We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People and Dog Friendly: Good Destination from Bay Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“People and Dog Friendly: Good Destination from Bay Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner, our dog, and I stayed at the Eden Vale Inn for two nights in December. We chose this accommodation through research on the Internet as well as through the positive recommendations of other travelers on tripadvisor. We were looking for a getaway that was close enough to home to make two nights away worth the drive but far enough away to feel like we were on vacation: Eden Vale turned out to be the perfect place for us!

Before Arrival: Per the informative website, we called to check on dog friendly rooms. Although there were not any of these rooms technically available, Gayle was able to accommodate us after hearing a bit about our pup. She also told us about a special for massages if we booked in advance, to which we happily took advantage (and would recommend). We promptly received emails with information about the inn, restaurants, and directions. The day of our arrival we received an email asking about arrival time and we received a response to a question we had within minutes.

Arrival: The directions to the accommodation were easy to follow. We were greeted promptly by Gayle as we pulled up and were shown some of the common areas. We were then brought to our room.

The Room, Madrone: We were very happy that we chose Madrone, although I am sure we would have been happy in any room. Because our only goal was to relax and we didn't have any plans to actually leave except for food and walks around the property, it was important to us that the space felt roomy. There was a couch area and two chairs by the fireplace and of course there was the bed. We used all three spaces throughout our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable. My partner, who usually is not comfortable in even the most expensive hotel beds, had a wonderful sleep both nights. There was enough space to put our dog's crate (she's only 7 pounds so it's small) next to the desk along with her water and food bowls. Attached to the room was an ample kitchenette area shared with one other room (Gray Pine) stocked with water as well as different teas and hot cocoa. This is also where our coffee was left in the morning. The room overall was very well appointed; there is a sophisticated system that allows you to control the fireplace, lights, and outside tub (which we used twice and thoroughly enjoyed).

Breakfast: Eden Vale was very accommodating of our dietary needs--one vegetarian who is allergic to mushrooms and one person who is lactose intolerant. Our restrictions were noted and we were both served wonderful breakfasts for the two mornings we were there.

The Grounds: I took the dog for multiple walks around the grounds and there were many areas to stop and just enjoy the view. My favorite place to sit was a swing where we sat for a good hour before we hit the road to head back home.

I would recommend the Eden Vale Inn without reservation--we usually don't repeat B & Bs but are already planning to go back in the new year!

Room Tip: Call if you want to learn specifics about any room--the owners are very responsive and will lead you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We enjoyed having you as our guests and that Eden Vale was the perfect place for a little vacation. Give "Bean Sprout" your little dog, a little love from us. Cute as punch. We're glad you so enjoyed your stay, and plan to return, even though you "usually don't repeat B&B's." We're honored. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owners and Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Placerville, CA The San Francisco Bay Area's most romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
192
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast will be the highlight of your trip... The warmth of the surroundings and hosts that treat you like family will make you not want to leave... You're in for a real treat when you stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Ken and Debra, We're glad you so enjoyed your visit to Eden Vale Inn near Placerville. I know it was a long trip coming all the way from Florida. We hope the accommodations that we recommended, the Blue Butterfly in El Portal just outside Yosemite worked out well for you too. Thanks for the excellent review. All the best, Mark, Owner/Innkeeper, Eden Vale Inn Northern California's most romantic inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a wonderful and exceptional place to stay. The outdoor private bath for two was like nothing we've experienced before - fabulous. The bed and shower are perfect. Lots of nice touches like a selection of daily papers, a great fire pit with s-mores makings, a library of videos , a fridge full of non-alcoholic beverages- all free. The innkeepers are nice and very helpful and extremely good at inn keeping. And they are as romantic as their inn-I caught them kissing in kitchen. We made friends with our neighbors at the end who turned out to be our neighbors in real life- they live half a block from us! This inn is on the pricey side for our budget, but well worth it. It is also near a lot of great places-fruit farms, wineries, quaint small towns, historical museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Maggie, We're glad you so enjoyed your trip to Eden Vale and meet some new friends. Let me mention that the LIve Oak room is our smallest room and we plan to expand it in 2014, maybe then it will rate a 5. Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write such a nice and heart felt review. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's Best Romantic Getaway, Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Mark and Gayle called us the night before we were scheduled to arrive to check on our plans for our trip to Placerville. They advised us that a snowstorm was coming and wanted to make sure we were prepared. No other host of a B & B or hotel has ever taken the time and trouble to check beforehand on people they had never met. The minute we walked into Eden Vale, we were made to feel at home and at ease. Our room was fabulous - warm and toasty. A special meal was prepared because of dietary restrictions that one of us has. Our stay with Mark and Gayle was the best experience we have had at any bed and breakfast anywhere in the United States.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Cameron, We're glad you found our service exceptional. We really were worried about our guests and the snow. Fortunately the low snow stayed mostly above us here at 1,100' and you were able to cut your Christmas tree at your favorite tree farm in Apple Hill. We look forward to seeing you again when the spring flowers are blooming. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's Most Romantic Getaway, Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

What can I say, beyond the many wonderful things that others have already posted here, except to say that it is all true, and this place is the real deal. Mark and Gayle are attentive, pleasant, highly detail-oriented innkeepers who truly love making sure that this is the best B&B experience that you will ever have had. Their taste and passion pervades this lovely property. I have nothing against Grandma's antiques, but I have been to enough of those B&Bs; this one is designed for the discriminating (snooty?) tastes of Northern Californian cognoscenti. Visit them sometime this winter, when you can enjoy s'mores by the firepit or even an outdoor bath on your own private deck (personally, I can't think of anything better than crisp winter air on my face while soaking in a steaming bath!). I also recommend the massages. While Mark and Gayle give you very little reason to leave the property during your stay, they are nicely situated so as to be a base to explore nearby Gold Rush sites, hiking trails, farms, and country diners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerchner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Geoffrey found a way to say more than said before about Eden Vale Inn, Placerville. Cognoscenti, now I had to look that one up. Cognoscenti are "people with informed appreciation of a particular field, esp in the fine arts; connoisseurs." Thanks for the visit, compliment and thoughtful review. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's Most Romantic Inn, Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Eden Vale was a special gem we researched and found in the hills of Placerville. We stayed here after white water rafting, and it was the perfect place to relax after a long day of physical activities. It is obvious by the upkeep of the property that the innkeeper has spent a lot of time perfecting every detail of the perfect bed and breakfast package. It is a bit on the pricey side, but worth every penny. This was my first bed and breakfast because I'm a bit uncomfortable with some locations and I'm glad this was my first one. The rooms and bathrooms are more on the modern side for a B/B but it was still extremely cozy and extremely clean. She provides everything for a relaxing experience: a beautiful property to explore, a large soaking tub, a quiet location, and even snacks/drinks along with bed and breakfast to keep you going since the place is in a secluded location. I really can't think of anything I would improve because the innkeeper covers everything. She is very welcoming and is considerate enough to ask for special dietary needs for breakfast. She even gave us reusable water bottles to take home!

We stayed in the Juniper room which is bit on the smaller side so couples may want to consider a bigger room. The Juniper room had a full-size bed and would probably be a better room for one person. I would definitely recommend this location to all people looking for a getaway or retreat-like place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kOOOlkhiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review from Burbank. And for selecting Eden Vale Inn while you were rafting on the American River near Coloma, CA. All the Best, Eden Vale Inn, Placerville, CA California's Best Romantic Getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose Eden Vale as a home base for our wedding anniversary trip to Gold Country because it sounded romantic with the soaking tub, fireplace and lovely gardens. Little did I know it would be the most comfortable, tastefully decorated, clean, quiet, pastoral place we had ever stayed.

The two Gayles pampered us with delectable breakfasts, sightseeing maps, and dinner reservations. Every need was anticipated and met. Eden Vale lives up to its reputation as one of "America's Top 10 Most Romantic Inns." And there is lots to do here besides wineries and fine dining.
* We rented bikes in Placerville and rode a portion of the El Dorado Trail.
* We took a day trip to Tahoe and fit in two hikes.
* We traveled back in time exploring Placerville's historic Main St., the Gold Bug Mine and Saw Mill, as well as the gold rush towns of Sutter's Creek and Angel's Camp.

Eden Vale is truly a bit of heaven on earth, and I have realized it should not be "saved for a special occasion." If we ever are traveling in the area, Eden Vale will be our first choice for lodging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Daina, We're pleased to have been part of your vacation to our little B&B resort. Also, it's nice to see people getting around to the local attractions like Lake Tahoe, the El Dorado bicyle trail, and even Gold Bug Mine. Thanks for the wonderful review and choosing Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast Resort and SPA Placerville, CA. Northern California's most romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
3.7 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Property: Eden Vale Inn
Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Inn b&b
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing