We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pleasant Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pleasant Hill
FL
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in late August and had a wonderful time. The property has all the amenities mentioned by other reviewers - BART, shopping, good access to all the Bay Area - that's all good but the real jewel is their staff. Everyone we dealt with bent over backward to make sure our stay was excellent, especially Juan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at our newly renovated hotel. Your comments are what keep us striving to STAY the BEST hotel in our Market. Your comments will be shared with my entire staff.

Thank You Again…

Hope to see you at our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
28
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my wife and our 3 children. Location is nice (right off the freeway in a good neighborhood). Price was very reasonable. Our children enjoyed the indoor hot tub and pool along with the fitness center (all are open 24 hours/day). We had a double queen room on the top (4th) floor. The room was larger than many hotels that I have stayed in (plenty of room for the blowup mattress for one of our children). We had a balcony that was a nice touch as well. A fridge and microwave are available upon request for no extra cost (which they delivered within 10 minutes of us calling down to the front desk). The hotel was clean and the staff was very responsive. Breakfast is not included, but is available for a cost (we did not eat there). It is only a short 30 minute drive from SF, so it is the perfect place to have your base from as you explore the Bay Area.

Room Tip: Top floor double queen room with a balcony was perfect for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments as this is necessary for us to always improve. Your pleasant comments regarding your stay will be shared with our entire staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The property is beside a commercial district with shops, restaurants and retail. The rooms are newly renovated and the entire place is consistent with the feel and design of a Marriott Courtyard. Ther is no mini ref nor a safety deposit box in the room which I thought was also rather small. I think the price is right for its class.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your most recent stay with us. We try to remain the hotel leader in our market when it comes to excellent customer service and your comments are greatly appreciated.

I noticed you mentioned you would have liked a microwave or refrigerator in your room. The Pleasant Hill Courtyard is currently working on providing all of our guest rooms with them. Should you come back into the area, please request them upon check in as we do a limited number of them on property for guest use.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to San Francisco and Napa Valley. This hotel was centrally located to both places. The room was nice and very clean and we both enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this place. The staff was very friendly and is very reasonably priced. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There's also a Rite-Aid next door and a Safeway grocery store a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for the posting a response regarding your most recent stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. As we strive to be the BEST in our market. I will definitely share your comments with our entire staff.

We look forward to having you return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night while in the area. Right off the 680 and across the street from downtown Pleasant Hill, which has stores and eateries. There is also a Rite-Aid next door for any items you may need. The lobby has been nicely renovated and the rooms are clean & spacious. The pool & spa are indoors, unfortunately the pool was freezing. As stated previously, the bathroom sink area is pretty small so it's hard to fit your personal items. But that's really the only negative. Overall it's a decent place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel. I know our travelers are extremely busy. I will take your comments back to our staff for added learning as we strive to be the number one hotel for travelers in the Pleasant Hill area. Please let me apologize for our pool not being at temperature. I have reported the issue to my engineer for immediate attention.

Thank you for also mentioning our renovation. The team is very proud of the new product and would love for you to come back and join us again.

Sincerely,

Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott / OAKCP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Courtyard Hotels are among our favorites when we travel. They are being nicely upgraded as we found when we stayed at the Courtyard El Segundo, just south of LAX, on 2 occasions in late 2012. On this trip in March 2012, the Courtyard Pleasant Hill, a short distance north of Walnut Creek, CA, had just been renovated so we cancelled out of a different hotel to stay at a newly redone Courtyard. Indeed the lobby had been totally redone as had the hallways leading to the rooms. The rooms had been freshened but not redone, leaving them with standard standalone bathroom sink with little shelf space, and an oversize toilet-shower combo room. We use the computer regularly on business travel so the Wi-Fi a hotel offers is important to us. The Wi-Fi at this hotel was an on-again, off-again affair. It is the 3rd worst Wi-Fi I ever experienced at any hotel here or in Europe or China. I spent 2 hours on the phone with some foreign-sounding tech support group one evening and the following morning, with only a temporary fix resulting. The front desk called the following day, apologized for our Wi-Fi problems, and offered a free meal at the Bistro for the problems we were having. A Marriott (?) technology person passing through the hotel phoned to help out on a different morning but at that time our Wi-Fi was operative. The (supposedly) 24/7 Bistro restaurant in the lobby offers a small but pleasant menu, and we found it a good place to have an easy dinner meal. One evening, staff behind the service counter was having such a good time they couldn't stop laughing and talking loudly, disturbing us and other diners trying to have conversations or just read a book. On another night, 3 different people were behind the service counter and none of them appeared to know anything about food preparation and service. The food service problems will probably get straightened out with time. The Wi-Fi will be fixed only if Marriott throws some intelligent money at it. I filled out the hotel’s “how was your stay” form with much the same comments as here, and got a phone message from the hotel’s front office staff asking to discuss my issues in more detail. I returned the phone call, only to also end up in a messaging center. That person has not phoned back.

Room Tip: At the moment I suggest you stay here only if you do not need Wi-Fi..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeblomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
NEW WIFI BEING INSTALLED AT THE PLEASENT HILL COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT:

We appreciate when our guests take time to complete a Marriott survey (which we recieved) and a TripAdvisor survey. We always love to hear areas in which we can improve.

Now that our renovation is complete, we have uncovered that we do have WiFi concerns which we do try and address immediately when reported. I am sorry to hear our WiFi during your stay was not as consistent as it should have been. We want all of our guests to stay connected and engaged in their business when traveling. We have heard our guests complaints and we are in the process of upgrading our StayOnline provider with new AT &T. This project should be completed within 30 - 60 days.

I also understand you were not completely happy with our new Bistro associates the night you dined in. I have definitely taken your concerns back to our Bistro Manager to address. You are correct, this is a new concept for the Pleasant Hill Courtyard (We have never offered dinner options and have been open less than 30 days) and we are doing our best to get ALL personal trained to work in the Bistro. With all capable personal trained, any associate walking by can help a guest in need. Even for a quick Starbucks. I apologize for the interupted of noise during dinner. I wasn't quiet sure if you did not get good service because no one could help you behind the counter or you were unhappy because you had to wait for someone with Micros (register) skills to assist you? Can you please contact me so we can discuss? I would love to address all issues.

My Assistant General Manager contacted you after we read your Marriott Survey and we look forward to connecting with you in the near future to find out what else we could have done, to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for your comments.

Katrece Raine
General Manager
Pleasant Hill Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I liked this Courtyard when I stayed here during a business trip in December 2010. This time my wife and I decided to spend a 10 day vacation here and ended up loving it. In the meantime the hotel was totally renovated - inside and out. It is now a perfect example for the new design that will most likely be applied to all Courtyard hotels. It may be a question of taste if you like the new bistro which is open to the reception area, but the rooms look nice with their tasteful colors and beautiful beds. Everything is exceptionally clean (as it should be after a recent renovation). The best experience during our long stay was the service. When we were unable to open the window in our room service personel showed us three other rooms on different floors and different sides of the hotel for us to choose where we preferred to stay. We choose one of the larger rooms with a balcony. Immediately they brought us a refrigerator and microwave which are not always included in the amenities. Just ask and they will accomodate you - friendliness included. We can wholeheartedly recommend this Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from freeway and street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKCP, General Manager at Courtyard Pleasant Hill, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond about our newly renovated hotel. Often times, people take time to discuss areas we can improve upon and seldom mention our highlights. I will share your comments with my entire staff...We are excited to see people love the new product.

Hope to see you back at our (YOUR) Courtyard by Marriott SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Hill
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pleasant Hill - Buskirk Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Pleasant Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pleasant Hill

Property: Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Address: 2250 Contra Costa Blvd, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523-3744
Location: United States > California > Pleasant Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pleasant Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pleasant Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience small-town charm when you stay at the Courtyard Pleasant Hill hotel. We're conveniently located near many Contra Costa County activities and we're only 27.6 miles from downtown San Francisco. Though Oakland, Berkeley and San Francisco are easily accessible via nearby 680 Freeway, you don't have to go far to find exciting attractions such as Six Flags Discovery Kingdom in Vallejo, Waterworld in Concord and Mount Diablo State Park. Our Pleasant Hill, CA hotel is also near the Mt. Diablo Medical Center. Back at our Courtyard hotel, you can relax in our indoor pool; soak in the whirlpool or workout in our fitness center. Escape the daily grind in your comfortable Pleasant Hill hotel room with luxurious Marriott bedding, coffee maker and tea service. Here for work? Business travelers will enjoy our large, well-lit desks, ergonomic chairs and complimentary high-speed internet access.Courtyard Refreshing Business Lobby and Guest rooms renovation scheduled for November 28, 2011 - February 14, 2012.Please come back and visit and experience a BRAND NEW STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Pleasant Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pleasant Hill Hotel Pleasant Hill
Pleasant Hill Marriott
Pleasant Hill Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing