We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Pasta Pomodoro - CLOSED

Pasta Pomodoro
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great food, awesome service and always clean and fresh. It is so nice at this place you go done and want to go back for more. The Manager so so nice and make your feel like home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DD19351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Killer Service, Delicious Italiano Cuisine & NOT Pricey!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have eaten at a vast array of Italian eateries (San Francisco, San Diego, New York, etc.), bu I constantly come back to Pasta Pomodoro (in Pleasant Hill) as they offer an array of dishes, they change heir menu up for certain occasions (Mother's Day, Valentine's Day ...), and they are always more than willing to accommodate certain food restrictions/needs (gluten-free, diabetes-friendly, etc.).

Let's NOT forget that the Economy still is NOT stellar so if you and friends are wanting a great Italian meal but don't want to fork out a lot of money, a restaurant with tremendous service, inviting ambiance and outgoing staff, Pasta Pomodoro IS a restaurant you MUST TRY!

Every location is different, but the locale in Pleasant Hill as both wonderful indoor & outdoor seating as well as lots of parking -- three handicap spots right next to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DecemberPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The food at Pasta Pomodoro was delicious. We had Fettucine della Casa and a Salad with a tender beef steak and blue cheese - both meals exceeded our expectations. Before our meal, we got bread with basil pesto for free - the pesto dip is one of a kind.

Sevice was excellent too.

I took one point off as the dining atmospher could have been better (AC was turned on way too high)

Other than that, i highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Chain Restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Pasta Pomodoro has been around for a long time, and has several locations around the bay area. I only recently started going there, as I am not usually a fan of chain restaurants. Not many have impressed until now.

The restaurant is clean, and very cute. They have nice patio seating as well, and is always packed for dinner, especially with the nice weather we have been experiencing.

I have always experienced very good service, however, Christina is exceptional, and you would think that it was her restaurant, as she really cares and pays attention to detail when taking care of guests. I hope that she is appreciated by the owner/management!

The food is consistently good, with the exception of their pizzas. I tried, but do not enjoy eating flimsy pizza....they do not cook it right, somehow, but I notice this at other establishments as well....

My favorite is the Pollo Griglia (grilled chicken breast). They serve it with farro (an ancient grain) and sautee with olive oil, tomatoes, and spinach. Very, very good! I order sides of farro because I have cravings for it!

The pastas are good, not average. The sauces are nice as well, and do not taste "americanized" as you would expect. I wouldn't say that this is the most authentic Italian food, but a lot better than say, Olive Garden or Sorrento's.

Check out their special menus. The spring menu is nice, especially the asparagus salad. One of my favs!!

I have tried a few of the desserts, but not very impressed. They say that the tiramisu is their signature dish, but to me, it was too sweet, and didn't taste authentic to traditional Italian. I tried another but didn't care for...just can't remember what it was...not memorable, obviously.

I have to mention their foccacia bread. OMG, it is awesome!!! If you do take out, make sure that you ask for bread, as sometimes they forget to give it to you....

I hope that this establishment continues to be successful, as I will continue to give them my business as long as they keep doing what they are doing. Grazi!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Filling!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've been a subscriber to the "High Carb Diet" for years, and this one didn't disappoint! Generous portions, freshly made pasta and sauces, and lots of choices! Plus homemade bread kept coming and was itself amazing. If you've got any room for dessert after all that, try the bread pudding - to die for! I waddled out with a big smile...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Pomodoro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing