We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Visit”
Review of Ruby Hill Winery

Ruby Hill Winery
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Pleasanton
Attraction details
Chatham, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Fun Visit”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The owners of this winery are friends of friends and frankly, I wasn't expecting much. Much to my surprise, this winery has been in operation since the 1880's. It's quite the operation. We were offered a tour of the vineyard, we saw where the wine was stored and had a wine tasting. I recommend the Grateful Red. Well worth the visit. A busy place, but everyone was very, very nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 341SusanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery with easy access and great wines!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been members here for nearly 4 years and have really enjoyed the experience. The wines are very good, the staff friendly and helpful, and the grounds are beautiful. We enjoy the informal events like pizza and s'more nights and the release parties are a lot of fun. They are so easy to get to we often just drive out on the weekend and stop in, usually with friends. It's no longer a small winery, but they haven't lost how to treat customers and make you feel welcome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveA_SFBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great wine, super nice people”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited Ruby Hill while in the SF area for business. Not too far of a drive for a half day excursion. Not a wine expert but wanted to do some wine tasting while in Cali. Ruby Hill was recommend by the folks at Concannon which I visited first. The tasting at Ruby Hill was a nice experience. The gentleman that helped us was very friendly and knowledgeable. After the tasting we sat on their patio and had a glass of our favorite. Overall a great experinced and I would recommend visiting Ruby Hill. Their 2007 Zin was outstanding, took a bottle home to my pastor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AppNeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for relaxing and for a wedding !”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the grand driveway to the landscaping this place is top notch!
I was here for a wedding in October while the vines were golden and red .
The ceremony was in the palm event center barrel room and the reception hall was transformed into a glorious glamour spot! The staff provided outstanding service from start to finish. The food was wonderful as well.
We were lucky enough to have a harvest moon rising over the vines during cocktail hour

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soarinval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The place to be”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First time at Ruby Hill Winery. We have been celebrating a family wedding.
From the beginning til the end everything was well organised. The wine and food
were excellent.
Especially the backyard for the ceremony was splendid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank underseawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Hill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing