We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family's Favorite Attraction at Apple Hill!”
Review of High Hill Ranch

High Hill Ranch
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rides galore, and plenty of apple and wine based activities.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our Family's Favorite Attraction at Apple Hill!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We make a point of visiting High Hill Ranch every time we come to Apple Hill--mostly because of the fishing pond (and Al, the dear soul who oversees the fishing there!). The Apple Shakes and any food that has chicken that they make are excellent and a great deal for the price, too! We've gone both in low and high seasons to High Hill Ranch, and while it is expectably easier to get around there during low season, there's a nice family atmosphere there during high season (again, esp. around the fishing pond =)). Our own experience there has been that the apple stand and warm food staff have been great--friendly and helpful. Small note that there are less expensive prices for Barsotti's at other places. Nice apple walnut donuts, though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is a must visit while at Apple Hill, huge grounds and just a beautiful place. I liked how they made the parking lot between the trees rather than cutting them down. As you make your way through the 'parking lot' you'll pass a lot of vendors and you can easily spend an hour going from stall to stall. Once you pass the vendors your nose will direct you to where the apple donuts are, you can smell them from a distance.

The ground is huge and so many things to do, there is a big picnic area, a place for kids to run around freely without running into other families, a pond for trout fishing. There is fresh kettle popcorn, a fudge factory, fresh apple smoothies stand. If you're going with family make this your first stop and you won't regret it, easily spend half of your day here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ash0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ranch in Apple Hill”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Friends who have little children had recommended High Hill Ranch and I can definitely see why! My daughter (who's almost 2) loved the pond as well as the horses/ponies (~$6 for a few rounds). There's quite a large area to explore so we walked around for a bit. We went on a weekday and I think it might be better to visit on a weekend. I know that the crowds are crazier on the weekends, but there just wasn't too much going on during a Tuesday afternoon (also maybe because they haven't put out pumpkins/mazes yet). I'm a bit disappointed that I didn't get a chance to try the fudge factory, BUT we did try the apple pie and it was de-lic-ious!! I think it's a great place for kids to hang out and for the adults to browse the unique shops or simply to eat a slice of apple pie :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Must visit!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

They have the best Chicken for lunch!!! They have great food and bake shops and by far the best gift shop!! Their shopping selection is the best!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ratdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of the biggest stops on apple hill”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

They have got a great selection of hand made craft items. The apple desserts are very good. Fishing pond and candy shop round it out. During the season they often have things going on like pony rides and band performances. Nice place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank schnauzermomluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Hill Ranch also viewed

 

Been to High Hill Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing