We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Little Taqueria”
Review of Taqueria Carnival

Taqueria Carnival
Ranked #24 of 121 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Placerville, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Best Little Taqueria”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very clean, always friendly, and frequented regularly. Tacos may be their specialty, but the menu includes large plate meals. The salsa bar and tortilla chips are complimentary with your purchase and offers a wonderful array of different types of salsas and toppings for tacos or chips. The super soft taco with grilled chicken is our healthy favorite.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4everjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, friendly staff!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Opens early for breakfast. Food always good! Great salsa bar with lots of extras.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“HIT or miss!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was OK until my hubby got food poisoning and now we wont be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dannirose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Food and Service”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A group of my friends joined me for my birthday at this establishment. We were given the royal treatment, including a fabulous free dessert (for me)! Another friend brought a homemade cake (later) and the waitstaff graciously offered us plates, etc. to use though she had brought some. They didn't mind that we spent several hours there; we felt no pressure to leave. Not only was the food good and reasonably priced, but the staff was very friendly and as I said, very accommodating. Thanks for making my special day a day to remember!

By the way, I made a reservation because of the abnormal size of our group but I don't believe reservations are the norm. Also, although I wouldn't categorize the view as "scenic", the indoor is clean and well decorated and the outdoor patio has a nice fountain.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OvertheRainbow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
previse
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in Placerville”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Taqueria Carnival is a busy, popular place. This is bare-bones menu-on-the-wall, no frills self-service eating. The prices are reasonable and service is quick. For the uninitiated, such as myself, many of the menu options are unfamiliar which makes the ordering process confusing. When it arrives at your table, the food might come as something of a surprise.

Although outdoor seating is available, this is a noisy, hectic restaurant. It’s not a relaxing place to eat, but if you want reasonably priced authentic Mexican food in a hurry, Taqueria Carnival might be just your spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Carnival also viewed

Placerville, CA
 

Been to Taqueria Carnival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing