We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for in a B&B”
Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing one-night stay at Eden Vale. I literally don't think they could have done more to improve our experience. Everyone who works there is so friendly and constantly helpful. I love that Sydney the dog greets you when you arrive (there's also a cat, but cats aren't so big on the greeting). The amenities are all top-notch, both in-room (e.g., private outdoor hot tub, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, etc.) and shared amenities (e.g., swimming pond with rowboat, fire pit for s'mores, stocked kitchen, etc.). The breakfast - served on the deck, weather permitting - was delicious and very filling. Having coffee available well before breakfast was also a plus for those of us on Eastern time.

The big takeaway is that Eden Vale gets all the little stuff right. They have an extensive DVD collection from which you can borrow to watch in your room. They give you reusable water bottles and brownies. There's a carafe of cold water waiting for you in the room refrigerator. They even leave you an already stamped postcard. I love that level of attention to detail.

Unfortunately, we might not find ourselves in the Placerville area any time in the near future. But we would certainly stay at Eden Vale if we were to find ourselves back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangegl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We were pleased to have you here at Eden Vale even though you only had one night available. Thanks for the nice review from New Jersey. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Eden Vale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Eden Vale. We would definitely recommend this to friends.

They have a great handle on the little things. The communication ahead of the stay was personal. The tour of the property was thorough. We really enjoyed that the rooms are a more contemporary design. This is so much better than the typical "flowers & lace" of other bed and breakfast locations. Breakfast was awesome. It hit the spot.

We stayed here during a major heat wave. The air conditioning worked great. Because of a fire 10 miles away, the power went out for the whole county. Ouch. 105 degrees out, no power, no air conditioning. This can test how good the owners and staff would react. Fortunately, the staff of the Eden Vale Inn knocked it out of the park. They did everything possible to figure out the situation, give us alternatives, put together a BBQ for the guests, and figured out where we could eat dinner that did have power outside of the county. They were amazing. When it gets hot, they stay cool under pressure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Chris, Glad we exceeded your expectations under pressure. It was fun having everyone help make the best of the power being out. Next time you're down from Seattle we look forward to being your B&B in the gold country. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's best romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Gail and Mark were very gracious with their entire Inn. They offered by far the best experience in the area that one could have wanted. Modern, stylish, not dated, stuffy or pretentious.
They love dogs too! End of story. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trebla62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Yes our B&B is dog friendly near Placerville. Thanks for the review of Eden Vale Inn and coming over the hill from Reno. See you next time you're looking for a romantic getaway in the gold country. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's best romantic inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was cautiously optimistic that Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast would live up to its glowing reviews for the Babymoon Getaway I planned for my husband and myself. As it turned out, I shouldn't have wasted a minute worrying...Mark and Gayle seem to have thought of everything! Starting with the online reservations and first email communications, I was impressed. Once we arrived, the warmth of the staff (we loved the "other" Gail...their itinerant innkeeper) and the attention to detail continued to please. Our room was lovely and private, the bed was super comfortable and we loved the soaking tub on our private deck (I would absolutely recommend the Gray Pines suite). We were also pleasantly surprised to enjoy s'mores around the firepit each evening where we were able to enjoy the stars and get to know our "neighbors". Breakfast was also a highlight of our stay...we loved dining outdoors "in the trees" where we could enjoy nature humming all around us. And breakfast...it was fabulous to be surprised each morning with the delicious breakfast offerings (DO NOT skip the scones...I LOVED the apricot and white chocolate!!). I scheduled a couples massage when I first booked the trip and we enjoyed our massages so much that we immediately scheduled second massages for the following day (Summer performed the prenatal massage for me and did outstanding work!!). Since we were after relaxation, we took a leisurely visit through nearby Placerville one day and drove to (and around the entirety of) Lake Tahoe one other day. The rest of our time was enjoyed on the property walking the grounds and napping. Thank you for a super relaxing Babymoon Getaway!!

Room Tip: We loved the Gray Pines suite...it was separate from the main building and had a much more private s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Katrina, Thanks for choosing us for your Baby-moon getaway. We'll pass your comments along to Summer as to her outstanding therapeutic massage in our Spa. We'll see you again when the parents need a romantic break. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romantic inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I escaped to the sanctity of the Eden Vale Inn to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we were greeted by Gail (not the owner but the delightful innkeeper), we knew it was going to be a special experience. She was warm, welcoming, informative and gracious. She gave us a quick but thorough tour of the gorgeous property and got us settled into our beautiful room.

Eden Vale was clearly crafted to make the guest experience flawless and every detail was addressed. Peaceful surroundings, exquisite gardens, beautifully appointed rooms...nothing was forgotten!

Breakfast each morning was incredibly delicious with interesting food perfectly prepared. The ingredients were the freshest and finest available - do not miss the breakfast!

Granted, it's a bit pricey, but was worth every penny. We loved every moment we spent there and cannot use too many superlatives to describe it!!! First rate!!!

Room Tip: Book The Gray Pine if you can - it's gorgeous!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nansdrivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We're glad you found us "worth every penny" even though we're a little pricey. It does cost a lot to create and maintain the quality rooms, surroundings and service. It's also rewarding to have people like you enjoy it so much. Hope to see you next time. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's best romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about this beautiful place! Gayle met us at the front of the house and immediately made us feel at home. We really appreciated the tour of the main house,outdoor kitchen and grounds, along with a short history of the bed and breakfast. It was so much fun to explore all the paths and gardens on the property. One of our favorite times was after dark when we lit the fire pit and had s'more and wine! The whole experience was so relaxing. The attention to small details was amazing, nothing has been overlooked! I can't wait to return! I would highly recommend Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast to anyone and everyone!

Stayed July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

LaVon, We're pleased to be part of your romantic getaway. Hey, nice picture of the wine by the fire pit. See you next time you want the tranquility of Eden. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Planning our third visit for Fathers Day weekend. Mark & Gail (hosts-owners) have thought of everything... Attention to details, prompt response, helpful to accommodate your extra curricular activities and reservations. And...take advantage of their on-site spa room for a massage during your visit.
The decor & beautiful picturesque landscaping will take you to away.Actually feels like being in France. Enjoy a glass of wine while sitting around the giant fire pit- overlooking the pond..... truly An Exceptional Place!
Ann-Marie & Randy

Room Tip: I have my favorite room but all rooms are WELL APPOINTED...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Ann-Marie, Thanks for choosing Eden Vale Inn for Randy's Fathers Day getaway. It was nice to see you again as you escape the hustle of running your restaurant for a few days. Exceptional -- thanks for the kudos. See you next time you need a romantic retreat. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Owner-Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn Northern California's most romantic inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
3.7 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
7.3 mi away
GlenMorey Country House
GlenMorey Country House
#3 of 7 in Placerville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range: $295 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Vale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville
Eden Vale Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing