We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise in Placerville”
Review of Amerikan Ichi

Amerikan Ichi
Ranked #20 of 122 Restaurants in Placerville
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise in Placerville”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had a delicious Japanese sushi dinner last night here. I ordered my usual hamachi nigiri, some unagi and spicy tuna roll as well as an octopus seaweed salad. The portions are large ; I could barely finish it all. Very Very high quality hamachi. Loved it.
While I did not have the appetite for the all-you-can-eat dinner, it is something I will return to next time. Clearly as we left, the lines out the door indicated a strong following of Amerikan Ichi fans.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nnovak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived in Placerville, CA, very late in the evening - and were lucky to find a place that was open: Amerikan Ichi was; and it was great! Though they were about to close, staff and chef were extremely friendly and we ordered our dinner from the menu. We were a bit sad, we couldn't do the buffet, but then, again, it was late and the buffet had already been cleaned out. So, we'll have to come back. :D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had some friends take us there. The sushi was amazing and a good value for the all you can eat. Wow!! The wait staff was also excellent. This place is a hidden gem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryannelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
“We Keep Going Back”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not too many great restaurants up here in Placerville, so it was an amazing surprise to find a first-rate sushi restaurant tucked away in a little street mall on Broadway. We've rarely gone there when we don't have to wait for a table (well worth it), and like us, Amerikan Ichi's loyal fans keep coming back.

Friendly, cheerful service, incredibly fresh sushi, huge portions of tempura and lots of camaraderie amont the patrons!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“AWESOME SUSHI!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

OK... This is such a great sushi bar... really fresh, great quality and the BEST staff ever!!! Most of the time, we have to wait for a table ( but hey...great sushi is worth waiting for !!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FanaticTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amerikan Ichi also viewed

 

Been to Amerikan Ichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing