We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Dinner Ever”
Review of The Independent

The Independent
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving American Fusion Cuisine
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dinner Ever”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The fried chicken was excellent and the caramel bread pudding was amazing. We had great service and patio dining. There was nothing we didn't like and we are very particular diners. We highly recommend eating here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntilyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    60
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I liked the food and service. The bartender was very friendly and the beer was tasty and cold. I had a black angus burger with a caesar salad on the side. The food was very good...The staff was very friendly and the locals were nice and friendly....Can't say anything else about this place. Just enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LocustTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GREAT Drinks & Atmosphere - Food is a mixed bag”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beware that portion sizes/quality vary. My bf had a salmon dish that was a bit dry and served over a salad, not much food and the quality was only so-so. Luckily, I ordered the roasted chicken with seasonal veggies, which was a HALF a chicken, so I had more than enough to share, and my dish was perfect. The real strength of this place is in the specialty cocktails. They make everything fresh, with real fruits and herbs. I tried a cucumber one and something fruity, both were fantastic. Great atmosphere for sure (we sat in the outside patio), and yes, the atmosphere is factored into the prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlainJaneDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service and great food!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When our dinner reaervation was messed up, we were instantly offered a round of drinks at a nice bar table. The manager checked on us frequently, and we ended up at a lovely patio table. The plantings and fountains really make the patio feel a long way from the street and parking lot. So, service and ambiance aside, the food is terriffic. Turnip fries and baked garlic for starters, then we enjoyed ahi, ribs, prime rib, and a custom burger. Speed and attentiveness of service was just right.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Souprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A local's favorite”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The turnip fries and the calamari are exceptional. The ambivalence has a pub feel, with nice outdoor seating in an enclosed patio. Lunch is burgers and bar type menu and dinner adds more variety. The chef focuses on the ingredients with an eclectic mix of specials. Service is good and one of the owners is often on the floor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Independent also viewed

Placerville, CA
 
Placerville, CA
 

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing