We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Mom and Pop' type motel; friendly and comfortable”
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Very comfortable place with reasonable rates. Owners are friendly, respectful and helpful.
Pool is clean and well maintained; local businesses within one mile.
The rooms with kings and 2 double beds are the most roomy; 1 double bed rooms are smaller.
Friendly cleaning staff; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrekMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

The price is reasonable but that's the only thing going for this hotel. Rooms are outdated, beds are hard and uncomfortable and there were stains on the carpet. Second time we had stayed there, should have learned from the first time! I didn't like the owner the first time we stayed and I REALLY disliked him even more this time. He is rude and stands outside like he's spying on you. The pool is not heated in case you like to swim. There is a minifrig and microwave in room which did come in handy but the bad certainly outweighed the good points about the Motherlode Hotel! I would NEVER stay there again even if it was free!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casinomanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We have stayed at the Mother Lode several times when we have gone up to Placerville to go wine tasting. It is no frills & an older property, but it is quiet, clean, & close to the freeway. The owners, Deepak & Divvya are very nice. They are actually renovating another old motel next door where we stayed last time. We were only charged $48 because they are still renovating, but everything in that one is brand new. We will continue to stay here.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank kittykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We try to patronize independent motels whenever possible. Staying at chains is like eating at MacDonalds; only do it out of desperation. The Mother Lode qualifies as sort of average in this category. Older property, but fairly priced, personable & helpful owners, clean. The amenities are minimal, but there was a wi-fi connection, fridge/microwave, clean bathroom. One-story - no suitcase schlepping. Time to upgrade the bed & carpets perhaps, but for a night off the road it was just right. Location was out of town and a little quieter than some of the other choices, and convenient to the US 50 off/on ramps.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Did not have high expectations but was hoping for a basic decent night's sleep as all hotels were all booked for Passport Wine Weekend. Brought earplugs to combat noise, a scented spray to deal with mustiness, my own hair conditioner, and my laptop to get some work done. The owner seemed nice and the room was very small but clean, nothing creepy. Fridge and microwave came in handy.

Now the boogers -- the internet was extremely spotty and unavailable most of the time. The room smelled like it had once been a smoking room (this was the only deal-killer but it's a biggie). We were able to dissipate the smell a bit by opening a window but that didn't help my cigarette allergies. The pillows smelled none too good and the smoke odor kept waking us up; they have probably been contaminated by smokers in other rooms if they are washed together. Other problems were taken care of by the owner -- the bed comes with a couple of flat little pillows but we were given more when we asked. Probably should have requested additional towels too -- you only get two and they aren't very large. We also were lent a hair dryer; they don't come with the room. Place needs a redo -- new carpet and bedding to get rid of the allergens. Such a small space really needs to have no ick factor because it gets worse the longer you're in there. Finally, the place was booked Saturday night and the hot water was non-existent. An icy shower first thing Sunday morning did nothing for my mood. Price good but I'd very willingly pay twice as much for a more reliable experience like Holiday Inn Express or Comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writebrain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

When stranded in a blizzard, this was the only motel with rooms. SHOCKING....I felt like I was at the Bates Motel.
Desk clerk was amazingly rude. Room stunk of cigars and with the temp outside at 19 degrees, room had no heat.
Bed was a block of concrete, bathroom had mold on the floor.
Below it asks if I would reccomend this hotel to a friend. I wouldn't reccomend it to an enemy.
Should have just slept in the car until the storm passed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagordon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is a nice little motel in the middle of nowhere, and it has suited us nicely on the way from Lake Tahoe to the North Coast.
The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the front desk friendly.
The only problem was the locked door to the neighbour room - that particuar neighbour watched TV at full volume at night. While his behaviour is not motel's fault, the door made the wall very thin and not sound-proof.
There is no breakfast either - not even coffee, but then the price is so low you don't really expect it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownPatrickHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
269 reviews
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
8.3 mi away
Westhaven Inn
Westhaven Inn
#2 of 2 in Pollock Pines
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: $69 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing