We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny's All American Cafe'

Penny's All American Cafe'
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped at Penny's All American Cafe on our visit to Pismo Beach and the food could not have been better. Penny's is a small cozy local spot that is very unassuming but their food is excellent! Good service as well. Loved it! On a side note, there was what looked to be maybe a homeless man that came in, Im not sure what he wanted or why he was there but the young man who was one of the servers treated the older man with much respect and kindness which you rarely see these days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank skylinewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KC-MO
Level Contributor
157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great bfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Expansive menu which offers you anything you want
Service by pleasant locals
Price appropriate
Open menu and look at all the choices
Try this place

Helpful?
Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The food was delicious and the service was on point. Everyone was very friendly! I had the Mexican hat omelette with homemade chorizo. Delicious..... I highly recommend this place for everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Kaliforniababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A slice of Family, Fun and Giving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Restaurants who have become a staple in a town bring a sense of community and connectedness to all who eat there. We sometimes forget them when trying all the latest eateries, but then the accolades start pouring in and you remember- this is a place that I can get a consistently great meal every time, and back you go. Penny’s All American Café is one of my favorites for the cooking, the camaraderie and just to listen to Penny laugh (the most infectious sound in the universe). For 10 years, Penny and her family have been serving the best breakfast and charbroiled burgers in Pismo Beach and doing some amazing fundraisers for our community. From the “Pancake Eating Contest” to the “Breast Cancer Dance Party” Penny puts her passion into helping those in need, while having a blast doing it all.

I go there first and foremost for the breakfast. Her blueberry pancakes are so virtuous; I have to sneak in to eat them (my husband believes he is the only and best “pancaker”). Equally as tasty are the Biscuit and Gravy. Using spicy sausage made by Andy Anderson and house made Buttermilk biscuits; these savory treats are the definition of comfort food. The Eggs Benedict is exquisite. The hollandaise has a lemony appeal, the ham steak is cut to just the right thickness, the egg yoke explodes when cut through (as it should) and the English muffin is lightly toasted with the tasty home fries. It is amazing how good this dish is when it is prepared correctly. Penny’s prepares breakfast chow impeccably.

This visit was for the purpose of trying the award winning Chili Verdi, as Penny’s All American Café had just won first place in the Arroyo Grande Rotary Chili Cook-off. Prepared and perfected by cook/chef Amado, this delectable pork dish was now wrapped in tamale with chili verdi inside and layered over the top. I ordered a plate, intending to take it home, but it was so delicious, I ate every bite. Served with a spicy Spanish rice and exquisitely stewed beans, I was in ecstasy. My companion (Izic who at 3-years-old is Penny’s chief devotee) ordered the fried chicken. He has loved this dish since he was a baby and his picture hangs on the wall devouring a drumstick. I love the chicken as much with its dusted buttermilk and breadcrumb coating and then half-baked and finished in the fryer for a less greasy taste and more flavor. It is served with scrumptious mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus with a buttermilk biscuit. This is the perfect all American meal served with a smile.

Penny was telling me about her upcoming annual Breast Cancer fundraiser that this year will be held at the Pismo Beach Vets Hall on October 12 at 5:00pm. She has been doing this for seven years and last year raised over $7200 for the Jacqualyn Palchak Cancer Fund that is the only local breast cancer fund that provides research, support, consultation, and wellness programs to those with a cancer diagnosis. The dance party is called Penny’s Steppin’ Out for Breast Cancer, which features the locally loved band, Steppin’ Out along with a hearty meal, drinks, roulette wheel, raffles and silent auction. I have been to these parties and they are the most fun I have had at a fundraiser.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teribayus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nothing out of the ordinary as far as the menu, but good food for a very reasonable price. Nice service too. Close to the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's All American Cafe' also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Penny's All American Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing