We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Placentia
Certificate of Excellence
Lippstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time and still good”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was our second time in the HIE Placentia. Our first stay was in June 2007 and we spent nearly a week in the hotel and fully enjoyed it.
Our second stay was only for 3 nights. I can only say I really missed the comfortable huge bed. The pillow collection as in all HIE is the best and for every taste catered. As we are roller coaster fans we usually spent our days walking miles in the different parks and therefore coming back to the room and having a bath in the great jacuzzi is just the best, it relaxes your muscles and you are fit for the next day without any pains.

This time when we stayed the big fires were just on and the area was a little dusty and smelly and we had a big group of workers in the hotel who did some work in the areas of the fire and it got a bit noisier as soon as they returned form work, which didn't bother us to be honest I know how it is to be travelling in a group even when it is just for work, but others complained.

Oh not to forget the best ever cinnamon rolls in the world (ok you do get them in other HIEs as well)...

All in all the hotel is a bit older now but still very clean and everyone is really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanzaroteChrischi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    142
    78
    30
    34
See reviews for
192
83
25
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My wife and I checked in after noon on a Friday for 4 nights during late April because the room rate was less than the luxury hotels and the location was within 3 miles of my sister's house. Our first impression was "no hustle bustle, very quiet, but where was the desk clerk"? After a couple of minutes a clerk appeared from a back room, but we noticed during our stay that the counter was often unmanned when we passed in coming and going. Our 2nd floor room was accessible by elevator or circular stairway so we chose the carpeted stairway and noticed how dirty it was with small pieces of paper at top, center and bottom, not very encouraging. For 24 hours it remained that way until some of the dirty bits were removed, and some remained. Our room was standard size with no frills save the firm and soft labeled bed pillows providing you the choice. The 2 chairs with hard wood arms provided were the most uncomfortable chairs we have ever encountered in our lives as the seat pads were very hard and flattened from obvious use, and slightly tilted down in the most uncomfortable manner giving us both pain to which we responded by using the bed pillows as chair cushions which helped only slightly. We like to watch TV in the evening but the TV channel selection was extremely limited with the choice of approximately 12 channels, most of them of no interest whatsoever. The fitness center harbored 2 like treadmills which I used 4 times but were without a doubt user unfriendly as the overly extensive complicated control panel prevented you from easily making the most simple choices in your routine, and when the machine stalled, I was forced to summon the hotel fix-it guy to reset it to operating condition which he did without a hitch no doubt since he had probably had to do it so often in the past for previous guests. We own a commercial treadmill at home which has none of these faults. The bathroom within our space was size adequate but the shower head was uncommonly awkward as the only setting was a forceful downpour without scatter or sprinkle just as if you had turned on an outdoor faucet. Water conservation is obviously not a priority of this hotel. Upon arrival, we discovered we had been only permitted one lightweight folding luggage stand in our room, so I phoned the front desk requesting another which over the phone seemed to be a large problem for this hotel which appeared to also be at least 50% vacant. The next day, having not received the stand, I personally appeared at the front desk to again request the stand and was finally obliged by the evening hours. The business center was occupied by 2 complimentary slow speed computer stations which I attempted to use to get our airline boarding passes, but nothing in my power could enable the printer to print them, so the hotel fix-it guy was again summoned and after 10 minutes and several complicated attempts on his part, the printer sprung into action surprising the both of us and a gasp of relief. Only the room maid service was above average during our stay. The Denny's restaurant fronting the hotel was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casualtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed a few days in early March. Hotel sits in kind of an odd area. But it was nice and quiet there. Rooms were decent, bed was comfortable, bathroom was in good shape and appeared to be well cleaned. Only item that was any trouble was the a/c, it was hard to control it was either to cold or to warm in there. Did not get a chance to use the pool area. And the breakfast each morning was nice, we really enjoyed the hot sweet rolls each morning. It was about a 10 min drive to Disneyland so not to bad. Overall if don't mind the drive back and forth to DL it is not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located right off the expressway. Easy access to Orange Co, Fullerton, Anaheim, beaches and LA. Staff day and night was superb and the housekeeping was very nice and considerate to the guests. Breakfast at the hotel was moderate but fresh if you get their early, if not there is a Denny's right next door with excellent service. If you have time go to Long Beach and visit the Queen Mary. Of course head up to LA and visit all the star walks, Rodeo drive, and the famous Hollywood sign. Be warned if the day starts of foggie and by 10 it still hasn't broken through don't waste your time going to see the famous Hollywood sign because you won't be able to see it from far distances and even close up. If you love Sunday Brunches go to Orange Hill Restaruant located in Orange Co, just 20 minutes from hotel and the best service, views and food for a brunch. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Liked — clean, great staff
  • Disliked — getting points for rewards program
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Boo325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip to Disneyland the night of October 12-13, 2008. Although it is a little further from Disneyland than other hotels, we were not disappointed with our selection. The location is just fine, about a 5-10 minute drive to Disneyland and right next to Highway 57. We got a one-bedroom suite that was comfortable with a bedroom and separate living room. The accomodations were clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable, and there was ample work space in the living room (although we didn't work). There is free breakfast in the morning that is tasty and filling (eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, cereal, coffee, and some of the best cinnamon rolls I've ever had) as well as a small gym with an elyptical machine (you cannot imagine how much it means to me when a place has an elyptical machine). All for a reasonable price, our suite on a Saturday night cost just under $115 with taxes and fees. So it was a great deal. Next time we go back to Disneyland we may be tempted to try a hotel a little closer to the park, but we'll likely just come back here.

  • Liked — The value
  • Disliked — Location- a good but not great location for a Disneyland hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulieVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This was just the perfect place to stay: close enough to Disneyland that you can leave the park in the afternoon and come back for a cool off at the pool, then go back to the park in the evening; great price, and fantastic bed. Super clean, and comfortable room. The hot tub by the pool was a great way to end the day. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No restaurant or convenience store inside
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We just returned from our second stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Placentia and it was even better than the last visit. The beds are so comfortable that we will be contacting the property directly to find out who makes them. They are putting in a new breakfast room that will include hot food so that should be nice, but the current breakfast is just fine. The parking lot is well-lit and we didn't have a problem with parking even after arriving back from Disneyland well after midnight. The property is totally non-smoking which is a big plus to me and my family. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to Disneyland. The only downside was that there wasn't any mini-fridge or microwave in the room. We will stay here again if we come back into the area.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — No mini-fridge or microwave in room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank txn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placentia
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Placentia - Anaheim
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel
Address: 118 E Orangethorpe Ave, Placentia, CA 92870-6410 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Anaheim Orange County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Placentia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Placentia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Placentia Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Placentia Hotel Placentia
Holiday Inn Express Placentia
Holiday Inn Placentia
Placentia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing