We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our favorite place to stay in Placerville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in Placerville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have stayed at this location many times and never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and the pool is welcoming. The Mother Lode is an older motor lodge but I think that is what gives it is special charm. We always make this place a stop over on our motorcycle weekend rides and plan on spending the evening at the pool and ordering in from the local pizza joint.
There are comfy tables and chairs snd we have never had any issues with delivery to this motel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pattiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
26
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great price, great service. Little old but so am I. Love the stay! Close to everything, Placerville, Tahoe, Apple Hill. Close to Placervilles main town. Oh ya and Coloma where the California gold rush began.

Room Tip: Look at a couple, then decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Things were falling apart and we couldn't even close the bathroom door until we fixed it, the tile was falling off the bathroom wall, and there was a nail sticking out of the floor near the railing that my husband stepped on and got hurt. When my son pulled a used condom out from the between the headboard and the mattress that was the end. This place was a gross mess and we will never ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Placerville hotels

tucson,arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Mother Lode for a week in November 2012 and was very pleased with everything. The owners are very nice, my room was clean and the bed comfortable. The location is perfect for hopping on 50 to go wherever you need to go. Lots of businesses on Broadway like grocery and fast food places, so it's really convenient. Heat worked good, the shower was one of the best I've ever had, Dish TV, radio, wifi, refrig, and microwave. Quiet and I loved it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are probably all the same as far as noise (none).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nalahblueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice motel; quiet, clean and in a great location for Apple Hill! Very simple access to the wineries, apple orchards and the neat town of Placerville. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are old er but nice and well equipped with refridgerators, microwaves, coffee makers and comfy beds. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. Last year we stayed for an Apple Hill/Foothill wine tasting weekend. Motel is still clean with comfortable beds. We were in a smaller rear room this time. I realized the next day what was missing, the table and 2 chairs that usually are underneath the window. If you need more room make sure you ask for one. Simple, clean, vintage stay.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have table and chairs, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
433 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

On the edge of town with easy access to the highway, this little vintage motel is easy to miss. The first thing you notice is the beautiful garden in front, then the big, old sign overhead. The motel is small [about 20 rooms] and one story. Parking lot was clean, but showing wear. My room was small, with a queen bed, newer looking furniture, and m/w, frig, coffee pot, and TV. Never could figure out how to use the TV remote and although Deepak [the owner] offered to come over and help, I just left it off. Internet was fast and free, but I had to unplug the desk lamp in order to plug my computer in. The room and bath were both very clean, but the carpet was badly worn in the doorway. The A/C worked well and provided "white-noise" against the traffic on the nearby access road. It was pretty quiet at night. Both Deepak and his wife were very helpful and friendly and I had a good nights' sleep. A great stop for the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
8.3 mi away
Westhaven Inn
Westhaven Inn
#2 of 2 in Pollock Pines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Property: Mother Lode Motel
Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing