We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fun place to dine”
Review of Coco Cabana

Coco Cabana
Ranked #27 of 272 Restaurants in Pleasanton
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dublin Blvd.
Castro Valley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a fun place to dine”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This restaurant serves tapas (small plates) as well as the usual entrees, etc. If you go during happy hour, it is a lively, friendly atmosphere. We have usually had the tapas and they are excellently prepared and presented. The Kobe sliders are wonderful as are the tacos, coconut shrimp and Caesar salad. The servers are attentive and friendly. It's a nice place to go and they have banquet areas as well if you want to have a big group. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol PA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun spot for drinks and apps”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We visited Coco Cabana with about 30 clients and vendors. They were very accomodating. The seafood apps were very good and the bartenders and waitstaff were very attentive to everyone's needs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scalwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

First of all this restaurant is NOT in Pleasanton. It is located in Dublin.

One of our friends was in charge to making dinner plans for everyone and he chose this restaurant. It was very good. Service was impeccable. The goat cheese appetizer was Awesome! My husband had the spicy pasta and he said it was packed full of flavor. I had the flat iron steak and it was incredible, tender, perfectly cooked and beautiful when it was presented.

Try out this restaurant and I hope you have a wonderful experience as we did.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diablo, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice addition in Pleasanton, ca”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The ambience and atmosphere at Coco Cabana is charming even swanky at first. The main dining rooms dimly lit but lovely. We have eaten here 4times - twice for dinner and twice for dinner. The tapas menu offers some nice choices including the Meat puff empanadas which are good. The salad choices are fine but one of the four we tried was a standout.

For main courses we had Cuban garlic chicken and the pacific snapper on one visit and the
arroz con mariscos and thePeruvian pesto on another visit. Unfortunately, all of these dishes sound much better than they taste. Especially disappointing was the snapper which was presented beautifully with rich green olives and a fantastic sauce but the fish was dry and some bites were down right fishy tasting. The garlic mash potatoes were limp under the fish and sauce and did not have a rich,strong consistency to stand up to the flavors in the dish. The saving grace was the pane dulce - sweet puffy pillow shaped powdered sugar doughnuts served with a choice of sauces-so good it was worth the trip alone. The food is just not up to the quality the price demands.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Coco Cabana is a fairly newly opened restaurant in the Dublin / Pleasanton area. They are a Cuban restaurant. Food is good...the steak was very flavorful and cooked well. The sides were tasty as well. It's not cheap, but the atmosphere is great. It has a nice dark/dim light dining area. Service was prompt, courteous, and helpful.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_VanCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cabana also viewed

 

Been to Coco Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing