We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I felt like I had stepped out of the world for a few days whilst staying at The Rose. What a delightful experience it was from start to finish! All the staff were so friendly and accommodating which made my husband and I feel right at home. The rooms are very nicely furnished, the bathroom and the lighting so appropriate. There are many little extras here which make you feel special. The breakfasts were delicious and just the right type of food we would want to eat. There is always a candle burning downstairs so there is this wonderful fragrance all the time plus cookies, tea, coffee and other goodies. If we go to Pleasanton again our first stop will be The Rose. Thank you to all the staff for making your hotel a home away from home!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

The service you experienced is a reflection of the attitude our staff members have toward their work. They enjoy meeting our guests needs and wants and work together as a team to deliver them. The owner can provide an elegant facility but the staff brings it to life. Hope you will come back soon. Regards, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

What have you done to my Rose??

For years, a small group of us, dubbed "The Rose Girls" met in the lobby bar every Friday afternoon for wine, gossip and laughs. We looked forward to Friday's happy hour. We've been through marriages, divorces, boyfriends, break ups, cancer, death and more. If those walls could talk ...

Something has changed. I don't know if there was an ownership change, or management change, but someone stuck a big fat stick straight up the stem of our Rose. Front desk staff if snarky. Bartender is nice.

The management has cast such an ugly pallor over the place, it's no surprise we were the only ones in the bar last night. And that's just for us bar patrons.

The Yelp reviews from guests are poor. In the last year:
6 reviews (7 if you count the obviously fake one)
3 - one star
1 - two star
1 - each 4 & 5 star
That's 4 out of 6 that are sub par. The complaints range from value (it's expensive) to cleanliness.

It's cute, but not worth the money. The problem is, it's the only place in the cute downtown area. But, I recommend save the money from the room, stay at the Four Points and cab in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Brandie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments as they enable me to clarify a point about our property. Our primary business is providing a unique and enjoyable experience to our in-house guests. Part of that experience is a lobby with a small bar that offers our guests a comfortable, secure, quiet place for relaxation, conversation, and, if they wish, a cocktail. Any activities that infringe on that setting are discouraged. If a larger group requires more space, there are numerous bars and restaurants nearby that have suitable accommodations. For information, the ownership and management have not changed since the hotel opened in 2001. Best, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is an absolutely adorable hotel. As soon as you walk in, it smells like home, cozy, with fresh baked cookies. Everybody is very sweet, the rooms are large and comfortable and greet you with soothing music. Everything is extremely clean. The large baths are wonderful and the breakfast was very good. I definitely want to come back here for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you, Jane, for your kind comments. I will pass them along to our staff members who make the hotel what it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you have any reason to seek accommodations in the Pleasanton area, look no further than The Rose Hotel. I had the pleasure of staying here in mid December for two nights while in town for business meetings. A co-worker suggested it and it was absolutely perfect in every way.

Rooms are big and well laid out. Dimmer switches on lights so you can adjust to your liking. Very comfy and luxurious bed and bedding. Bathrooms are beautiful with a big soaking tub and fancy bath stuff. French press coffee set up in the room and great fresh ground coffee in cannisters, not in the takcy rip open envelopes. Really yummy breakfast buffet included and set up in the bar/lobby area each morning.

In the evenings, their bar area is cozy and plush. Nice selection of drinks and wine. I usually don't like having a drink by myself but it felt so comfortable and homelike that I would not mind enjoying a glass of wine solo here.

The Rose Hotel has the feel and amenities of a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons (I have stayed at many of both properties), but even better since it's such a small property. No hustle bustle here, just a nice luxurious and relaxing stay. The staff is plesant and accomodating. I found a new home away from home. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueC456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Your observations are appreciated and will be passed on to staff who make it all happen. It is rewarding to be placed in the Ritz-Carlton / Four Seasons class.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A real gem in the middle of Pleasanton. This was our first attempt at a getaway in the Pleasanton area and ended up agreeing that this wa a great place worthy of a repeat visit. The Hotel is in a convenient location near all the shops and restaurants. The lobby was decorated nicely, very inviting and friendly. Check-in was less than 1 minute, our key was awaiting, just needed our cedit card imprint. The room was large, big mirrors, very large bath with spa tub and separate large glass shower enclosure. Robes, slippers, free bottled water, fresh ground Peets Coffee and a french press coffee maker were the extra touches that made it special. Room was quiet, free wifi, continental breakfast and a very cozy and friendly bar with a some nice Scotch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Nice to hear those kind words from an experienced traveler like you. I'll pass them along to staff as evidence of the results of their dedication to providing a quality experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I wanted to suprise my wife with a "staycation" weekend in our wonderful down town. My sweet heart was so happy.....we both walked into our room and were astonished at the luxury and warmth ....soft music was playing....lights dimmed.....the staff knew exactly what to do. We both give our thanks to the staff ..and to Coach for this wonderful property. Best time ever..and we walked here from our home!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k1russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. They validate the efforts of our staff to provide a unique "staycation" experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thanks to the recommendations on TripAdvisor we stayed this weekend at The Rose. Very nice hotel. Active restaurant scene on Main Street. Ate twice a the new Locanta Restaurant which served excellent Mediterranean cuisine, which should be on TripAdivsor. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheesemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, a genuine form of publicity. Your took advantage of our downtown location by walking to one of the many upscale restaurants on Main Street. Please return and sample more of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#2 of 14 in Pleasanton
408 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
4 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Pleasanton
3 mi away
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
#9 of 14 in Pleasanton
196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tri-Valley > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range: $283 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing