We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than Apples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boa Vista Orchards

Boa Vista Orchards
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
El Dorado Wine Country Tour from South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Every Day in Beautiful Apple Hill, We Pride Ourselves on Welcoming Visitors and Locals Alike with Fresh Offerings, Friendly Faces, and Gorgeous Views!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More Than Apples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

By far the largest apple "stand" in the area, it also has many other items including fresh produce, olives, pickles, jams, curries, spreads, pears, etc. And don't forget the apple and other fruit pies. We went on a Monday as we were advised that it is so crowded that parking is a real issue. But a weekday was perfect. One of favorite apples is the Arkansas Black, so we bought 1/2 bushel and shared with our neighbors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    71
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Buy your Apple Hill apples here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Boa Vista is one of the many farms that is part of Apple Hill. I would say Boa Vista is the second most popular farm at Apple Hill behind High Hill Ranch.

Having said that though they are very organized. If you go during busy season (October) they do a very good job with moving traffic and getting cars parked and out of the way. There always seems to be parking available somewhere. Just a word of caution though - and this goes for all Apple Hill farms - it can be difficult for disabled people to get around.

Boa Vista is open year-round! Keep that in mind if you have an early summer craving for some apple cider.

Boa Vista has the biggest selection and best prices on apples (my opinion - in Apple Hill). You can also come here for jams, jellies, syrups, cider, apple butter, pumpkin butter, apple wine, pies, donuts, pumpkins, and more.

Check in the back, they do have free wine tasting too!

The best thing about this farm is they give free samples of all the apples so try before you buy!
I highly recommend trying the Arkansas Black apples. It's a late season apple, and my favorite.

Dogs are not allowed inside the food sales area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Head to the Hills for Pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

we finally have been able to start travelling again and enjoyed driving up into the foothills to visit the various orchards of apple hill. We went on Friday 11 October in the morning. Beautiful day and oh my what delicious pie. we sampled a bit of everything apple *fritters, candy apples, cider turnovers* and drove around the roads to get a feel for the area and enjoy the scenery. Not very crowded until later on in the day, but recommend coming up on the week day as we were advised that the weekends it is very crowded. Very family friendly. But of course we brought home some pies for our friends at work and for ourselves to savor the memory of a great day out. will be going back with other friends and family who have been there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Undie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Apples, apples, apples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located just off of I-80 east of Placerville, Apple Hill is a fun place to visit. Visiting in October the apple harvest was at it's peak. All along the trail are different shops selling all varieties of apples and apple products. Visiting on a weekday was just a little crowded so I expect a weekend would be crazy. Along the way I bought apples (varieties that I had never had), apple cider, apple doughnuts, and apple caramel fudge. Parking was easy at all the stands. Be sure to pick up a brochure/map of the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Almost as Many People as Apples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wow! This place was packed with people. Waited in line to get parked. Long walks to and from car, no help for handicapped that were with us. Lines greeted us at every turn. Finally decided to bag it and go down the road and taste wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rmberg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boa Vista Orchards also viewed

 

Been to Boa Vista Orchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing