We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of Heyday Cafe

Heyday Cafe
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This little Cafe was right across the road from my hotel in Placerville and it had a small but varied menu. The food was very well presented and delicious and the service exceptional.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    77
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The food was diverse, the atmosphere very friendly, and was walkable from our B/B.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank worthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had lovely service here but the food was just okay. My turkey/stuffing/cranberry panini had melted cheese on it, which was just strange. The gazpacho had a great flavor but they needed to strain it better. And my son's pizza was a little to oily but I would LOVE to know the secret behind their pizza crust. It was an okay experience but the food was underwhelming. I might give them another shot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deemariebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Farm-to-Table Eatery in Placerville”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Who knew Placerville had such good eateries?! While my experiences with the Placerville dining scene were limited, my date had been to Heyday before and had nothing but amazing things to say about it. After a day of wine tasting, we decided to head over for dinner and grab a couple of salads before perusing the main street. The food is super fresh, the service was spot-on and the location is quaint and inviting. It's rare that something as simple as a salad stands out as being pretty incredible, but you can definitely tell that everything is uber-fresh and the menu seems well thought out. Definitely a must-try if you're roaming around in Placerville! :)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lavidashannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude waiters, slow service, condescending manager.”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I went to this restaurant last Tuesday in celebration of our second anniversary and due to the nature of the service we were given (or burdened with), my wife left entirely upset and offended. The service was terrible and when my wife went to complain, the manager "Big Ben" dismissed her feedback as uncreditable and ignored her concerns entirely. We actually used these reviews to gauge our choice on dining in Placerville, and I must say we were completely misguided. Avoid this restaurant unless you are starving and have no interest in enjoying your food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank impala237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heyday Cafe also viewed

 
Placerville, CA
 

Been to Heyday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing