We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like our second home”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like our second home”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have family that lives in Pleasanton, so we stay here when we come to visit. It has become like our second home. The staff is warm and friendly. We like the never-empty cookie jar and bowls of candy around the lobby. The breakfast room/lobby/sitting room is inviting and serves as a bar in the evenings that is even open to the public. It is furnished like a beautiful living room with a fireplace. The guest rooms are large, each room is entered through a foyer, and the soft green decor is very soothing. Rooms are delightfully decorated with every amenity provided, Peete's coffee (our fav) is available for brewing in the room. There are fresh roses everywhere, including a single one spotlighted in every room. The marbled bathrooms are large with jacuzzi tub plus an over-sized shower. Main street beacons just outside the front door and is a delightful place to wander. Great restaurants abound.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It is music to our ears to hear our property described as a "second home". It pretty well sums up what we try to offer our guests here at The Rose. Thank you for taking the time to note why you enjoy your time here. It will be helpful to other guests looking for something out of the ordinary. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    18
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
26
72
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This wonderfully managed hotel is an oasis when working away from home. Fresh flowers around lobby daily, fruit, cookies and snacks 24x7, complimentary bottled water in rooms, 15+ restaurants in neighborhood, bar in lobby catering to guests and business locals all contribute to this being a superb property..... Stay here if you can afford five star accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments which seem to affirm our pricing policy, i.e. bundle all of the services into one price. Thus in addition to an extra large, luxuriously furnished room, the rate includes an extensive continental breakfast, WiFi throughut the property, covered/lighted parking, fresh roses and snacks 24/7, bottled water, and passes to a local full-service athletic club. Hopefully this meets the criteria for good value and that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
559 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have always wanted to stay at the Rose Hotel when visiting family. This last trip we found a room available and booked it. The lobby is very inviting with easy off street parking. The room was large but they put the entertainment cabinet in front of the windows which seemed odd. Looking out the window which was still accessible may have explained their decision, it looked into a parking lot and wasn't much of a view. Also it was close to a railroad crossing and I could hear the train whistles as they approached. Bed was nice and otherwise room was well appointed with large bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review which we believe is informative for both our guests and our staff. It would appear that the major culprit was also a major benefit, i.e. a downtown location. Having decided that downtown Pleasanton could benefit from a boutique style hotel, the owners selected the only available location which borders the adjacent parking lot and is close to the railroad tracks (side note - the route through Pleasanton is historic in that it was the final link in the transcontinental railroad). Hopefully the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and that you will stay with us on your next visit to Pleasanton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For years my husband and I have stayed at the Rose Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year we did again, and were happy with the beautiful room. The room and hotel, for that matter, haven't changed a bit since our very first visit years ago. The hotel is beginning to show a little aging but we still enjoy it very much. I don't know if because I'm older now I noticed it more than previously, but it seemed louder than I remember but our window faced the busy, downtown streets. There was also a very loud dog barking a lot of the night from somewhere in the neighboring homes but that's beyond the hotel's control. My only complaint is the very uncomfortable, small, squishy pillows. If I had a more comfy pillow, my night's rest wouldn't have been so restless due to the noise. The beautiful marble bathroom with it's large jacuzzi tub and shower was like a dream. The free breakfast the following morning was well appointed with smoked salmon, yogurts, danish, an abundance of fresh fruit, oatmeals, yummy coffee, etc. The best hotel breakfast provided to guests free of charge that I've seen.

Overall, I think you would love your stay. It's the perfect location for a night out with your special person! Just bring your own pillow because the large bed is very comfortable.

Room Tip: To help with the street noise, request a room facing the parking lot. However, you won't be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review and share your thoughts with other guests and our staff. I would like to address your specific comments as follows.

Hotel showing a little aging...patina?? We agree and a minor renovation program is in process, i.e. reupholstering the overstuffed chairs and new pillows in the guest rooms, painting in the public areas, replacing bathrooms sink drain stoppers, etc. In addition, our maintenance and housekeeping staffs repair minor damage on a daily basis.

Noise level...should be about the same except for the barking dog...guess that is a trade off for the absence of freeway noise, just kidding. On your next visit request a room overlooking the parking lot next door. Then, to do your people watching, go out on the second floor balcony which overlooks Main Street. It is set up with a table and chairs so you could relax with a drink and watch the crowd go by.

Pillows...the newly replaced pillows are down filled with four per bed. Larger, foam filled pillows are available on request to the front desk.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is a pleasure to stay in, it is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed. The rooms are quite and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only things I didn't care for were the small pillows on a king sized bed and the shower head.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirdouglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There are a couple of solutions to the issue of pillow size...extra down fulled pillows are available as well as larger, foam pillows...both are available by calling the front desk. Not too sure about the shower head...it may be mounted too high on the wall as they are a foot above the standard height to suit some of the professional athletes that stay here. We would like to know more about it so it can be fixed. Thanks for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I felt like I had stepped out of the world for a few days whilst staying at The Rose. What a delightful experience it was from start to finish! All the staff were so friendly and accommodating which made my husband and I feel right at home. The rooms are very nicely furnished, the bathroom and the lighting so appropriate. There are many little extras here which make you feel special. The breakfasts were delicious and just the right type of food we would want to eat. There is always a candle burning downstairs so there is this wonderful fragrance all the time plus cookies, tea, coffee and other goodies. If we go to Pleasanton again our first stop will be The Rose. Thank you to all the staff for making your hotel a home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The service you experienced is a reflection of the attitude our staff members have toward their work. They enjoy meeting our guests needs and wants and work together as a team to deliver them. The owner can provide an elegant facility but the staff brings it to life. Hope you will come back soon. Regards, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What have you done to my Rose??

For years, a small group of us, dubbed "The Rose Girls" met in the lobby bar every Friday afternoon for wine, gossip and laughs. We looked forward to Friday's happy hour. We've been through marriages, divorces, boyfriends, break ups, cancer, death and more. If those walls could talk ...

Something has changed. I don't know if there was an ownership change, or management change, but someone stuck a big fat stick straight up the stem of our Rose. Front desk staff if snarky. Bartender is nice.

The management has cast such an ugly pallor over the place, it's no surprise we were the only ones in the bar last night. And that's just for us bar patrons.

The Yelp reviews from guests are poor. In the last year:
6 reviews (7 if you count the obviously fake one)
3 - one star
1 - two star
1 - each 4 & 5 star
That's 4 out of 6 that are sub par. The complaints range from value (it's expensive) to cleanliness.

It's cute, but not worth the money. The problem is, it's the only place in the cute downtown area. But, I recommend save the money from the room, stay at the Four Points and cab in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments as they enable me to clarify a point about our property. Our primary business is providing a unique and enjoyable experience to our in-house guests. Part of that experience is a lobby with a small bar that offers our guests a comfortable, secure, quiet place for relaxation, conversation, and, if they wish, a cocktail. Any activities that infringe on that setting are discouraged. If a larger group requires more space, there are numerous bars and restaurants nearby that have suitable accommodations. For information, the ownership and management have not changed since the hotel opened in 2001. Best, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
4.0 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#2 of 14 in Pleasanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pleasanton Inn
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Pleasanton
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Livermore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Property: The Rose Hotel
Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing