We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golden Nugget in Gold Country”
Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Golden Nugget in Gold Country”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We made a trip to the American River because of my husband's board meeting and fund raiser for Friends of the River (a non profit focused on protecting and restoring California Rivers). Since it was his trip, he made all of the arrangements. I didn't know anything about the inn that he chose, but knew that camping and rafting was the norm for the area, so I didn't have high expectations.

I was certainly surprised by the Eden Vale Inn. It is a nugget of gold in gold country.

The grounds are serene and beautiful, from the wide range of plant and tree species, to the myriad of calming water features and art, to a fire pit under the stars, to the small pond with many bird species (and a few trout and frogs). The grounds also had a covered outdoor kitchen (including a pizza oven, microwave, fridge, cooking utensils, large dining table, etc.) so that you can make lunch or heat up leftovers from a great meal at Cafe Luna.

The inn itself is thoughtfully appointed for a contemporary couple's R&R. It is warm and inviting without the drippy sweetness of some inns. The main building is a rebuilt barn that maintains it's architectural integrity and has space that is relaxing and peaceful. We liked that the kitchen wasn't tucked away out of sight... the smells from Mark and Gayle's cooking were a nice addition to the atmosphere and it made the very helpful inn keepers more accessible. While the inn was fully booked when we were there, we always found ample choices for places to hang out by ourselves in the inn or outdoors. In the mornings, the breakfasts were an excellent start to a day of relaxation or rafting on the river.

Our guest room was small, but ample, especially given the outdoor porch and public spaces that were so inviting. The room itself was beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds and linens, a large and modern bath, outdoor soaking tub, sophisticated lighting, reasonable storage space, a fireplace, and entertainment (TV, Ipod station for music, free wifi and phone calls). note: ATT Wireless connectivity was weak.

On Saturday, while my husband was at his board meeting, the Inn was a great place to hang out... DO plan to stay at the inn and enjoy the facilities for at least part of your stay. I got a few hours of work done in the morning (sat in the dining room at a table, used the wifi, and didn't see a sole but Gayle, who stopped by to be sure I had a cold diet coke). After that, I had a great facial at the pretty little spa (which also offers his and hers massage!). Then I sat out in the shaded chaise lounge next to the pond - with no one else around - to play my guitar for a while and read a book while watching the birds, enjoying the view of the hills, and listening to horses whinnying from across the fields. It was one of the most relaxing days I have had for quite some time!

Mark and Gayle were extremely helpful, welcoming, and relaxed. They were there to answer questions, make recommendations on dining locations, talk about the history of the area and inn, and more. They and the staff were available when needed and at the same time were completely invisible when we weren't looking for them.

I've already recommended Eden Vale to my friends, now I am highly recommending it to you! You won't be disappointed! We're calling this weekend to set up our next visit.

Room Tip: We tried to get a king room, but they were sold out last time! They are quite a bit larger and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
193
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cool, Ca
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My bridesmaids and I stayed at Eden Vale the night before my wedding. The grounds are so beautiful to walk around, there are all kinds of nooks and crannies to explore. We loved the wonderful breakfast and the decor of the rooms. The second night my new husband and I stayed together and he also loved the room. I definitely stayed relaxed the day of my wedding because of the calming environment and wonderful staff! We plan on coming back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJayA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast near Placerville California offers a unique blend of sophisticated style and luxury with rustic relaxation and comfort. Their attention to detail is high and consistent throughout the property and services. The garden is lush and beautiful, the Inn incredibly creative and comfortable - hand craftmanship is evident everywhere you look. The whole place is thoughtfully constructed and very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious. The Innkeepers are friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: If you like hot tubs, definitely spend the extra money to get a room with a soaking tub, if that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights about six weeks ago for our anniversary. This property is beautiful and the owners have obviously poured lots of time, energy, and care into creating a respite away from it all. There is so much care taken in every last little detail, from the romantic lighting in the room, to the private hot tub on the porch, to the ipod alarm clock, to the fireplace and carefully chosen furniture. The grounds are lovely, with little garden whimsy around every corner, and a charming little lake with the clearest water (and fish!). We enjoyed wandering the gardens, and sitting in various quiet spots to talk and journal and read. It was very peaceful and relaxing.

Unfortunately the owners themselves were on vacation while we were there, so we didn't feel that we received quite the hospitality it seems others have raved about. :( The staff was cordial and fine and we have no specific complaints; we just did not get the overall sense of warm hospitality that others on TA have raved about, which we have come to expect from the B&Bs that we stay at. Although the first breakfast was fine, our second breakfast was outstanding (especially the scones, which were the perfect flaky buttery yumminess that is so hard to achieve!). The coffee was not great either day (perhaps the fill-in staff didn't know how to make it quite right?), but there was an excellent selection of teas and cocoas and all kinds of creamers and syrups (which made me REALLY wish the coffee had been great!).

We did get an excellent massage in their onsite spa, which the Inn booked for us. The massage therapist was wonderful and we highly recommend her. I forgot her name, but her business is called Lotus Massage Therapy.

Also, we had an excellent dinner at Majaic Cafe. Highly recommend.

We will hopefully return to Eden Vale Inn when the owners are home, because despite our minor complaints of the service, it is clear from the owners' obvious loving attention to detail that our experience was out of the ordinary for Eden Vale Inn.

I really want to stress that it wasn't anything that happened as much as what DIDN'T happen--that warmth that makes a good B&B stand out from a great B&B. From our own observations and from the reviews on TA, I suspect this IS a great B&B; we just didn't hit it at its best. We do plan to return when we can get a way again, and we'll be sure to update when we do! I can already feel the cares of the world melting off my shoulders as I relax beside that little lake...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for being honest about the service not being up to the high expectations while Gayle and I were on vacation. If you don't tell us we don't know. So, thank you for letting us know. We are reviewing the situation and considering what steps can be taken to maintain the same high level of service while we are away. I'm not making any excuses but, in this case our first choice of innsitters was not available. For the balance of the summer and fall our first choice will be here when we are away. All the best, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a great time! We came with our kids to shoot the rapids in Coloma on the American River and visit historical sites around Placerville. The food was excellent! (Blueberry/chocolate scones to die for! )Veggies from the garden and amazing service! We will absolutely be back! Team Gayle was awsome! -D Griffin

Room Tip: Madrona room has a very nice outdoor bathtub with privacy curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Devin, Glad you and the kids had such a great time visiting us and rafting the American River in nearby Coloma. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn B&B, Placerville, CA "One of Norther n California's most Romantic Inns."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After two nights at Eden Vale, the one thing on the minds of everyone in our party was - when can we come back? So peaceful, so perfect. The pond was a joy, the jacuzzi was a delight,t he breakfast (especially the quiche) was delicious, and the welcome was warm.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Vesa, We glad you had two peaceful nights at Eden Vale Inn and can't wait to come back. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, Placerville, CA "One of Northern California's most Romantic Inns."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had booked a weekend in May and then got very sick. Mark worked with us though and we were able to reschedule our getaway for June. It was perfect - from our room, the Madrona, to the excellent breakfasts. We came to relax and this was a great place to do it. Our little porch with a table for 2 worked well for our Friday dinner of crackers, cheese, apples and wine that we brought with us. The 2 person soaking tub was wonderful. We shared a little kitchen with the Grey Pine room and it worked out well. There is a pond that you can swim in and a rowboat.
Gayle showed us our room and how to work the light controls, tv/radio and a/c. She also made us a dinner reservation for Saturday night. The room was lovely - if it had been cooler we would have used the gas fireplace but by June the weather had warmed. Our bathroom was wonderful - 2 sinks and the large shower with the rainhead was wonderful.
I also have to rave about the breakfasts. You serve yourself coffee, juice, fresh fruit and yougurt and cereal and take it to a table. The hot dish is brought to you direct from the kitchen. I liked the fact that the breakfast was served at 9 am - giving you time to sleep in if you wanted. Hot coffee is brought to your room at 7:30 am - ours was left on the table outside so as not to disturb us.
We loved it and will go back!

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are in their own building rather than the main building and are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Eden Vale Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
DesertMagpie from Reno, We're glad you so enjoyed your stay and rave about the breakfast. Most of our guests, like you, tell us they plan to come back. We can't get better referrals than that. See you next time. All the best, Mark and Gayle, Eden Vale Inn Bed and Breakfast, Placerville, CA "One of Northern California's Best Romantic Inns."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
236 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
80 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Property: Eden Vale Inn
Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Vale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Inn b&b
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing