We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GlenMorey Country House
Ranked #3 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Northridge
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice quiet evening”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had the house all to ourselves for the 1st night of our 20th Anniversary long weekend. The house is close to downtown and we had a pleasant walk in the cool crisp fall air to dinner. The room was cozy and the shower was nice & hot! My husband was thrilled there was internet. All a great way to start our next day. Tom gave us directions to the Apple Hill area were we found lovely scenary & many apple treats. His youngest daughter Charlotte was our breakfast hostess for a bit and she did a lovely job :) Iwould recommend this B&B to coupes and families looking for a comfortable, cozy place to stay in the Placerville area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tervfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

GlenMorey is a fantastic B&B...the St. Andrews room is wonderful -- comfortable, clean, furnished tastefully. Very tasty breakfast and the innkeeper Tom is a delightful host...friendly without being intrusive and knowledgeable and down to earth. We loved playing with their puppy Lucas and enjoyed relaxing on the porch. The inn is within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants on Main St. in Placerville and an easy drive to Apple Hill farms. All in all a wonderful weekend thanks to Tom and his graciousness and outstanding and charming inn.

Room Tip: Don't miss the caramel apple french toast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A wee bit of Scotland can be found in Placerville at the GlenMorey House. Our hosts made us feel right at home with fresh brownies upon our arrival. The House is just a short walk across the skybridge to old Placerville. We were sent off each morning after a delightful breakfast and welcomed back each evening with warm brownies. This was our second stay at the GlenMorey and hope to make it back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed both times in the Edinburgh room. The bath has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnneBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Above the city of Placerville, a country getaway. Even though we were very late the first night, our host was very warm and welcoming. Our room and bed were of the utmost quiet and comfort. The grounds are lovely. If you have a special diet need, make sure they get your requests in time for your visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJsJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I very much enjoyed the charming accomodations, and warmth of our hosts. The gourmet breakfast was a treat. We were the only guests this weeknight, and it was a nice tranquil get away.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jfisher2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Just returned from a getaway.Innkeepers very kind,had warm cookies waiting for us.Very comfy bed in Edinburough room. Nice and quiet but a quick 5 minute walk to downtown.Fabulous breakfast of eggs Benedict with sides.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This B&B is an absolute gem! To begin with, it's amazing to find a B&B that welcomes children with so much grace and warmth. The hosts made our 3yr old feel right at home, and he's still talking about "visiting my new friends" again sometime. One of the features that makes this B&B so family friendly is that none of the rooms share a common wall, so we weren't as worried about disturbing anyone when our little guy woke up at 6am.

Our room had a large bed plus a twin bed with a trundle, and was very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing - apple french toast, eggs, sausage, and fresh fruit. Tea and cookies were always out, and the common room was a very comfortable place to spend the evening playing Chutes and Ladders as a family.

It's not just a family B&B, though - there was a young couple enjoying a romantic weekend who said it was an absolutely perfect place for their stay as well. The decor and feel of it doesn't scream "family", it's just little things that make it kid-friendly.

Placerville has a very charming main street with a lot of interesting shops and restaurants. A couple of the restaurants were very busy when we went out and we were unable to get in, so you may want to make your dinner plans in advance and call for reservations. There's a nice playground in town, which was helpful for burning off some preschooler energy.

We really loved staying at Glen Morey Country House, and we're already making plans for a future visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccturandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
0.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
2.5 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
83 reviews
1.7 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
116 reviews
7.3 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GlenMorey Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GlenMorey Country House

Property: GlenMorey Country House
Address: 801 Morey Dr, Placerville, CA 95667-4411
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GlenMorey Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm Scottish hospitality in the historic Henry S. Morey house, built in 1859. It is a gracious, rambling, one-story estate surrounded by 2 acres of wooded glen. Comfortably furnished and decorated with Scottish antiques, GlenMorey House provides a quiet, relaxing retreat for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your GlenMorey Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing