We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit out of the way!”
Review of Gold Hill Vineyard

Gold Hill Vineyard
Ranked #23 of 49 things to do in Placerville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Gold Country, this winery is perfect for weddings and open for tastings on weekends.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but a bit out of the way!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The food here is consistent and good. Nice greeting from the owner and appreciate the good quality selections from food to wine!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NORCALMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great View, Reds,”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My second visit to Gold Hill in the last year. I went back for the Barbera, Cab, Cab Franc. They have a beautiful property and some great wine for the price. Beer if you want to beer taste as well. Too bad the lady conducting the tasting has no personality and seems to be very unhappy to be there. It does not promote the desire to hang around. She was there on our last visit and we all had the same experience. I may be ordering my wine via phone in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great wines for awesome prices”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Six stopped for a tasting, three for wine and three for beer. The three of us were thrilled with the wines, the Cab Franc, Barbara & Syrah's were outstanding. We bought bottles to have with dinner that evening, the value for these wines was great, I am going to call and order more this week, we stopped at other area wineries and paid double or more and liked these better. Only downfall was the lady doing the tasting, she was not friendly at all and wanted to argue with me over the one wine ( Primitivo ) that I did not like. None of us thought she should be doing that job which should be customer service and people friendly oriented. We bought the wine anyway and sat outside on the patio with a beautiful view. Choice of 5 tastes for free from there list of whites and reds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Gold Hill is in "hot" weather wine country, and as such grow grapes suited to that climate. We were pleasantly surprised by a couple of their wines. The nose and finish on their Petite Syrah blew our socks off. And the Barbera was a genuine mouthful. So we bought both. The vineyards are extensive, and visible from the deck of the tasting room. Surprisingly, they also brew beers, which we did not taste, but that's for the next time when we go back for Blues N' Brews in August.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Beer”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

They have good beer, a great Malbec & one of the rudest wine pourers I have ever encountered. We were with someone who had never gone wone tasting & the server made her feel like an idiot. We will never go back there.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyongirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Hill Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Gold Hill Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing