We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel!”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
1 review
“What an amazing hotel!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in October, the night before my sisters wedding (and I stayed there in September for my wedding too). Both stays were very relaxing and enjoyable. The space is so beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous. I especially love the huge bath tub in the bathroom. The service is top notch. Every time we called for something they brought it up right away. Everyone that works there is super helpful and kind!
I can't wait to go back and stay another night there:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Embot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are both a reward for past efforts and an incentive to improve as we go forward. Tom Walker, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    19
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
27
73
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown Pleasanton. The lobby is attractive and the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is included in the cost and was very good. I liked the fact that there was a coffee kettle in the room along with a french press and ground coffee for the press. A very nice feature. The big downside for me was the fact that there were no public areas to sit comfortably outdoors. Yes, there were park benches on the city block, but no attractive areas to sit outside.
The town is appealing. There are lots of restaurants and a great ice cream place that serves unusual flavors which are very good. They provide all the tastes you want. There's also a very nice farmer's market on Saturdays.
There's also a nice walking path a block away along the arroyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyzyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You are correct, our zero lot line property and parking code requirements did not leave any ground available for an outdoor garden. You did discover a unique walking trail along the arroyo but we can't take credit for that. Beyond that, it sounds like you enjoyed the inside of our property and our surrounding neighborhood and trust you will return. Regards, Tom Walker, Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

First, the location is excellent...right downtown Pleasanton on Main Street. It really is pleasant in Pleasanton! It's a nice mix of shops and restaurants, and is easy to walk. All the roads in downtown are two lanes, so you don't have to take your life in your hands walking to a restaurant.

Second, it is a boutique hotel, owned by John Madden. The common areas are nice and welcoming. They have bowls of candy, licorice and cookies placed around, a nice touch! The sleeping rooms are spacious and elegantly appointed. The bathrooms are almost as big as some hotel rooms!

Third, the meeting space is perfect for a small group. We had a meeting for 10 executives, and it couldn't have been better. The boardroom is spacious, has windows that look out on Pleasanton and the chairs were plush and comfortable. We had plenty of soft drinks, bottled water and snacks. Lunch was fresh and tasty.

As a meeting planner, it was a pleasure to deal with the staff. They really went the extra mile to make our stay a thorough delight.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the summary...sounds like you hit "the perfect storm" of hospitality at The Rose Hotel...the right location, the right size property, and the right size meeting room. It is rewarding when the guest's requirements match the features of the property! Regards, Tom Walker, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The last night of our three week road trip was spent at the Rose Hotel. Talk about saving the best till last! Shame we only spent one night here. The hotel is like walking into a show home only with feeling. If you need a over night stop before departing from SFO then you won't do better than this, just an hours drive from the airport. Perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
NIce to receive a positive response from an international traveler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at The Rose Hotel was absolutely perfect in every respect. This small inn style property in downtown Pleasanton, designed for the higher end clientele, is perfect for every occasion. The room was large, the oversized jacuzzi perfect, the beds comfortable, wi-fi strong, and everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast selection is somewhat limited by very typical of a good starter for the day. The attention to detail is so apparent and so valued by those with high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments including that concerning our breakfast buffet. You are correct in that it is designed more for travelers on a tight schedule than for a more leisurely meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, pretty rooms and excellent service. The dark side is that there's no gym, not even a treadmill, no swimming pool, anywhere to exercise... The breakfast is poor (included in the rate) and no service. Honestly, in general, not worthy for that price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolcetto68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We agree with the "old style" decor as that is intentional, i.e. "old world". Also with the fact that we have no gym. However, there is an in-house exercise room with treadmills, an elipse, free weights, exercise balls and mats. Guest passes are available to a local full service athletic club with two swimming pools, racket sports, golf range, etc.

The continental breakfast is self-service with 6 varieties of fresh fruit, bagels and lox, cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, fresh pastries, toaster products, hot and cold cereals including Swiss granola, yogurt and cottage cheese, juices and Peet's coffee and tea. While we do not provide a "hot" breakfast, a 50's style diner is just across the street.

On your next visit our Front Desk Associate will be more specific about our exercise and breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff, very comfy hotel with attention to details makes this almost like a home away from home. Compared to lots of other hotels "the Rose" have really understood what a business traveller needs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FHarvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
A "home away from home" is exactly the atmosphere we hope to create.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#2 of 14 in Pleasanton
361 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
#7 of 14 in Pleasanton
190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pleasanton Inn
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Dublin/Pleasanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Property: The Rose Hotel
Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing