We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprisingly decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Trail Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Placerville B&B and Inns
Quincy, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Look, if you are looking for a place with 2-4 stars, keep looking. But, if you are looking for a place to sleep and then move on, this is it! I found that the reviews are accurate for the Gold Trail Motor Lodge/Motel in Placerville, California. The place has been recently redone. My only complaint was that the knobs on the air conditioner were broken and I had to compensate and figure out how to "fix" the knobs. No big deal. The owners/managers are accomadating and friendly. They had an onsite person that made sure that you have everything that you need. If you want a Best Western experience, go to the Best Western in Placerville. This place is a lot like the motor lodge that my wife and I stayed in San Francisco. The rooms are small, much like the original motor lodges/motels. BUT, it's clean, quiet and a short distance to the downtown area. For the price of $47 plus tax, it's all I needed. There's a pool next door @ the other motel that's the sister motel. The pool looked clean and inviting, but I didn't try it. There's a microwave and refrigerator in the room and a queen bed. Enough room for me to settle in for the evening and have a good nights rest.

Room Tip: The manager/owner gives you a good room....Just go with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LocustTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice stop from Bay Area to Tahoe. Leaving on a Friday night from Bay area to Placerville we hit a lot of traffic. It was nice to end up here and then go to Tahoe Saturday morning. Room was nice and clean, a great value, owner is very nice and accommodating. Son left his pillow and room, I called owner and he held the pillow for us. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We like staying here when visiting Apple Hill-gives us a head start before the crowds show up. It's nice & clean, nothing fancy, but a real good value. It was nice & quite too. Would visit again next visit to Apple Hill this fall.

Room Tip: It is located at the very far east end of Placerville-just about the time you think there's noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a Nice, clean, friendly and convenient place to stay and the price is low low low $ but its worth $$$

Room Tip: Just call the owner is on site and will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FireGod2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
0.1 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#5 of 5 in Placerville
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Trail Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Trail Motor Lodge

Property: Gold Trail Motor Lodge
Address: 1970 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Trail Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gold Trail Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing