We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect, serene Bed and Breakfast with beautiful rooms!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A perfect, serene Bed and Breakfast with beautiful rooms!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel, it was beyond perfect in every way. We stayed there with our 2.5 year old and traveled with another couple who also had a 2 year old. We had rooms that were adjoining with a lovely wet bar...Full refrigerator, microwave and sink...The rooms are beautiful with a remote controlled lighting system---including a "romance" button that automatically turned on the fireplace and dimmed the lights...The beds were ridiculously comfortable, and all of the details were top notch. It's clear that they invested in the property to make it really, really nice...The breakfast was incredible and made to order which is rare for Bed and Breakfasts...They offered to make scrambled eggs for our daughters, which was appreciated. The quiche, homemade blueberry scones, sausage and potatoes were amazing...And that was in addition to fresh fruit, an assortment of cereals, bars, nuts etc. The owners were "hosts"--they called ahead to our restaurant, made out reservation and secured us a 10% discount...The owners are clearly very proud of their property, and it shows..it's worthwhile to stay here vs. one of the old Victorian hotels closer to town...It's a 15 minute drive and worth it! I would recommend this place for a romantic get away as there is an on-site spa, and the property is beautiful with a pond and a row boat...There is even an outdoor kitchen that I assume can be used in the summer time....I can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Nina, We really appreciate your review of Eden Vale Inn near Placerville, CA. We look forward to the next time you can visit. Spring will be coming early to the Sierra Foothills. All the best, Mark.
Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's Best Romantic Getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
192
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I knew that this B&B was going to be a wonderful experience the minute we pulled into the driveway. I loved that the front door was wide open. You just walk in and there was Gayle. She gives you a nice warm welcome and tour of the place. The room was extremely clean and the patio was really quaint. I went into the garden and gathered up some fallen apples and took them to a pasture to give them to the minature horses. Very relaxing and quiet. The coffee was great and the breakfast was high quality food and it tasted like it was from a 5 star restaurant.

Although my overall rating is a 5 I do have two complaints. I wasn't able to get wifi in my room and the pullout sofa bed was so uncomfortable. When I made the reservation Gayle said the sofa bed was comfortable. But the wire was felt through the mattress and it was terrible.

Room Tip: The pullout sofa bed is horrible. The wires are felt through the mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyj54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Cindy, We thank you for letting us know about the uncomfortable sofa bed. I opened it up and agreed with you immediately. Gayle went out an bought a tempurpedic style memory foam pad which improves the comfort a lot. This is of course a secondary bed for extra guests. Each room has a primary bed, all of which have the Serta Hotel Line mattresses. We get lots of compliments about how comfortable those beds are. We are sorry for the poor night's sleep. Yet, thanks once again for bringing it to our attention. We strive for perfection and your review helped us remedy a shortcoming. We're glad you found your visit a 5 in other respects. All the best, Mark and Gayle.
Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a heavenly spot to end our two week vacation. There are deer and coyote to watch in the meadows on the hillsides, peaceful places to sit and read in the gardens, evening bonfires by the pond, huge soaking tubs...and that's all outside of your room. The rooms themselves are wonderful.

Try to come here...it is so very worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Oh Canada, We're glad you found us at the end of your two week trip. Thanks for the recommendation "Try to come here...it's so very worth it." All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's Best Romantic Getaway, Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfectly lovely, in all respects. First and foremost, we cannot thank the guest innkeeper, Gale, enough. She was so helpful from the moment we called until our last goodbye. And what a gorgeous place! Modern, elegantly appointed rooms, comfortable and attractive common spaces, fantastic views . . . I could go on and on. We loved the delicious, hearty breakfast, eaten outside, featuring a strata you'd hope to find in the best brunch place in town, excellent homemade granola with plain yogurt and fresh fruit, and just-baked scones. And the pond! I arrived hot and dusty but within minutes was cooling off in their clean, peaceful, fed-from-their-well pond. Also, the attention to detail at Eden Vale is just amazing. For example, Gale set out small fleece throws on the backs of the chairs surrounding the fire pit, in case the evening turned chilly; on the table nearby we found graham crackers, marshmallows and chocolate for making s'mores! We are so looking forward to returning, soon. ;o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that Eden Vale Inn is in such good hands while we the owner/inkkeepers are away on vacation in Paris France. Glad to hear that everything was perfect for your stay. Mark and Gayle, owners of Eden Vale Inn, Northern California's most romatic get away. Placerville, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Eden Vale Inn is appropriately named. The owners planted an Eden-like garden, complete with a tranquil pond, around a refurbished old barn (the inn). My 8 year old son and I explored the many paths leading to enchanting outdoor rooms. We had fun pointing out to each other exquisite finds, such as whimsical figurings, birdbaths and fountains, sitting areas and a fire pit used for roasting marshmallows for s'mores. We swung in a hammock, tasted grapes ripe on the vine under the pergola, rowed the boat on the pond, spied tadpoles in the old horse trough, then ended our trek in the edible garden identifying various herbs and vegetables. So pleasant was the experience that my son asked if we could plant a garden. We went to sleep that night with visions of creating our own Garden of Eden back home.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lorrisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdenValeInn, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Lorrie, We are glad you and your 8 year old had such a fine time at Eden Vale Inn. We enjoy the picture of you both out in the rowboat on the pond. See you next time. Mark and Gayle, Owner/Innkeepers, Eden Vale Inn, the most romantice B&B in Northern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Maybe we have become more discerning when researching accommodations or maybe just luckier, but this year we have had amazing experiences at all of our lodging choices. Eden Vale Inn, however, now tops our list of all time great bed and breakfast inns. We were seeking a quiet get away and found nirvana.

The stunning architecture of the converted barn greeted us as we drove into the courtyard. As we walked up to the long porch that fronts the building a nearby fountain and distant wind chimes serenaded us with soft music. Tall pots of bright, fragrant blooms lined the steps. Gayle and Mark met us at the door with welcoming smiles. We picked up right away that this couple is passionate about inn keeping. Throughout our stay they served as concierges, making recommendations for dining and other activities and handling any required reservations.

Our ground-floor room was much more beautiful than the photos on the Eden Vale website. The décor was sophisticated, walls painted various shades of earthy colors that seemed to ground us in the calm of the inn.

Before creating Eden Vale, the owners researched many bed and breakfast inns to learn what guests really liked and disliked and that study paid off for us. We had everything needed for a comfortable and relaxing few days--a cloud-like bed, bathrobes, slippers, wine glasses, lighting controls that allowed for several different schemes including a very romantic one, a spacious bathroom with a luxurious shower.

We loved our private patio with a couple-sized soaking tub--a perfect place to wind down in the evening. Note that not every room features a tub.

Ah, and then there are the grounds, lavishly landscaped with native California plants over many years. A wander through the property revealed hidden spots graced with a chaise lounge or table and chairs, designed for lazing away a sunny afternoon.

We ate breakfast three mornings at Eden Vale and each day found the offerings delicious. Spinach puffs, actually individual soufflés, homemade sausage patties and fresh-baked scones were especially tasty.

At breakfast the first morning, we met the other Gayle, an interim innkeeper who is managing Eden Vale off and on this year while the owners travel. Like them, Gayle is a dedicated and charming professional who truly understands the needs and desires of B and B guests.

We cherished our time at Eden Vale so much that before checking out we booked “our” room for a weekend later this year.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room with a soaking tub reserve Juniper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place is amazing. The staff and owners are so hospitable and you can't help but relax in the peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are luxurious and the grounds spectacular. My only complaint; I wish I stayed longer. My husband and I will be going back every year to celebrate our anniversary there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraNDavidCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
3.7 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Property: Eden Vale Inn
Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Inn b&b
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing