We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"owner with an attitude"”
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The first room was not ready to be occupied, bed looked slept in, bathroom sink being held up with scrap wood. Next room the toilet paper dispenser was torn off the wall. When toilet flushed the toilet was overflowing. Owner blamed us and refused to fix the problem handing the plunger to my wife to do it. When we pointed out that we had not used the toilet, just gave it a flush, he copped an 'attitude' about it and started chewing us out for our 'transgression'. Needless to say, we left immediately. Of note, their AAA approval was crossed out on their business cards and the plaque was not on their wall anymore.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 581daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Mother Lode Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here one night in between wine tasting in Amador County and cruising Apple Hill. This is a good centralized stop to hit many sights. The rooms are clean and recently refurbished. The carpet looked new. The rooms perpendicular to the freeway seem quieter than the back leg of rooms. It was too cold to use the pool but it looked nice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms perpendicular the highway seem quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherlodemotel, Manager at Mother Lode Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and we look forwarding to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Located on the outskirts of Placerville, but easy highway access off and on. Perfect location on my trip to South Lake Tahoe and the Kokanee Salmon Festival. Always looking to cut corners this was a place to crash -- less than 12 hours here. REALLY great price even without my AAA discount. No frills but comfortable and clean. Friendly owners. Even though it's just off the highway, newer windows soundproof the room -- you hear some traffic but not much. Close to downtown and good food and local wine tasting and Apple Hill. Lovely little pool and garden area. The property is dog-friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Just goes to show, high prices isn't always the indicator! Free WiFi. This California Travel Insider loves a bargain and this is definitely that! I will give them a 5-star review for clearly making the effort and going beyond. Let's hope they keep it up and the prices down.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalifTravelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This little motel is a very affordable little gem in Placerville, and it's only a 5 minute drive to Apple Hill. My friend and I had 2 rooms there recently, and both were clean, neat, and equipped with microwave, fridge, and coffee pot; mine had both tub and shower. The handicapped room had a large shower. It's not a fancy place, but it is maintained quite nicely, and the manager was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. The very clean pool was chilly, but I did take a late afternoon dip on a warm day, after our Apple Hill adventure. The pet fee for my dog was a reasonable $10., and our room charges were both just under $50. before tax. Our trip to Apple Hill was extended for a second day since we were able to spend the night so close by, while staying within our budget. If you want to be right next to Apple Hill, and If you aren't looking for luxury, I recommend this place. I will definitely go back! Placerville has great places to eat, and just walking through this historic town in the evening was fun. Go check it out!

Room Tip: I liked the corner room (22) because I was only a few steps away from a small grassy area where I co...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancinshooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our king bed room was clean and equipped with a generous sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. The manager/owner (I didn't get her name) was extremely polite and attentive to extra requests. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed a late night dip. It's convenient to the freeway but far enough back that it was quiet. No hairdryer or iron. IIt's an excellent value and we would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The motel is next to Highway 50 but situated below the level of the street. This reduces noise considerably. The owners keep the grounds in good condition, there is a nice garden next to the well-kept pool. The rooms are small and efficient, and everything is in working order. We have a coffeemaker, fridge, TV, AC and a shower with a modern outward bow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a 3-day Gold Country getaway. I wanted to revisit Placerville, Gold Bug Park, Coloma, and other nearby historic areas. I've stayed in Placerville before and decided this time to try the east edge of town where it's quieter and less busy. There is a string of 1950s motels, all with great old neon signs: this one (the Mother Lode), the Gold Trail Inn, and the Hangtown Motel.

I was fortunate to walk in and find vacancies, since it was the annual Wagon Train historic re-enactment weekend with lots of people in town, the main historic district lined with food, craft, and art vendors, and entertainment and food along Broadway almost the entire length of town. I was not aware of this until I arrived. The desk clerk (might have been the manager, or might even have been the owner because he always seemed to be around) was cordial and welcoming, and was always congenial when I saw him around the property.

I got the room at the far end from the office, where it was quiet and I could hang out or walk outside and enjoy the trees that surround the motel on all sides. The room was small but adequate. I had to borrow a chair from an outside sitting area because the room had none, and it served me for both indoor and outdoor seating during my stay.

The pool area is large and pleasant, with lounges, chairs and tables. The landscaping made it a great spot to relax, whether to swim or just enjoy the sun. There is a lawn that could be used as an additional seating or picnic area, but it had no furniture and no lighting at night.

If you get snack attacks, this isn't the best location and you should bring food. The continental breakfast consists of packaged pastries, and the motel is not within a short walk of restaurants. It is a couple of miles to some of the strip malls east of the historic area, and another couple miles to historic downtown "Hangtown." Highway 50 is close enough that traffic can sometimes be heard, but I didn't find it distracting. This was a good spot for Gold Country activities or a quick getaway from the Bay Area. During the weekend, it did fill up, and most people seemed to be enjoying themselves. I think I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frisco_Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
257 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Westhaven Inn
Westhaven Inn
#2 of 2 in Pollock Pines
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Placerville
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Location: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing