We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GlenMorey Country House
Ranked #3 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stumbled upon Glen Morey Country House as a last minute decision to stay in Placerville recently. I did not want to stay in a hotel and needed to be close to downtown.
They had a room available and I am so lucky that they did!
The place and grounds are gorgeous, so quiet and really quite roomy and private for a Bed and Breakfast. All rooms were full but I did not feel cramped or crowded by the other guests.
My room was darling and spotless. I am sure I had the best bathroom with the claw foot tub at the place.
The owners, Tom and Alison, are so charming and forthcoming with anything you need. Tom made the finest breakfasts every morning for a crowded house or just me. The Apple Pecan French Toast is the finest in all the land.
I had an extended stay as that week my daughter was due with her first child and I wanted to be close by (walking distance from her home!).
It was awesome to get back to my room each eve after a busy day with my daughter.
I would recommend this place to everyone I know.
The best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagabondgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2010

...even for a lonesome traveller from old europe. The tip for the Sequoia restaurant (made by Tom, the host) was great (best dinner during my travel). Yes, the house is old, but exactly that is charming.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank der_eisvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first time on our first mini break together. I have some roots in the Gold Country, and I wanted to share it with my boyfriend. I picked Glen Morey because it was such a great value (even for the off season), and because I loved what I saw on the website. (My partner is from the UK, and I knew He'd love the Scottish roots.)

It was spot on! Glen Morey was exactly what I hoped for! An amazing historic house, with antiques, and friendly service, and a lovely breakfast. Tom and Allison where very hospitable and personable. Really great people. I would recommend Glen Morey to my friends and family.(In fact, I have!) We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CmHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The GlenMorey House is a terrific place. My husband, and another couple stayed there (thankfully) for the Placerville Art and Wine show. We were lucky enough to get a Saturday night stay, thanks Allison! It is just a short walk to Main Street Placerville where the art and wine show takes place every year. Tom made the best scrambled eggs I think I have ever had and the apple, pecan french toast was delicious as well. The only minor complaint I have was the squeeky bed! We stayed in the St Andrews room and it was very nice and homey, I loved the bathtub. What a terrific find! We had a great time, wish we could have stayed longer. Hopefully (fingers crossed) we will be able to stay there again next year. Thanks again Allison and Tom!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildflower5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband I wanted a quiet place to stay where we could relax and be catered to. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this B&B was. The owners are gracious, the home is beautiful and the breakfast was unreal!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is truly a gem and a must stay. Tom and Allison are great host. The Glenmorey is a beautiful building and charming get away for romance or time with the family. Each room is unique and the house location is terrific. It is on a hill overlooking downtown Placerville. The breakfast was terrific. Thank you for a wonderful stay! I am already recommending your bed and breakfast to many friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristiherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed in the St. Andrews room. Very lovely room. I recommand they update the mattress. I have a back issue, and this mattress is very uncomfortable. Every time you move the springs are so loud it wakes you up. I think updating the mattress is going to make a pleasant stay for all the guests. The breakfast and everything else was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janniemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
0.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
6.2 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
269 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 2 in Pollock Pines
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coloma Spring Suites
Coloma Spring Suites
#1 of 1 in Placerville
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GlenMorey Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GlenMorey Country House

Address: 801 Morey Dr, Placerville, CA 95667-4411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range: $151 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GlenMorey Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm Scottish hospitality in the historic Henry S. Morey house, built in 1859. It is a gracious, rambling, one-story estate surrounded by 2 acres of wooded glen. Comfortably furnished and decorated with Scottish antiques, GlenMorey House provides a quiet, relaxing retreat for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your GlenMorey Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing