We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great price”
Review of Shenandoah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shenandoah Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great hotel if you find yourself needed to stay in the Amador Wine country. Rooms are nicely appointed and the folks that run it, Ken and Marie, are really nice. Was impressed from my first stay and now often stay when in the area on businesss.

Room Tip: Second floor is always best to maximize the view of the rolling hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second visit here. The windows face to the rear and overlook the rolling hills of the Shenandoah Valley,very green in April but not for long (typical for California. Very good location for wine tasting in Amador and El Dorado counties. As for restaurants go to nearby Amador City and Sutter Creek.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to the Amador County vineyards. We stayed at the Shenandoah Inn for two nights.
This is a super place to stay as its location makes it very easy to visit all the wine areas to say nothing of all the historic Gold Rush towns and buildings. .First day we went south - second day we went north - and we saw everything! The Inn itself is quiet, clean, comfortable and we loved our view of the beautiful countryside. The owners were so nice and helpful giving us restaurant suggestions and driving directions. We would highly recommend it to anyone and would happily return

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl82760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The most enjoyable hotel stay we have ever had. Hosts Ken and Marie were super people as were the assistance Patty & Kevin. Our stay was like being with family or long lost friends. The room was very neat as was everything around the Hotel. If you are not staying at home, then the Shenandoah Inn is the next best thing. The Mexican restaurant had great food and service as well as Speeds next door. Semper fi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent two excellent nights at the Shenandoah Inn . Rooms were super clean, renovated and the beds frim yet super comfy. It was an easy 10 minute drive into Sutter Creek for one night's dinner.
Plymouth is the place to be for visiting wineries as they majority are less than 5 minute drive away plus Taste restaurant is a two minute drive ..outstanding meal.
I would have given the Inn five stars except that their breakfasts are just ok and their coffee is like water, just brutal, so if you head to the Pokerville supermarket nearby I'd suggest grabbing your own instant java to kick start the day.

Room Tip: We picked a standard room upstairs overlooking the pool and countryside. Great scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Quiet, clean and very relaxing. Has all the amenities plus great hot tub, wonderful pastoral views, BBQ /picnic area hosted by great friendly couple. Love those huge wide windows enhancing that peaceful beautiful countryside. Close to historical towns, vineyards and nurseries. A diner, Mexican restaurant and grocery store located closeby. We will be back and am suggesting it to our adult children as well. What is higher than five star? This place is!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Lance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had three rooms here for us and our grown sons. All on the second floor with magnificent views of the pastures and rolling foothills. Doubly gorgeous in the spring when they are still emerald green. We all slept with our windows open to enjoy the warm spring night and the sounds of the country. The rooms are spacious and very clean and nicely decorated. There is no dresser, so if you have a long stay you will be living out of your suitcase. Bathroom is modern with large counter. As another reviewer mentioned, there are no grab bars in the tub/shower and the light switch also turns on the fan, so there is constant noise when you are in there. My only other complaint is the pillows and our sons agreed with me. There are six pillows in the double queen rooms and every one of them is much too large and firm. Two of us woke up with stiff necks the next morning. My recommendation to the owners is to replace half of the pillows with softer ones for those of us who cannot sleep on an extra firm pillow.
These are minor complaints and I definitely recommend the Shenandoah Inn and will stay there again when I am in the area. It is a lovely hotel with great amenities and beautiful view. We had hoped to let the grandkids swim, but just ran out of time. A pool in the summertime there would be most welcome.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room on the second floor with a view of the pastures. Bring your own pillow if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plaidbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
597 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
72 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
1.0 mi away
Rest Hotel Plymouth
Rest Hotel Plymouth
#1 of 7 in Plymouth
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plymouth House Inn
Plymouth House Inn
#3 of 7 in Plymouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Inn

Address: 17674 Village Dr, Plymouth, CA 95669
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $130 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shenandoah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing