We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy cheese steaks”
Review of Cheese Steak Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cheese Steak Shop
Ranked #158 of 269 Restaurants in Pleasanton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Pleasanton Ca
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yummy cheese steaks”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This has been here for years, and the taste of the food is why. Great cheese steaks, great peppers, two choices, hot and milder. mmmmmmm

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is not as good as some of the Cheese Steak Shops I have been to. Food was ok. Tried 2 different kinds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ktmMendocino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Monster tasty cheese steak, 10" stuffed with peppers... with a side and a drink for $9.10. Just like in Philly. Recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeJameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“King of Philly is great”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have been here before & I have gone back each time I am in Pleasanton. What can I say? I like it here. The King of Philly with sweet peppers & onions is great. The onion rings are great too. The only thing that could improve this would be the addition of fresh brewed iced tea instead of the soda fountain variety.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not A True Philadelphia Cheese Steak”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I spent my college years in Philadelphia and have had a great opportunity to sample Philly's finest. I was so excited to see that there is a Cheese Steak shop in Pleasanton, as there are very few places to get a true cheese steak. They've done a good job making sure to have Tasty Kakes and Amoroso rolls, but that's about it.

My wife and I split a cheese steak and some fries. First, the cheese steak tasted fine, but they are advertising this as a "true" Philadelphia cheese steak. Everyone who has experience a true Philadelphia chesse steaks knows that the only way to order is a whiz-with (that's a cheese steak with cheese whiz and onions for those who have never been to Philly). When I asked if they had cheese whiz, they had no idea what I was talking about. I immediately knew that I wasn't in an authentic cheese steak restaurant. Still, we went along with it anyway. You can get a cheese steak with American cheese. It was ok.

The restaurant was pretty grimy and smelled like old fryer oil. Not my best cheese steak experience. If you're looking for an awesome, authentic cheese steak in the bay area, go to Jake's Steaks in San Francisco (marina area). They're legit and exactly like a true Philly steak. They even have boathouse row painted on the wall. Classic!

Sorry Cheese Steak Shop...I tried, but you need to work harder.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penntf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Steak Shop also viewed

 

Been to Cheese Steak Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing