We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel”
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very friendly staff (=owners); nice, clean rooms; inexpensive, too - nothing fancy, but nobody says it is: It is the perfect place for everybody looking for a motel while you're on a roadtrip. Take a dip in the pool, perfect start for your day. Like!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Pulled in late, was beyond tired. Owner met me at the open desk, no plastic, no outside window. She was VERY pleasant, cordial, soothing. She said she had two different price schedules, for different size rooms and beds. I opted for the full-size, for $44 before tax, very reasonable, in an area in which Motel 6 charges much more. Paid for the room and was off to see it.

When I walked in, I was more than pleasantly surprised. A small room, yes, but clean and with none of the fabled drawbacks plaguing these types of venues. It was a no smoking room and the bedding and floors were devoid of any burn marks. Fresh paint was evident. The bathroom was clean, with two soaps and shampoos each. The heat was very good, as was the WiFi signal. I could see by other vehicles that this was a destination for out of state contractors working locally.

My only complaint, really the only one, was that there was a small coffee machine, with sugars, creamers, etc. But no coffee! Oh, well...

I stayed in the room, post-shower, until nearly 11:00 am, working. At checkout, the owner was as pleasant as the night before, inviting me back. And I shall go back if I ever find myself in that area again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is becoming our stop for our yearly Apple Hill and wine country weekend. This time we stayed in the neighboring property. It was newly redone with new carpet and furnishings and was clean as always.

The owners are very friendly and accommodating. This was the first time we had our dog with us and it was nice to be able to bring him along.

This is a great economical stay to have access to many enjoyable activities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

i'd like to update the current listing of reviews. We stayed there yesterday, prior to a rafting trip. the owner has definitely made some improvements since the 2010 reviews. The three pillows were nice and there were more than enough towels for the 2 of us. The pool was clean (check out the "do not swim if you have had diarrehea within the past 2 weeks" sign) and the owner pleasant enough. It was still a very bare bones place, poor lighting, no bathroom amenities, or hair dryer, a styrophone cup, but it was as clean as an aged and not upgraded motel could be. Still, most shocking and creepy was that there were no mattress pads on the bed and no fitted sheets. The owner definitely did not attend the "hospitality keeper 101" course. This is the kind of motel that I have avoided since the 1970's when i stopped hitch hiking, but it could not be avoided on this trip, and if you find no other hotels available then having to stay here is not the the worst thing that can happen to you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avissantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at Mother Lode, it was the only place we could find that took pets in Placerville other than the historic hotel in town. It was cozy and seemed clean. I liked the slightly old fashioned feel to it too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at this location many times and never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and the pool is welcoming. The Mother Lode is an older motor lodge but I think that is what gives it is special charm. We always make this place a stop over on our motorcycle weekend rides and plan on spending the evening at the pool and ordering in from the local pizza joint.
There are comfy tables and chairs snd we have never had any issues with delivery to this motel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pattiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great price, great service. Little old but so am I. Love the stay! Close to everything, Placerville, Tahoe, Apple Hill. Close to Placervilles main town. Oh ya and Coloma where the California gold rush began.

Room Tip: Look at a couple, then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
272 reviews
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
12.9 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
23 mi away
Lake Natoma Inn
Lake Natoma Inn
#8 of 11 in Folsom
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: $69 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing