We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Helpful staff. Great location”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you are going to San Francisco get the best of both. You can stay in a town most San Franciscans would like to live in and take the BART into town to see the sights, shop, or just hang out. Pleasanton is a 20 minute BART ride to downtown San Francisco and it has plenty of shops and restaurants to offer as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and share equally good views. The hotel has no restaurant but there are plent...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Good point, one that we locals take advantage of on a frequent basis. Enjoy the excitement of The City during the day and then return for a quiet evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for The Rose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

I really enjoyed staying the the Rose Hotel. The rooms are furnished in an old style (Victorian ? ) and are in very good condition. The hotel staff are very helpful, The breakfast and bar both provide really good service and food/drinks.

The hotel is well located and lots of good dining and shopping options close by.

I think it is by far and away the best option to stay in the area.

My only complaint is that there is regular noise coming from the nearby train line, and the train seems to sound the horn each time it goes through.

Otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train line.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thanks for your review. Sounds like we have one too many traditions, that of an old railroad town. In fact, the former train depot still stands but has been converted to retail shops. We are the only rail link between the Central Valley and San Francisco Bay for both passenger and freight service. Originally there were two rail lines but one is now limited to excursions on weekends (Niles Canyon Railroad - ncry.org). Next visit we'll locate you towards the front of the building away from the tracks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Rose Hotel is a top-notch place from start to finish. "If you see it, you can eat it" is their policy, as they have out all sorts of snacks and drinks throughout the day to enjoy. The room and common areas were the cleanest we have ever encountered at a hotel of any quality level. Every staff member we came in contact with was courteous, friendly and professional. Parking was a snap in their attached garage, and the hotel is located within a short walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Wonderful toiletries and amenities in the room, including a fresh rose each day. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMoonAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for the kind remarks. They enumerate some of the reasons the property was built. Our staff, Housekeeping in particular, will appreciate your observation on their performance. Please come back soon. Tom Walker, Mgr. M&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My second stay there, both for business. Unfortunately both stays left me little time to enjoy the hotel, but it was a nice break after a long day. The rooms are large and comfortable. The chocolate on the pillow was excellent. It is definitely a boutique hotel that makes its reputation on service and appearance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEntwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Add a day, and your SO, to your next trip and take advantage of our SOSO. Tom Walker, Mgr. M&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Business associates recommended this hotel and I'm so glad they did. Great service and good location. Close to several restaurants, within walking distance. The fresh rose in room is a nice touch and candy bowls at elevator entrance came in handy. The lobby is quite and feels like home.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and absolutely spotless. Bathrooms are first class. Never heard a door close or the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

On our behalf, please thank your business associate for the referral. Tom Walker, Mgr. M&S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed a second time at The Rose Hotel in Pleasanton, CA--each stay was 3 days long.

We enjoyed the warm, friendly, caring staff, as well as the very nice breakfasts. The rooms are very spacious and clean, with a large shower and whirlpool tub. A fresh rose is on display in each room, and parking is on the same floor as the registration desk, which is convenient. The hotel is non-smoking! Every request we made was taken care of in quick order.

We hope to stay there again soon! Leon & Kathy

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOELKAT9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Repeat guests are a hotelier's best friend! Looking forward to your next stay. Regards, Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel when we were looking to buy a home in the area. Great ambiance and comfort. Right on Main street near plenty of bars and restaurants. Next time you want luxury with a small town feel, you need to stop buy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank onebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

"Luxury with a small town feel" is a good summary of what we try to offer our guests. Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#2 of 14 in Pleasanton
390 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Pleasanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
#9 of 14 in Pleasanton
191 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tri-Valley > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range: $280 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing