We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden Vale Inn - Hidden Treasure in Placersville, CA”
Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

The property is amazing. Innkeepers friendly and fab. Couldn't believe it used to be a barn, amazing renovation. The rooms are very spalike, modern, much better than average B&B, and are wired for easy on/off of everything you can think of. Would wake up and touch the button for fireplace, hit the read-in-bed spotlight, wander the gardens, sit by the pond or in hammock w/a good book. Gem of a property and would highly recommend. Off the beaten track but we liked that too. Just what the doctor ordered to unwind. It was a weekend of pure relaxation, and area has some great vineyards for wine tasting, hiking, national park in Coloma to get your history on the Gold Rush. We could have spent a week and it still wouldn't have been enough, especially of Eden Vale.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 271 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

We had an impromptu weekend at the Eden Vale Inn in Placerville. It was wonderful due to the tranquil environment as well as the gracious hosts Mark and Gayle. They are attentive yet not intrusive. We were playing scrabble in low light and Gayle offered to turn the switch to give us more light. Mark recommended many beautiful sights with special views for us to go to in the area, which led to very memorable days.
The peaceful location with nature around us and an attractive comfortable room, was sheer perfection. We especially enjoyed sitting on a double swing watching birds eat from a bird feeder while gazing upon a pond below the hill.
The breakfasts were well rounded and delicious.
We hope to return soon and re-live the serene feelings that the Eden Vale has given us.
This is a very special place with very special people.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Life44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I decided to take a much needed last minute getaway while the kids were out of town for a few days. The pictures on the website of Eden Vale are really what sold me, but when we arrived, it was so much more!!! We were shown around and invited to walk the beautiful grounds along with a visit to the pond. I truly can't say enough about this place. We have stayed at many B&B's, but this one by far, is on the top of our list. The breakfast was spectacular, and the Innkeepers are so very welcoming. We are already planning another trip here in the spring with another couple! You guys do an awesome job!!! Just amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awest28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We have been fans of B&Bs for 25 years or more. We have all the books like "Fifty most romantic B&Bs…" We have tried as many as possible. This one is the best. We've been there once. We will be back.
It takes several days for the full charm of Eden Vale to sink in. As you look around you begin to notice the care and skill with which Mark and Gayle have assembled a home of great beauty, resurrected from an old barn and ancient and modern materials. Gayle's collections of art and objects of interest from around the world fascinate the beholder and add vibrance and warmth.
Warmth and charm do not come without comfort in this case. The Inn has every modern convenience. The rooms are ample, especially for a B&B, and have all the high-tech touches, from self-setting romantic mood lightning to remote control fireplaces. The furnishings are modern but have character, and the bed was comfortable.
The property is as beautiful as the home with panoramic river views from the back, and its own pond. The grounds have a rare combination of nature and order and bring out the best of the countryside.
The breakfasts are the best we have had, and the breakfast setting is extraordinary with warm sunlight and an option to eat on the enclosed porch or in the dining area. Because the breakfasts are so varied (we stayed four nights) we can't describe a particular style or cuisine but can only say all were excellent.
Multiple wood burning fireplaces in the living areas add to the ambiance. Of course there are the soaking tubs, spa treatments and all the other amenities, but just being there is enough.
Kristen and Christine are helpful and attentive, and the permanent residents, Mr. Bushwack the cat and Pepper the dog, now B&B veterans, know just how much attention to give you and when to leave you alone. If you love pets you will enjoy them both. If you don't, they won't bother you. They know.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouieDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We rented the place to celebrate my best' friend's 45th birthday. The owners are amazing; kind, attentive, accommodating and unobtrusive. We had a wonderful stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the common areas, both indoor ad out, are inviting and warm. The surrounding area is gorgeous as well. Cannot wait to return !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We arrived at Eden Vale Inn a day before Thanksgiving with the expectation to find a nice bed and breakfast. It had certainly been by far the nicest thing we had seen on the website for Placerville. I had also talked to Gale on the phone and could tell they were wonderful people. But once we got there everything exceeded our expectation. Not only are the house, the gardens and the rooms absolutely beautiful, Gale, Mark and Kirsten make you feel right at home. Every morning you are greeted with a wonderful breakfast of fresh, home-made, delicious food that you can eat in a room surrounded by beautiful trees and bathed in sun light.
Perhaps the best part of the Inn is that each room has a private entrance. One of the reasons we sometimes avoid staying at bed and breakfast places is that you don't have that much privacy, but Eden Vale has been designed to allow guests their full privacy.
We had our 3-year old with us, and Gale, Mark and Kirsten made him feel right at home too. He cried when we left, saying he wanted to stay at the "brown house". We did not want to leave either!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todosnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

There are not words to describe the beauty and serenity of the Eden Vale Inn. My (now) fiancé and I were fortunate to make our first trip to the Eden Vale for Labor Day weekend 2009. From the second we arrived we were instantaneously impressed. At first sight the beautiful exterior of what once was a barn captivates your interest and the rest of the property leaves you ready to explore. We were greeted by Mr. Bushwhacker (the house kitty) and Pepper (the porch dog) who just simply add to the quaint splendor of this bed and breakfast. Kristen welcomed us at the front door with warmth and excitement to show us around the property. We made our reservation for the Juniper room, where Kristen demonstrated how to use the lighting, electronics and outside private Japanese soaking tub. The time and effort that has gone into designing every detail of the rooms is clearly evident and absolutely remarkable. As Kristen left us in our room my fiancé commented on the excellence of the Eden Vale Inn suggesting that “it immediately far surpassed any of the bed and breakfasts we have stayed at in the past.”
We stayed at the Eden Vale for two nights and had actually come to Placerville to help my family around their home, on the first evening, after a long day of working we retired to the Eden Vale…little did I know it would be one of the most memorable evenings of our relationship. My fiancé suggested that we take the row boat out onto the pond on the property and enjoy the serenity of the surroundings. It was a full moon without a cloud in sight and the only thing that could be heard was the beautiful sounds of nature. We rowed out to the middle of the water, the moon was so bright and the water was so still that all we could see was the reflection of the mountains motionless in the water; every once and a while you could hear a fish jump and splash into the water and the enchanting sound of crickets. If we closed our eyes we could smell the distinct smell of the natural world and lake fish. After we sat out on the water taking in the beauty surrounding us, my fiancé opened a (lighted) ring box and asked me to marry him. We celebrated the rest of the evening with delicious wine, a relaxing soak in the Japanese soaking tub, and finally a few hours looking at the picturesque moon in the outdoor hammock for two.
There are so many wonderful things that can be said about the Eden Vale Inn…from the friendliness of the staff, the attention to detail in each room, the delectable breakfasts that they serve, to the peaceful beauty of the surroundings. We absolutely love this Bed and Breakfast, and would not stay anywhere else…As a matter of fact we are looking forward to spending three days there later this week. So, for those of you looking for a place to stay…nothing compares to the Eden Vale Inn and, to the Eden Vale…Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
277 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
12 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
88 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
181 reviews
15.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Address: 1780 Springvale Rd, Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range: $254 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Vale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville
Eden Vale Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing