We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting...”
Review of Taste of Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of Thai
Ranked #35 of 121 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Placerville, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting...”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

and great food. We've been twice lately and have tried a couple of different curries and my favorite pad thai with glass noodles. The food is wonderful, the service good and it's a delightful dining atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good Thai option in town”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I always go with a curry and this time I went with the massaman, which is generally my favorite. The dish here stuck with its traditional roots – carrot, potato, peanuts and onion – and the sauce was just as sweet and tasty as any Thai restaurant. The decor was even pretty on-par with Thailand, hosting dark, rich tables and carved characters. My husband was satisfied with his dish, too, even though it hosted some odd non-Thai veggies, such as pickles. Weird. Still, this is a good place to get my Thai fix in Placerville.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“" It's a taste but it's Not Thai"”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Bad Food, Not Thai just bad. And that's all I have to say about that.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FireGod2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good selection of dishes, friendly servers, somewhat expensive, food okay”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My spouse and I went for a late lunch/early dinner, and there were very few other diners. The owner sat us down and gave us menus for our perusal. We were too late for the lunch menu, but the prices were mostly the same as the dinner menu, and offered only a few different items. We ordered a Jasmine tea and a Singha beer, Fresh spring rolls for appetizer and Pad Thai and Lemon Grass chicken for dishes to share with an order of white rice. The rolls had fresh lettuce and carrots with a piece of tofu, and the dipping sauce was very mild and not much taste to it. Somewhat disappointing. The Pad Thai was cooked well, the noodles tasted good, but there was really no peanut taste to it, and I have had better Pad Thais. The last dish was the Chicken with a thick peanut sauce over sliced pieces of breast chicken, cauliflower, broccoli, carrot slivers, and a wilted piece of lettuce. The sauce was very good, not too heavy, the chicken was cooked well, and the veggies were not overcooked. Overall, we were disappointed in the dishes we tried, and as the Pad Thai is our traditional dish to try in all new Thai restaurants as our rating scale, we felt that this restaurant is a bit expensive for the quality.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty Thai Food”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

On a recent trip to Placerville, our friends suggested we eat at Taste of Thai one evening. The restaurant is nicely decorated and the tables are not jammed in on top of each other. We began with the Po Pia Sod, the fresh spring rolls. A good start. We also had one of the chef's specials, lamb in a tasty sauce with crisply fried basil leaves. This was an incredible dish. We also shared Gaeng Ped, chicken in a red curry sauce with pineapple and eggplants, a spicy and savory dish. We also for the ubiquitous Pad Thai noodles. We enjoyed all the dishes and found the service prompt and friendly. Taste of Thai is good addition to Placerville's every growing list of restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing