We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time I ate at Heyday, potatoe salad was room temp.”
Review of Heyday Cafe

Heyday Cafe
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last time I ate at Heyday, potatoe salad was room temp.”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The date of my visit was Jan/Feb on a Saturday afternoon. I ate a few bites of the potatoe salad and informed the waitress that it was not cold. She was not concerned whatsoever and did not try to fix the situation. I did experience gastric distress. I will not eat there again.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gerald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    77
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Small Restaurant / bar atmosphere”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Heyday is a frequent lunch and dinner choice whenever I am entertaining clients or to have dinner with friends. Ben and the staff are casual, comfortable and inviting. The local wine selection and specials are always an added treat. The food selection is varied and almost always very very good. The atmosphere is small, social, eclectic and comfortable....

Helpful?
Thank Jimryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service & excellent food!”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our family of four found this gem on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. Reese, our server, was friendly, knowledgable about the food, and attentive. The restaurant was clean, cozy and had that distinctive mountain-town atmosphere. Don't miss the unbelievable Red Pepper Bisque or the delicious Thin Crust Pizza! Heyday far exceeded my expectations, which were high after reading the TA reviews. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esharar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Tiny gem well worth searching out”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

On a bustling Placerville street nestled among dozens of antique shops is a wine bar with exquisite homemade soups, sandwiches and salads that never fails to delight. If it's crowded you might need to sit at the bar, but you'll enjoy the same high quality service no matter what. If it's in season, snag a bowl of gazpacho.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kcdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This little Cafe was right across the road from my hotel in Placerville and it had a small but varied menu. The food was very well presented and delicious and the service exceptional.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heyday Cafe also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Heyday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing