We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bought a coupon to come here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vallarta Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vallarta Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bought a coupon to come here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fairly decent Mexican food. I'd definitely go back if I had another coupon. But I don't think I'd pay full price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too exprensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I wouldn't go back. In CA, there are lots of great, inexpensive Mexican restaurants. While the food was good, it didn't justify the price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank muchtraveledindeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Right by the Outlet Stores, they have a good selection of food, and yummy margaritas. I love the chips and salsa. Can make a meal out of that.

Helpful?
3 Thank KerryLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Salsa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Good food - GREAT Salsa. Great Service. Easy to find and get to --

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveledKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
412 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Going down hill...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I've eaten here over the last 30 years and can honestly say that this has never been my favorite restaurant, but has never been disappointing...until now. I don't know if they gave up on a Wednesday night or the economy is affecting them, but between the one cook and one waitress the service was ok but the food was nothing to write home about.
The beans were very bland (and the lady in an another booth was complaining about this to the waitress) and the presentation was low end.
If nothing else, I usually go for the chicken fajita...this time it was very poor. The ingredients were served in the standard fajita pan, steaming and sizzling at the table but the chicken, onions, and peppers were dry and tasteless. I tried stirring them around, but no seasoning or sauce in the pan just made them stick and burn. I'm sorry to see this level of food showing up at a table in a restaurant, but it happened. Maybe they'll improve if the economy improves but for now I'll steer clear.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing