderful dinner and it was so close to so main wineries to visit. The fact that we did not have a lot of driving as prefect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a great room and wonderful food. Thank you Sandy. It is in the middle of the Sierra foothills wine country and near to many of our favorite wineries. We we to CG Di Aries dinner under the stars on Saturday night and sat with another couple staying at the inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
17.2 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
0.2 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shenandoah Inn
Shenandoah Inn
#3 of 7 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plymouth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plymouth House Inn

Property: Plymouth House Inn
Address: 9525 Main Street, POB 1031, Plymouth, CA 95669
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plymouth House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy Victorian Home with seven bedrooms stuffed with antiques. Enjoy the Wine Hour in the evening, smell the fresh ground coffee left at your bedroom door in the morning and a big candlelight breakfast awaits you in the dining room after that. Celebrate a fabulous dinner at Taste Restaurant just a block away from the inn after visiting over 40 wonderful wineries producing lots of Italian Varietals, especially Amador Zinfandel Wine. This is a short getaway from most areas in California and an hour drive from Sacramento Airport and two hours from SFO. We welcome you here in Amador County. It's a place where you can relax and enjoy yourself away from the city lights. Free Wifi. Cable TV too. Come and Stay. It's not that far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Plymouth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing