We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for The Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of National 9 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
National 9 Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for The Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here one night while passing through Placerville. For $59 night this was by far the least expensive hotel we found on our 10 day road trip. It was refreshing to find an inexpensive place after paying $150 the night before. Yes it was very basic, but clean and functional. I have to say some of the most glowing reviews were written through rose colored glasses. Our rating of very good takes into consideration the cost. You just can't expect much for $59-$69 in Placerville; or really most anywhere in CA these days. We felt the value was excellent which is more than we can say for hotels we spent double the money on.
We would stay here again but one night would be enough. Its nice to give the pocketbook a break on a long trip so we were glad they provided that opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZRIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    45
    15
    1
    11
See reviews for
28
41
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting from England to see family. Although usually only used for very short breaks, we stayed for two weeks. Were surprised at the standard of the rooms. Very clean, great shower, good towels. The king sized bed really comfortable, all of the staff really helpful and very friendly. Free wi fi very welcome. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel as a base for visiting the area

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lynp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Called to cancel my reservation today and they were not going to provide me email confirmation that reservation was cancelled. "Kim" at the front desk said "are you kidding?" when I asked for a reservation confirmation for cancellation. She said I am too busy and I had to plead with her to send me a email when possible to stated it was cancelled. She was rude, snarky and just gave me a hard time. I am sure glad I decided t stay some where else, I travel to Placerville on business all the time and I will never stay there based on this experience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hankapookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Recently stayed here while attending an area function. Very comfortable quiet night sleep! Yes, rooms are very basic, but very clean!!! Wife and I stay at many very high end places and spend four times what these rooms go for. With the price of gasoline these days, saving money is a big deal to most. Staff are very accomodating and friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was the best possible version of a roadside motel. The room was spotless, the furniture was all new, and the towels were surprisingly substantial for a motel. Great water pressure in the shower. The bed was perfectly comfortable. The setting was quiet. The owner/manager was amazingly friendly, pleasant and helpful when we checked in.

We got way more than our money's worth. We've already decided that we will stay here again when we come back to Placerville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rednikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

National 9 in Placerville isn't the most luxurious place you can stay, but it's hard to beat the rate. The rooms are clean, though the mattress in our room was a bit saggy. The linens were clean and the room was made up every day. Our room also had a mini refrigerator and small microwave. The bathroom was small and lacked the typical motel amenities of shampoo, rinse and hand lotion, but then those things weren't missed. The motel is smoke free and that's a big plus in our book. The question is--would we stay there again? A definite yes!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We are from The Netherlands, and we stayed in this hotel for several times already .
Somethimes with my family, and somethimes with our friends.
The owners are very friendly.
The rooms are clean and fully equipped.
And the prices are very favorable, and we hope every year to come back to this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
1.6 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
0.9 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#5 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
2.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn

Property: National 9 Inn
Address: 1500 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Story Stucco Building. Located in the heart of Apple Hill. Rooms come equipped with Microwaves, REfrigerators,CoffeeMakers, Alarm Clocks,HairDryers, Irons/IroningBoards. Continental Breakfast Served in the office. Full Cable Tv with HBO. All rooms are air conditioned. Free Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your National 9 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Placerville
National 9 Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing